In Car Mounted Video Recorder

Submitted: Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 19:30
ThreadID: 87719 Views:3520 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
I'm thinking of buying an "In Car Mounted Video Recorder" to record some of my outback trips.

I would prefer a unit that can be easily turned on an off whilst driving. I don't want to record every kilometre, but just a few minutes each day of things that may interest me.

Can anyone give me any recommendations on a good unit up to say $500. ?

Thanks in advance for any positive comments.

One life. Live it while you can.

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 19:46

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 19:46
Moto

had these shown to me at the Brisbane truck show some months back. they seem like the go :-)

On Site Cameras
AnswerID: 460636

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 19:49

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 19:49
FollowupID: 734324

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 19:53

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 19:53
from memory they were between $300 & $400.
FollowupID: 734325

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:39

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:39
At 37 seconds. Notice the Falcon on the left, towing a car trailer,loaded with an old Falcon ute with an old truck cabin in the back. On a wet road as well. Strewth. Bob.

FollowupID: 734337

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:39

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:39
Wow, great picture quality, better then the cops use........
FollowupID: 734338

Follow Up By: GQueue - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 22:10

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 22:10
Re the Falcon....

I'd be more concerned about the clapped out old courier van @ 49 seconds with knackered shocks that, again in the wet, not only undertakes one truck but then proceeds to merge straight into the blind spot of another one...... :-\
FollowupID: 734353

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Jul 24, 2011 at 07:42

Sunday, Jul 24, 2011 at 07:42
For quality that's the best I have yet seen, even in the truck there is no shaking and warping.

FollowupID: 734440

Reply By: Michael A (VIC) - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:07

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:07
Have a look at a Gopro.
AnswerID: 460641

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:41

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:41
I've used a standard video camera with a suction mount camera pod to it. I mounted it on the inside of the window. I then used the camera's remote control to turn the recorder on/off.

I was worried about it moving around but after a few difficult 4WD club trips it didn't move out of alignment.

It was a very cheap solution.

The Insert Link function doesn't seem to work but I bought it from Jaycar.

http://jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=QC3327&keywords=suction+mount&form=KEYWORD
AnswerID: 460648

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:41

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:41
I guess the Insert Link function does work.
FollowupID: 734339

Reply By: Member - Witchdoctor - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:42

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:42
Moto,

I would seriously look at the GoPro Hero HD. I purchased one online for just under $300 delivered to the door this has risen to about $500 with loads of extra bits like chargers, extra battery, mounts & lcd screen back as iv needed them.

Used it on our last Simpson desert crossing where it got wet during the many creek crossing when mounted outside the truck. When mounted to the windscreen its very easy to turn on & off.

Also FYI one of the big 4x4 publications use the Hero for loads of their dvd imaging.

AnswerID: 460649

Follow Up By: Member - Witchdoctor - Sunday, Jul 24, 2011 at 13:30

Sunday, Jul 24, 2011 at 13:30
Have a look at this.
http://gopro.com/videos/auto/torc-traxxas-gopro-hd/

Its not touring but gives a good idea of the quality.
FollowupID: 734466

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:57

Friday, Jul 22, 2011 at 20:57
I've seen footage taken on a GoPro and it was excellent. They advertise on ExplorOz.

If you already have a videocamera buy a Fat Gecko suction mount.

Here is mine on a window of my van when we crossed the Pentacost last week (no great feat, the river was only up to our side steps).

AnswerID: 460650

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Saturday, Jul 23, 2011 at 08:54

Saturday, Jul 23, 2011 at 08:54
G'day moto, I recently purchased on line "sale special" for under $100 - I think it was $53 not sure but I thought wo the heck! After a few test runs I am soo suprised on how good it really is! It does not have an on/off switch for power - I just push it in the cig lighter to on 'n pull it out for off. It has an on/off switch for an internal mike. It is compact, I fit it between the mirror & the w/screen. It takes a micro sd card (not supplied) really good value!! hoo roo
(I can't get it on eo what do I do to load the video?)
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 460672

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Saturday, Jul 23, 2011 at 09:40

Saturday, Jul 23, 2011 at 09:40
Check this one out!
http://www.dragonext.com/vehicle-car-hd-720p-digital-led-camera-dvr-dashboard-remote-video-recorder-edm3.html this is the same company I bought mine from, always use paypal.
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

FollowupID: 734381

Reply By: tripping oz - Saturday, Jul 23, 2011 at 19:08

Saturday, Jul 23, 2011 at 19:08
Go and get a GO PRO i have one and it is great they come with lots difrent mounts and very easy to use.
AnswerID: 460731

Reply By: Ianw - Saturday, Jul 23, 2011 at 21:18

Saturday, Jul 23, 2011 at 21:18
Make sure you get a HD model. I have had and used a 640x480 one for a few years now, but it is not good enough. Can't read number plates unless within 10 meters.

AnswerID: 460745

Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Jul 23, 2011 at 21:20

Saturday, Jul 23, 2011 at 21:20
Just do a search for "dashboard cameras" on Ebay or Google
FollowupID: 734425

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Jul 24, 2011 at 20:43

Sunday, Jul 24, 2011 at 20:43
I agree 100% - you need High Definition = HD - at least 720p.

They now cost less than $100 from www.dealextreme.com in HingKong with windscreen mount, plugpack etc.
FollowupID: 734492

Follow Up By: Moto - Monday, Jul 25, 2011 at 16:47

Monday, Jul 25, 2011 at 16:47
Thanks for all those above that have replied and given me an incite on what's available.

I have decided to take MARKS advice and go for an AutoCamHD GPS. The unit is not available until late August and will retail at $448. It can record in
1920 x 1080.

The GPS function and high HD appeals to me.

Thanks again for all your advices.

One life. Live it while you can.

FollowupID: 734570

Reply By: John- Lat38South - Sunday, Jul 31, 2011 at 10:04

Sunday, Jul 31, 2011 at 10:04
Try www.dealsextreme.com.
Great site, good ppl to deal with and the prices are around 1/4 of most other sites. They ship from HK and usually takes around 7-10 days.
Last look, there were 15+ cameras of this type available.
Hope that helps,
Cheers, J
AnswerID: 461381