FIRST REAL TRIP WITH MY TRAILER TENT

Submitted: Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 18:13
ThreadID: 87640 Views:3118 Replies:7 FollowUps:0
AS A NEW OWNER OF A CAMPER TRAILER TENT I CANT WAIT TO GET OUT GO BUSH AND USE IT,AS YOU ARE ALL WELL VERSED AND EXPERIENCED CAN YOU GIVE ME ANY ADVICE ON THE FOLLOWING

ITINERARY
ITEMS TO TAKE
ESSENTIALS
GPS AND MAPS ie best ones to buy

AND ANY GENERAL ADVICE YOU THINK I WOULD BENEFIT FROM

TA NICK

Reply By: Puma1 - Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 18:46

Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 18:46
General advise I would give is

SWITCH OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK!!!

It's really hard to read and it means you are shouting at us.

I bought a Garmin Oregon GPS with topo maps (has street maps too) also has an inbuilt camera that geotags pictures so you can just open a saved pic and click navigate to it and your course is set. Another very cool feature is being able to overlay a map to google earth mark positions on the map, save the file and load it into the garmin Oregon then when you go to that spot the screen displays the map you made and you walk 3D on your own map, I can think of many benefits using that and was one of the features that swung me to buy it.

The compass is fantastic you don't have to be moving or hold the unit level it just works like a real one.

It's an awsome unit and is even waterproof so if you fall in a creek it won't matter (unless you drown:-) It also has very sensitive satelite reception - means it does not drop out in built up areas or in a deep raveen.

I researched heaps and consider this to be one of the very best money can buy, probably why it was one of the most expensive too! Approx $750 with maps - but I always have to have the best! You can too but you're gunna have to pay for it!

Items to take - The kitchen sink!

Cheers Nigel
(don't forget that caps lock)
AnswerID: 460306

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 19:01

Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 19:01
Hi Nick,

Firstly, an itinerary is a pre-planned trip and as such it depends on where you intend going.
A good method of planning your trip, once you decide where you are going, is to use
something like Travelmate Trip Planner or one of the motoring bodies web sites such as the NRMA Trip Planner to plan your trip. Please note that the times given are at the extreme outer edge of the travel window and a shorter time is the norm.

Items to take.
This is best done over a period of time as you will add and take items to suit your own camping needs. Prepare a basic list of camping items on a spreadsheet or word document and add/remove items until you get the right mix.
The advantage of a camper trailer is you can leave virtually everything in the storage areas and when embarking on a new trip, all you should need to add is food and clothing.

Essentials.
Included in "items to take" above. Things such as extra fuel, water, etc. will depend on where you are going and whether the destination is via remote bush tracks and long distances.

One of the best publications is the spiral bound book of Hema maps available from the ExplorOz Shop or Motoring Organisations and map shops.
As for a GPS if you want the best, the Hema Navigator will provide all your needs for both City and Country navigation, but it is not cheap.

Start your camping trips with a few "weekender's". One night stops not too far away from home. As you organise your camping items and storage methods, you will be in a better position to venture further a field.

AnswerID: 460308

Reply By: BJ - Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 22:00

Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 22:00
Following our first couple of trips I made up a list of items not to forget; eg gas bottles filled, chairs etc, right down to tea,coffee, camera. Sealed it in a clear plastic sleeve and stuck it inside the lid of the van storage box. Before we leave the lid is up, and things checked off. Saves anger later.
AnswerID: 460320

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jul 19, 2011 at 11:45

Tuesday, Jul 19, 2011 at 11:45
G'day Nick, welcome to the world of camper trailers..
1. Itinerary...your choice entirely. First timers often expect to see heaps in one go, but be sensible..chop it up into sections & do the stuff that appeals most first. A trip to the Centre can be done in 2 weeks but all you do is drive,so plan carefully ...lot of
good resources on this site.
2. Items to take...suitable easy care clothes..pack in a plastic tub..one for each person...labelled. Pack cooking utensils,food,dishes/cutlery etc in same tubs. Make the bed up before you leave & pack spare linen in another tub. Dont cart heaps of food & water around..many small business in the outback & bush only survive on
tourism, so stock up as you go..& dont whinge about higher prices. Take stuff to
entertain kids if you have some....& above all...take your sense of humour..:)))).
3.Essentials..make an undersheet of doubled shadecloth & lay out under the tent
before erecting. ..clean the area before that with your lawn rake. Buy a silver tarp
of sufficient size to cover the whole camper when erected. This may keep you dry but
will also keep the tent ready for a dry packup ,free of dirt & bird poop etc. Attach with
a handful of occo straps..A fridge is essential..as are spares/tools/fire extinguisher/rope/poles/pegs/toilet?/shower/ lighting/decent chairs/ shovel/snatch
strap..etc..etc...& anything else you can fit in that you think you may need....after a
trip two you will work out which of this gear belongs at home.
4. GPS & Maps...a decent paper map will do to start...add a GPS/Satnav if you wish..
then you can consider all the other toys like generators/solar power/tv/uhf radio/satphone/fancy offroad tyres...etc..etc..there are no limits...only $$$$$.

Anyway...just get started..keep your eyes open to what others are doing with their
campers...& ENJOY......cheers.....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 460340

Reply By: Geobserver - Tuesday, Jul 19, 2011 at 12:39

Tuesday, Jul 19, 2011 at 12:39
A few 'weekender' trips will do the trick. Keep a notepad handy to write things down as you realise. Take a look at other trailers and their set up for hints as well.

AnswerID: 460344

Reply By: Honky - Tuesday, Jul 19, 2011 at 14:00

Tuesday, Jul 19, 2011 at 14:00
Join www.campertrailers.org

Honky
AnswerID: 460346

Reply By: madcow - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 10:11

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 10:11
another pretty good tip is to take a tarp or the like to cover the mattress when packing up. Dew will form on the inside of the canvas and an unhappy wife is not worth the pain. 10 bucks would see you have a quiet time when packing. money well spent i reckon
AnswerID: 460391