WANTED - Families to travel together to the tip of Cape York!
Submitted: Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 22:48
ceylon
We just moved to the Tablelands and I want to take my family on a 10 day trip to the TIP during the September school holidays but am nervous to travel alone. Would any of you want to join up on a trip (itinerary open) -ideally it should be another family with small kids (
mine are 3 and 5), will
camp out in powered or open sites. If we can work ourselves up to the cape by day 6-7 and then travel down on the main route, that would be ideal
Look forward to chatting about this in detail with any of you, fleshing out an itinerary etc.
Reply By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 06:13
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 06:13
Ceylon,
Unless you plan to do the Overland Telegraph Track you could safely go up and back as a single vehicle.
I dragged my
Kimberley Karavan up and back by the PDR absolutely on my own, as my wife went elsewhere. It is not a problem if you drive to the conditions.
Have fun and this
forum will help no end.
DW
Reply By: Fatso - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 07:56
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 07:56
Hello Ceylon.
It is nice to have company & I hope you find it.
But don't let the lack of company deter you. It is not as isolated as some may imply & you will meet plenty of people on the way.
Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 12:29
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 12:29
Hi Ceylon. I did it in 2008 on my own, as in an xtrail and Tvan, as I had planned. Take it easy and as I discovered, you will soon find plenty of people doing the same thing. I had a ball. I recommend Loyalty Beach at Sesia, turn right before the town. You can travel with others and then branch off if it does not suit you. Have a great trip and drive to the conditions. Steve.B....
Reply By: Hellman and co. - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:47
Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:47
G'day,
We just returned last week from the top. We went up by ourselves with 3 kids, 1, 3 and 5. Pulled a coromal camper up with no problems at all. Even drove parts of the tele track without the camper.
You will meet heaps of people up there that seem to be travelling with you anyway, as everyone seems to have similar itinery and end up following each other.
We took 16 days from
Cooktown to
Seisia and return to
Cairns, and looked at all the highlights on the way.
Definately go and you will have a great time, take it steady and dont break anything and she'll be right.