$10K to spend but no idea what to buy.

Hello,
I have touched on this subject before but had the blinkers on so might have limited my options a bit too much.

The CFO is allowing me to spend about $10K (would like to get change personally) on a 4X4.

Now what to buy? Must haves are: 4 door, dual range, manual (prefered), no more than 200,000kms, wagon style and prefer something "mid sized" or a bit smaller. Needs to be economical to use as a daily driver. To be used for weekend get aways, mud, dirt roads but no extreme CSR type stuff.

Considered options so far are Pajero, Pajero io, Jackaroo, Frontera, Challenger, high km Parado, and Pathfinder. What else is out there? Looked at 2.8 Patrols but they're a bit big.

Decisions, decisions?????
Fab.

Reply By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 21:09

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 21:09
The condition of the indivual vehicle is the most important thing. But stay away from diesel jacks, Petrol jacks are great and ok on fuel if you get a man. Their is a standard 98 Jack with about 90000ks for about $9000 on car sales. Think it was in Queensland. Personally I would prefer a jack with less then 150000ks then a Prado with 300000ks for the same money. And the other thing is service history with frequent oil and coolant changes.
Good luck Pete
AnswerID: 462202

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 21:18

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 21:18
Cheers Pete. I'm in SA so QLD is a bit far. I've found cars in SA seem to be more expensive in general for no apparent reason.

Have noted the Jack recommendation. Cheers
Fab.
FollowupID: 735998

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 21:51

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 21:51
I respectfully disagree with Madfisher. I bought a 2001 3.0LTD with 102,000 on the clock. I have added another 50,000 trouble free Km. My brother-in-law has the 1999 model with 180,000 trouble free km. His Jack has always been serviced by a GM dealer and mine was likewise for the first 100,000. Use the right oil (we both use Castrol Magnatec) have it serviced regularly, don't fiddle with it between services and it is as good as the next TD diesel. You can buy a lot of Jack with $10,000.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 736002

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 22:00

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 22:00
Thanks Kevin. Appreciate the different take on it. So far that's two votes (non engine specific) for Jacks.

Doing the Carsales advanced search option and Freelanders seem to pop up with low kms and OK pricing. Don't think they are dual range. Any good though?

Fab.
FollowupID: 736004

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 22:30

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 22:30
On the Jack forum roughly 50% of 4jxi (3lt td Jack) where happy with their Jacks the other 50% said theirs was and absolute nightmare. Aust 4wd forum.
The older 3.1 td was an absolute jem with some covering 600000ks, although their are still reports of cracked heads, which is a repair of $3000 to $4000 .
We have three Jacks in our family , so their is not much I dont know about them.
Freelanders Fab, I remember the dog and Lemon guide quoting them as one of the greatest lemons of all time, but I believe the latest ones are much better. You will do better with Jap reliabity, but I do have a fondness for discoveries.
FollowupID: 736010

Follow Up By: gary4u - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 22:39

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 22:39
i also looked at the freelander but after much research the saying "if it looks to good to be true it is" applys to these cars.don't touch them with a barge pole.i agree with kevin on the jack i don't have one but a friend has and has no dramas with it.
cheers gary
FollowupID: 736011

Follow Up By: patsproule - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 06:02

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 06:02
Re the Freelander -it's not a real 4WD (nor is an iO). Any Freelander before 2000 should be avoided as they will seize the viscous coupling in the rear tailshaft @ about 100,000km and then destroy the front drive take-off (IRD) and / or rear diff. Very expensive to fix. Both the 1.8 and 2.5L petrols are junk with the former guaranteed to do a head gasket and drop a cylinder liner thus lunching the engine. Not a matter of if, but when. V6 is an early Kia motor - say no more.

2001 on diesels are fine as they use a BMW 2.0L common rail motor and Getrag transmission with new diff ratios that fix the coupling problem. We actually own a 2001 manual TD4 Freelander along with a 2006 DID NP Pajero. It took some sorting of Lucas electrics (how did they ever stay in business?) and a cam angle sensor but it is now a good & very economical runabout for the wife. But it has nothing on Jap build quality.

The Jacks are a good bus, but as mentioned above avoid the Unit Injection models if you can. Unit injection was actually developed by Caterpillar and even they hate it with a passion due to service longevity issues. Both the diesels and petrols are otherwise very solid. You often see the diesels for around 7 to 10k. NL Pajeros with a 2.8 would also be an option I guess but they would have a few more K's on them I'd expect.

