Ebay vehicle scams

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 11:53
ThreadID: 88329 Views:4496 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
Been watching a scam on ebay of a guy selling a 2008 Toyota Landcruiser Sahara turbo diesel, the bids started at 99 cents and is currently at $27,000 with 18 bids and what looks like 5 regular bidders.

Are these people stupid or what for starters this Sahara is worth as a trade in around $60,000 to $75,000 so why would you think you could buy it for under that.

And the guy has plastered the ebay site with contact me first before bidding at a hot mail account.

It makes you wonder are these bidders for real and are they genuinely thinking they are going to get a Sahara for $30,000 under the true whole sale value.

Obviously there are still gullible buyers out there.

The link is...

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Toyota-Landcruiser-2008-Sahara-4x4-/200637946595?pt=AU_Cars&hash=item2eb6f41ae3#ht_1240wt_1302

And there is another GXL on carsales for $26,000 and a don't contact me through the carsales site as it is not working, on contact me by phone.

Reply By: olcoolone - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 11:55

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 11:55
Well that was quick, reported it to ebay about 1 hour ago and it's been pulled already.
AnswerID: 462031

Follow Up By: P and JM - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 13:03

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 13:03
Dam it, I missed out on a bargain !
You must be thick not to see it's scam crap hey ?
FollowupID: 735757

Reply By: Bill BD - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 14:04

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 14:04
Followed the link. It looks like the item has been removed. Ebay will remove any listing where the seller tries to move communication outside of ebay. Most of the bids you saw were probably shills pushing the price up until it looked plausible but cheap.... then one qenuine will come along a spot the bargain..... snap.... the trap closes.

The shill bids are designed to do just what you describe. You look at them and think "are these people for real".... but as the price rises you think..... perhaps this is a genuine bargain.... I will just put one bid in.... bingo.
AnswerID: 462038

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 15:48

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 15:48
Bill,
If you don't mind me asking (I'm not really up to speed with ebay). But if you bid and win an ebay auction for a car and it's COD, then is it still shonky?

I mean, providing the car checks out OK and is not a repaired write off, stolen, non existant or not as described. Surely it would only catch people out if they were gulible enough to pay by cheque or bank deposit. Even Paypal offers insurance. Or am I missing something?

Fab.
FollowupID: 735766

Follow Up By: kidsandall - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 22:42

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 22:42
Fab72, This would not be COD. It would be something like the following. Well mate, I'm actually overseas at the moment so if you just pay the money into my western union account I'll have a mate drop it off to you.
Seriously some people say "Oh ok, sounds fair".
When we sold our car we had a guy ring up about it. He asked all sorts of questions about our trip, our family, my kids etc. Was like he was my best friend. When it came time to talk dollars he said I'm overseas, can I pay with paypal and I'll pay extra to get you to send it to darwin. Yeah right.
Do people agree to this sort of stuff "YES". Friends sold their van. A guy deposited $20,000 into their account. Hadn't seen the van at all. A truck turned up a week later to pick it up. Not the owners just a delivery service. Our friends were amazed the guy just handed over the money with no questions just their promise he could have it. Personally if I can't see it and hand the money over I'm not interested.

Josh
FollowupID: 735793

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 06:27

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 06:27
Cheers Josh. I think I'll stick to COD and take the time to see and drive cars before I buy them.
I've never heard a good word about Western Union. The weapon of choice by scammers.

Fab.
FollowupID: 735795

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 11:59

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 11:59
Even if it isn't stolen - COD won't do you any good if there is money owed on it to a finance company. They'll take the car and you'll do your dough
FollowupID: 735816

Follow Up By: kidsandall - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 16:09

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 16:09
Dennis, you can do an easy check for finance

Josh
FollowupID: 735834

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 16:51

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 16:51
Buyer Beware!
Yep you can check with the Registry of Encumbered Vehicles in WA and similar bodies in other states - but its not infallible and there are a few holes in the system such as vehicles subject to court orders, proceeds of crime order, unregistered creditors etc.
There is a national register being put into operation effective the 1st of October 2011 which should overcome some of these risks.
FollowupID: 735837

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 17:08

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 17:08
I think you will find that in NSW you are covered providing you get the REVS certificate on the day you purchase the vehicle, in the case of a private transaction. Dealers are obligated to guarantee unencumbered title when they sell a vehicle.

From the REVS website...

Licensed dealers are obliged to guarantee that no money is owing on the car, it has not been deregistered due to parking fines or previously declared a written-off vehicle. If a car turns out to be stolen, the purchase price must be refunded by the dealer or, if no longer trading, the Motor Dealer Compensation Fund.

However, if you are buying privately, it is your responsibility to find out if there is any money owing on the vehicle. Doing a REVS check and buying a car history report will tell you if a car has been reported stolen, written off by an insurance company, if there is money owing on it or if the rego has been cancelled due to unpaid fines.

The REVs certificate will protect you from repossession as long as you own the vehicle.
FollowupID: 735838

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 17:57

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 17:57
REVs WA hadn't been listing court orders the last time I enquired.
It may be different in NSW
FollowupID: 735843

Reply By: Kimba10 - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 15:05

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 15:05
Ive reported a few over the last couple of months while looking for my inlaws, ebay plus carsales, even one of them which I did ring on carsales was a few grand below the others but just didnt sound right, No log books, sisters brothers mothers fathers great aunt going over seas, got the chassis number and so forth and did a Vics road check, come up repairable write off, rang the person back and asked them about it, um na sorry have no idea bout that, sorry brother. But some one will come along and buy it, while its not a scam as such as the actual vehicle is for sale it still annoying people can sell this crap............
AnswerID: 462044

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 15:45

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 15:45
Kimba, there are that many cars advertised as "Owner moving overseas" you'd swear the boats were departing Christmas Island and not the other way round.

Fab.
FollowupID: 735765

Reply By: ao767brad - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 18:55

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 18:55
Paypal does not issue insurance on transactions for motor vechiles after having to pay out numerous times for scams like this. It was about 2009 when they discontinued motor vechile coverage as thick people would blame them for their own stupidity.
AnswerID: 462061

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 06:45

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 06:45
One of the many pitfalls of E-Commerce...I guess.
AnswerID: 462081

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 08:28

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 08:28
I've picked up a couple of bargains on e-Bay.

But I would warn everyone to do the proper checks before handing over the cash, and never pay by Western Union.

Exactly the same as you would with a Car Yard.

AnswerID: 462085

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 12:07

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 12:07
Car dealer is the safest way to buy a vehicle.
FollowupID: 735819

Follow Up By: Geoff H (Q - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 12:58

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 12:58
Maybe I should rephrase that to 'exactly as you would at my nephews car yard' top bloke to have a beer with, but gee doesn't he pull the wool over some peoples eyes.

But he gets to live in a big house and drive a flash car so he's doing something right.

FollowupID: 735821