Perth Coopers Tyres/Dealers

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 26, 2003 at 20:17
ThreadID: 8779 Views:5793 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
It's time to replace the Grandtreks on the 'Cruiser and I have more or less decided to try a set of Coopers HTs for highway and beach use.

I already have a separate set of STs that get pressed into service when the need arises, but I'm underwhelmed with their performance in soft sand and they are a little too noisy to live with around town for my taste..

There is lots of info in the archives on ST/STTs but precious little on the HTs - does anyone have any first hand experience with these tyres? Recommendations for dealers in the Perth metro area would also be welcome.

Pete

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2003 at 21:21

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2003 at 21:21
gday hedonist.
i used coopet s/t on our gq for 35000ks and sold them and bought h/t.
hts are great in the sand stones(nothing more than dirt roads ect)back by popular demand
:-)
AnswerID: 38596

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2003 at 21:27

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2003 at 21:27
gday hedonist.
i used coopet s/t on our gq for 35000ks and sold them and bought h/t.
hts are great in the sand stones(nothing more than dirt roads ect).snow.
but on the weekend went out and played in the mud no good i know there not designed for mud but i thought i would see how they went.
iv got the hts sold and going back to st might be a little more noisier but they go any where.if you have a set of s/t that you can swap when you go off road the h/t would have to be the best highway tyre ive had i just cant afford 2 sets.
if you go to www.coopertires.com.au they have a dealer listing there and a heap of info on the h/t
back by popular demand
:-)
AnswerID: 38599

Follow Up By: Hedonist - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 14:51

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 14:51
Diamond, thanks for your thoughts.

It sound as though they will fit the bill on the beach in any case...

Pete
FollowupID: 28645

Reply By: Matt (W.A.) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 09:36

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 09:36
Hedonist,
Try Richards Tyrepower in Ozy Park thats where i got my ST's from they were fairly competative, I always recon word of mouth is the best advertising (I was told by a mate about them). I have no affiliation with tyrepower or Richard.

HTHKeep It On The Rough Stuff

Matt (W.A.)
AnswerID: 38652

Follow Up By: Michelle from ExplorOz - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 12:15

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 12:15
Hi Matt,
In fact, TyrePower the exclusive dealer selling Coopers Tires (Tyres to us Aussies). If Richards' TyrePower isn't convenient to you, you could try Murphy's TyrePower at Midland. We have dealt with both these stores and both will offer you excellent service and advice. Please advise that we recommended them as TyrePower aren't an advertiser... yet!ExplorOz
FollowupID: 28625

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 14:48

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 14:48
Tyrepower in Welshpool were good to deal with and have the added bonus of being able to check out the Opposite Lock store next door whilst fitting takes placeAllyn
Some days we are the flies; some days we are the windscreen.
FollowupID: 28643

Reply By: Hedonist - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 14:49

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 14:49
Thanks Matt and Michelle,

I'll give them a try.

Pete
AnswerID: 38679

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 15:36

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 15:36
Hedonist,

I've found the service from Richard's Tyrepower (Osborne Park) to be excellent.

In addition they use a device called a road force balancer to balance the wheels. This applies simulated road to the tyre to take account of tyre deflection (and this can vary around the tyre) in determining the balance. Cost is $125/ wheel but comes for free if you buy your tyres there. Only guys in WA to have such a piece of kit.

I have Cooper ATs fitted to my GU Patrol. They are great on the beach, have extra grip than HT for offroad work I do, and are nice and quiet on road. I'd recommend you consider these.

Hugh
AnswerID: 38687

Follow Up By: Peter Guy - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 18:03

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 18:03
I had to replace 5 Kumho tyres for my Patrol when we arrived in QLD (Nambour) after driving from Perth via the Flinders Ranges and Birdsville due to 3 serious tyre fractures on the new Kuhmo tyres.
I can't be 100% sure if the tyres were not up to the tough conditions or the same problem would have occurred with other brands.
Although we have driven over heaps of similar roads in the Kimberly and never had a single fracture, punctures yes, stacked side walls yes but never a fracture.
Anyhow we bought 5 x Cooper Discoverer HT 16x 265 x70's and they have performed very well. To date they have done approx 65,000 ks and we leave again on Saturday to drive back to QLD but via a different route this time.
The Cooper HTs are great on the the black top and work well on the the gravel roads and beach-we drive around Wedge island a lot and so long as the tyres are at the rigt pressures they will take you any where.
Mud is something we don't see too much of here so I can't comment.
I think the tyres are more economical on the highway due to their less aggressive tread pattern and they are definately more quiet.
I bought the Kumhos from Richards Trye Power Osb.Park and found their service good and their pricing competitive- but they were not able to help much when I rang them from Birdsville with the 3 trye fractures enquiring about the tyre warranty which I now believe to be a waste of time for tyres.
We had to carry the 3 wheels back to an authorised Kumho outlet for them to send away to be examined by the importers who would decide if the tyres had failed. We were using every old spare we could muster and literally limped in to Nambour and had to do a lot of tyre patching on the way. Very frustrating when the fractured tyres were new! Then be told after quite some time that the tyres in question were not faulty and we should have bought more heavy duty models!!
Hence the swing to Coopers.
Will they honour their warranty?? Who knows?
So it is good economy to buy quality first and price second!!
FollowupID: 28671

Reply By: ACH - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 17:54

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 17:54
Pete,

Like Hugh(WA) I run Cooper A/Ts on my Bravo d/cab and have found them to be good in sand and non-extreme offroad work. They're also very quiet on the blacktop.

I've had them for about 20,000k now and they're wearing very well indeed.

I got mine from Tyrepower Booragoon (used to be Jamisons (sp) I think) and their prices were extremely competitive.

Andy
AnswerID: 38699