Wheel nuts too tight

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 20:50
ThreadID: 87689 Views:4987 Replies:6 FollowUps:27
I had a wheel balance done last week at a national tyre dealership. This week I pulled the wheels off to change the shock absorbers at least I tried to take the wheels off, the nuts were so tight I had to resort to a 2M length of pipe on the socket, I'm glad now I wasn't out in the sticks somewhere or I'd still be struggling, pays to check.

rr VKE237 6678

Reply By: snoopyone - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 20:59

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 20:59
150lb is enough on a Cruiser

Dont know what you have but too much can break studs
AnswerID: 460454

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 12:59

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 12:59
I thought 110 ft.lbs was the specification for Landcruiser wheel nuts.

FollowupID: 734166

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 13:13

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 13:13
For mags its less but I no longer have it so working from memory

What was the question again LOL
FollowupID: 734167

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 13:17

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 13:17
Here it says 150ft lb Mags are 110 I think.

http://www.landcruiserclub.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=7557
FollowupID: 734168

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 13:47

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 13:47
For the 14mm studs on the 5 stud models, it's 150 ft-lb for steel wheels and 97 ft-lb for the factory mags.

For the 12mm studs on 6 stud Landcruisers, its about 100 ft-lb for steel and I think about 85 fl-lb for the mags.

I think 150 is too much - I give it about 110 and check them occasionally when travelling.
FollowupID: 734169

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 17:16

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 17:16
Was alluding to the 5 stud 100ser as thats what I had.

I would think the manufacturer would have a pretty good idea of the correct settings . After all they make the things.

Must be set at that for a reason
FollowupID: 734200

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:07

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:07
When I was in the CFA we had to do a simultation of a fire bearing down on us & change a wheel in the fastest possible time. Well it went real well when NONE of us could undo the wheel nuts at all!

Took it back to the station & it still took ages to get them loose even with access to some serious tools from the workshop.
AnswerID: 460455

Follow Up By: Diesel 'n Dust - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:11

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:11
Did you apply some nickel anti seize on when replacing nuts?

I do it after every flat tyre I have and it works a treat. No tight nuts ever.

No one likes a rusty nut!!

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 734130

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:15

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:15
Yep I have been for a few years now.

Use it on my spark plugs too.
FollowupID: 734131

Follow Up By: Diesel 'n Dust - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:21

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:21
Bushranger

Sorry my reply was for the topic poster, but I'm glad you use anti seize.

Do people who travel remote remember to take this on their long trips??

My tub of it never leaves my ute.

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 734133

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:45

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:45
Its a great tip for everyone. Works a treat.

Stu
FollowupID: 734138

Follow Up By: Member - Robert W (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 09:27

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 09:27
Anti-seize /anti-scuffing paste can reduce friction at the threads by 30% - so you can over tighten without realising.
Large engine manufactures (on marine engines) advise oiling threads on critical fasteners such as head & bearing studs.
FollowupID: 734155

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 16:05

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 16:05
Wheel studs or nuts should never be lubricated, torque figures are for dry assembly only.
FollowupID: 734183

Follow Up By: Diesel 'n Dust - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 01:12

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 01:12
Well I'll be damned!!

Had a slow leak on back right tyre ( I could the air cause I had pulled up)
and my first thought was this topic!

I quickly organized my tools and get into it.. Now these wheels had being replaced previously before pick up ( mine LV) but with a bit of brute force they came off a treat!
On with the anti seize and I was on my way. Simple, done in no time!!

20 - 30km down the road a quick re tighten and all good!

Do people on their travels do this???

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 734256

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:07

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:07
Don't you hate that Racinrob, have been in bush with someone with a flat and couldn't undo their wheels nuts.

Had wheel alignment done last week , and you guessed it , wheel nuts couldn't be removed with normal brace.

At least I made sure my steel wheels were on at the time , they might have wrecked my alloys.

AnswerID: 460456

Reply By: Fatso - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:31

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 21:31
G'day Racinrob
I occasionally see tyre fitters use torque wrenches to finish off the wheel nuts.
One tyre shop I know of uses electric rattle guns. The owner claims the clutches on the electric guns give a more accurate torque setting than air guns.
Using a torque wrench guarantees the nuts are not over tightened or loose.
I am sure some of these blokes that do wheel alignments & fit tyres have had minimal training & don't understand the tools they are using.
AnswerID: 460461

Follow Up By: Jeffrey B2 - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 23:14

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011 at 23:14
I have always used a little smear of grease on all my wheel studs prior to tightening a wheel.

Been doing this for 60 years and never a problem yet.

This applies to Van, Box Trailer, Boat Trailers and cars, never had a loose nut yet or one I couldn't remove.

Steel , alloy, all the same.

