Possible Life Style Change.

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 16, 2011 at 16:22
ThreadID: 87598 Views:2515 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
Hi Guys.
I am after any information from people who travel full time.
I would like to know is it as good as some make out.
So tell of your inexperience's warts and all.

Thanks JohnG10.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jul 16, 2011 at 17:00

Saturday, Jul 16, 2011 at 17:00
John G10 all THESE CARAVANERS reckon it's a good lifestyle.

Fred

AnswerID: 460088

Reply By: Member - JohnBee (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2011 at 17:06

Saturday, Jul 16, 2011 at 17:06
Gday...

I have been travelling full-time for the last 19 months. It was always my 'retirement plan' to do so.

Last year was just 'travelling' ... doing an "opal tour" Broken Hill, White Cliffs, Lightning Ridge, Cunnamulla, Eulo, Yowah, Toompine, Quilpie - and places inbetween. Then wandered back down the Fossickers Way (Warialda to Tamworth).

Spent 4 of the past 7 months fruit picking (grapes Stanthorpe, Citrus Biggenden, Strawberries Beerwah) ... for the change of activity .... and now back travelling slowly heading north and inland. Presently in Eidsvold moving to Carnia Gorge Monday then who knows.

I throroughly recommend it. I force myself to not make plans more than two weeks in advance .... but often change the 2nd week's plan before I have achieved the 1st week's plan ;-)

Fuel, food and accommodation are major expenses .... but you can control the fuel and accommodation by not driving long distances in short times ... and accommodation by free-camping as much as possible. Food unfortunately is my shortcoming :-)

I thoroughly recommend it ..... you just have to learn to slow down, "smell the roses", don't make plans to far ahead and enjoy the country.

Cheers
John
AnswerID: 460090

Follow Up By: John G10 - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 13:17

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 13:17
Hi JohnBee,