A few Dual Battery set up questions

G'day all, last time I set up a 4wd I paid for a dual battery set up (along with a few other goodies) to be installed by local 4wd shop. This time I am doing it myself. Whilst the install does not concern me at all, the purchase of the kit or components is doing my head in a bit.
There are heaps of options available but one option is I can buy a kit online for about $140 that is 140amp rated with Isolator that cuts in @ 13.3 and out at 12.8v & all the usual install bits, including 6mm wire.

So to the questions :
1. I am only running a fridge & usual camping gear (no winch), is 140amp enough.
2. I am running the wire to the rear of the car (90 series petrol prado) to my battery box with 120a/h AGM battery, is 6mm wire OK or should it be thicker to prevent current drop when charging.
3. Are cut in / cut out volts OK, various units have different levels.
4. And finally...buy a kit online or make my own, anyone done it cheaper themselves ??
Thanks for reading and the replies.
Simon.

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 18:29

Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 18:29
How good is your battery box?

The reason I ask is that you can buy a complete solution with all hardware, cables, etc. from ABR - Sidewinder - Flyer

The Flyer includes a built-in isolator and takes any size battery up to 130Ah.

No affiliation with Derek Bester. Just a satisfied customer.

AnswerID: 461533

Follow Up By: SKEB - Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 19:00

Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 19:00
Hi Bill,

Battery box is good, as is 120Ah AGM battery, I didnt want to purchase a whole kit when I have some of it already.

Once I work out what bits / kit to get I will have a chat with Derek.

Cheers. Simon.
FollowupID: 735209

Reply By: Member - iijmartin - Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 18:31

Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 18:31
Hi SKEB,
Talk to Derek at Sidewinder and support one of the Explor Oz business members. He provides great advice and service. I have recently purchased a dual battery kit through his business.
AnswerID: 461534

Follow Up By: SKEB - Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 19:01

Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 19:01
Hi Ian,

2 out of 2 replies suggesting Derek at ABR Sidewinder.

Looks like I will chat to him sooner than later.

Simon.
FollowupID: 735210

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 19:42

Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 19:42
I buil my own. Used 35mm cables and a Redarc isolator and ran 6mm tome back of the Patrol. I would run 10 mm now just to be sure. Shopped around for a battery tray and got one for $95. That was eight years ago. Could have made my own but the factory ones have the work done for you. Gt a battery for nix. Good mate. In te end cost me around $250 for the whole thing. Voltage levels you statevare ok I reckon. Good luck

AnswerID: 461543

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 21:43

Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 21:43
I'm with you Bonz,
I built my own, tray, hold down, and heat shield, a mate wired it up for me, Hmm, I still owe Bevan a couple of beers that :) Already had the Redarc for the rear Anderson Plug to the camper, that I installed about two years ago.
Second Battery under bonnet

Hate to think how much Mr Toyota might want for all the bits.

FollowupID: 735231

Reply By: p_marns - Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 21:18

Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 21:18
You can try to do it cheaper but i doubt you will beat derek bester
AnswerID: 461552

Reply By: Cole - Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 23:25

Monday, Aug 01, 2011 at 23:25
Hi Simon

The bigger the wiring the better. 6mm auto cable is approx 4.5 mm2
, way too small you will get voltage drop. Most 4wd outlets only run 6mm auto cable (4.5mm2) easier to run .

Run 6 B & S minimum which is approx 13.5 mm2. Better off going the largest that you can run. If running cable to anderson plug for trailer run minimum 2 B & S cable approx 35mm2 again bigger is better.

Run a neg wire back to battery. Mega fuse at either end of +ve

Looking at doing a similar setup to you.
I'm no expert just someone learning as I go. Happy researching

Cole

AnswerID: 461562

Follow Up By: SKEB - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2011 at 13:18

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2011 at 13:18
Thanks Cole,

Post should have read 6 B&S wire supplied with kit.

No trailer in my equation so it should do the job for me.

Most likely get all the gear this week for set up on the weekend.

Thanks for the reply.

Simon.
FollowupID: 735293

Reply By: Earvin - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2011 at 18:51

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2011 at 18:51
Mate worth checking out Traxide isolators. I have them in both my cars and never had a problem even with a cut out of 12 volts (under load). Gives more useable capacity with lower cut out and never had a drama with starting the car.
Tim really knows his stuff and makes quality gear. Well priced too.
AnswerID: 461630

Reply By: Tim Owen - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2011 at 20:47

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2011 at 20:47
Check out the Classifieds under accessories. You might find a bargain!
AnswerID: 461641