Have Fun Haji-Baba
FollowupID: 734141

Follow Up By: dbish - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 09:00

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 09:00
When i get tyres changed the vehicle is in sight all the time to make sure a rattle gun isnt used. Seen too many studs broken or striped by tyre places & then had to repair them for customers. Modern cars dont have mutch metal in the disks any more & over tightening can distort the discs & cause shaking of the steering wheel & brake pedal pulsing on aplication of brakes.
FollowupID: 734152

Follow Up By: Fatso - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 09:46

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 09:46
G'day Jeffrey B2
I would assume that the main reason you have not encountered the problem of wheel nuts being too hard to undo is that you or a another trustworthy person has been in charge of the previous tightening.
The grease will help the threads but won't be enough to stop the taper on the nut binding with the wheel if it is over tightened.
I think overtightening has caused the problem Racinrob has bought up this time.
I use anti cease on the wheel studs on my taxi as well. The wheels come of at intervals of a max of every 3 weeks. If some mug lays into it with the rattle gun that is set to high they are pretty hard to budge as well.
I have an air rattle gun in the shed & only use it to remove wheel nuts.
I always tighten them up with a wheel brace.
The mechanics I use, who actually are trained tradesmen, unlike tyre fitters, use a rattle gun. But they have the skills & knowledge to do a far better job than I or some of the untrained tyre fitters that are out there.
Some times I have seen a torque controlling extension used on the rattle gun. Not sure how accurate it is. It is a short thin extension bar that flexes to a predetermined torque.
Hopefully somebody can give some info on how effective these torque things are.
FollowupID: 734156

Follow Up By: dbish - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 15:45

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 15:45
When i was working in a Ford dealership the problem with over tightened wheel nuts was so bad on AU Ford & on models, the dealer was suplied with Torque control extensions from Ford.
FollowupID: 734180

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 21:21

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 21:21
I once watched a tyre fitter put the torque control extension on and use it to tighten my wheel nuts. I challenged him about using the rattle gun on my wheels. He said he could not overtighten the nuts with the extension on.

He was wrong!

I got home and put a 1.5 m bar on to get them undone.

FollowupID: 734230

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 15:19

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 15:19
On one occasion I asked my local tyre shop not to use a rattle gun to tighten the wheel nuts - hand tighten please.

Lucky I always check with a cross-brace - all 24 were finger tight!!! I guess they took me at my word.

Always, always, always check them if wheel or tyre work has been done, or even regular service - they take the wheels off to check the brakes (well, they should).

Trailer too.

Frank

FollowupID: 734301

Reply By: brushmarx - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 08:43

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 08:43
Like many people, my nuts have felt a bit tight at times.
(that can sound so wrong)
Does the over tightening cause metal stress to the nut or stud that can cause failure some time in the future?
Is there any difference between alloy or steel rims if there is possible damage?
I'll get there someday, or die wanting to.

AnswerID: 460480

Follow Up By: Fatso - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 09:59

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 09:59
G'day Ian.
Watch out for those tight nuts mate. That can get serious.

I don't know about studs snapping while driving & have only myself seen that happen while trying to undo them.
But in the days when I drove falcon taxis I have seen the studs & nuts changed because the threads were shot from being over tightened.
These days I use better quality mechanics & tyre fitters & I haven't seen that for some time.
FollowupID: 734157

Follow Up By: bruce b2 - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 16:02

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 16:02
snapping studs with tight nuts - no extra comments required, although could get a run in friday funnies

cheers - bb
FollowupID: 734182

Follow Up By: OutBack Wanderers - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 20:44

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 20:44
I walked into the Doctors yesterday wrapped in Glad Wrap.

The Dr. said, I can seely clear your nuts. LOL LOL

FollowupID: 734223

Reply By: workhorse - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 11:30

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 11:30
Had the same so I ran tap through the thread as the nut thread had been distorted and now they spin on and off.
AnswerID: 460487

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 18:06

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 18:06
You had better invest in new wheel nuts, ask any engineer.
FollowupID: 734207

Follow Up By: workhorse - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 20:44

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 20:44
So it is the nuts that have their thread stretched not the studs? I thought so.
When I mean spin on/off, I meant they are easy to undo now. Do you think I should replace them?
FollowupID: 734222

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 21:17

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 21:17
Definitely Easy to undo easy to pop off due to less thread.
FollowupID: 734227

Follow Up By: workhorse - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 21:21

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 21:21
Would there be any stretching of the thread on the studs? They are ok to keep?
FollowupID: 734229

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 21:25

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 21:25
I have seen broken studs from overtightening and I have seen broken studs from undertightening. (Did that one myself...whoops)

After having work done on the car, particularly at a tyre shop, I go home and loosen the nuts then re-fit using a torque wrench.

Since I commenced this practice I have never hada problem. But I still carry spare studs and nuts in the toolbox.

FollowupID: 734231

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 21:29

Thursday, Jul 21, 2011 at 21:29
Easiest way to check is buy some new nuts and if theyb bind you need new studs as well.
FollowupID: 734233