Pat
FollowupID: 736017

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 06:52

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 06:52
That Kia motor was really bad news. My son had one. Cost a fortune to fix and they mostly went bad after the warranty had expired.
Kevin
Kevin

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 736020

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 08:28

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 08:28
Another vote for the Jack. I test this forum often by suggesting they are the best value bang for your buck if you are in the market for a budget proper 4wd. Biased??
You bet. I have put 70k on a 2000 V6..now has 150k all up, & driven most of the outback roads towing C/t. Have yet to draw a spanner except for maintenance. I was frightened off the oiler due to a bad rep, but dont regret having the V6 auto. It gives
15L/100 consistantly towing, & down to 12 not. I wont hide from the horror figures you can achieve if your throttle control is a little loose, but that applies to many. As
Pete says..a good service history is the key..they can still be found under 150k for that
$10k area. Good hunting.......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 736022

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 09:06

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 09:06
As an example...on Ebay from a dealer in Sydney...2001 White SE Auto, log books,
all options...80k......asking $9700. Thats worth an airfare IMHO.......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 736030

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 12:36

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 12:36
OK..so forget the Freelander.

I'm a bit hung up on one comment though.. the Pajero io is not a real four wheel drive? It has a transfer box with high and low range. What it doesn't have is a full sized body, so why would this not be a "real" four wheel drive?

Other than size, I see it as a pretty good package.

Fab.
FollowupID: 736046

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 12:56

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 12:56
Yes thats true Fab, best of road of all the little ones.
FollowupID: 736050

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 13:00

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 13:00
Thanks Pete ... they had actually made it onto my shortlist.
Fab.
FollowupID: 736051

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 13:19

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 13:19
I actually looked at one years ago and was quite impressed, but then brought a heavier boat.
FollowupID: 736054

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Aug 22, 2011 at 19:53

Monday, Aug 22, 2011 at 19:53
Pete... I bought one (Pajero IO). Have a look at my full post further down. Bonus is that the daughter gets her licence in 2 years time and she's already eyeing it off.
By then I will be ready for something newer perhaps.

Fab.
FollowupID: 737075

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, Aug 22, 2011 at 21:17

Monday, Aug 22, 2011 at 21:17
2dr or 4dr Fab, let us know how it performs.
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 737089

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Aug 23, 2011 at 06:44

Tuesday, Aug 23, 2011 at 06:44
Pete,
I went the 4 (or 5) door. Manual. I went over the thing VERY thoroughly and the thing drove really well. No vibration upto 130kmph, braked well and straight under extreme braking, the 4WD engaged easily and all windows, door locks, heating, lighting etc worked. Body is straight with no corrosion, or bird fallout stains.

Checked that everything functioned well and that it mechanically performed well too.

My list of things to fix before the final exchange were......

blown globe on front dome light
A/C was cool...but not cold (re-gas)
slight rattle from rear RHS (exhaust hanger rubber had perished)
small chip in windscreen

Under body was clean and straight and no leaks. The car, although clean, was not suspiciously clean like it had been detailed so it appeared very genuine.

Will let you know once I get a few kms on the clock.

Fab.
FollowupID: 737119

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 10:07

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 10:07
Don't forget to consider a Nissan Terrano II 2.7 TDI.
They punch well above their weight & you will get plenty of change!
AnswerID: 462228

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 12:38

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 12:38
I missed these in my search. Not bad and seems to tick all the boxes. Thanks Shaker.
Fab.
FollowupID: 736047

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 12:43

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 12:43
Mine had done 400,000km when I sold & still used no oil or water & pulled like a horse.
We towed a Track Eagle camper trailer all through the High Country & the Outback with no problems.
FollowupID: 736049

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 13:02

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 13:02
There's one here in Adelaide not far away so I might go have a look after work. The styling on the front is a bit.....umm....interesting.
Fab.
FollowupID: 736053

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 14:20

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 14:20
Bull bar makes big difference, I fitted an ECB.
FollowupID: 736057

Reply By: rooster350 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 11:30

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 11:30
No rude guffaws thanks...but we have just bought a 2004 Ssanygong Musso dual cab ute with canopy...2.9l 5 cylinder diesel turbo charged Mercedes motor , Ford 4 speed auto box...has plenty of room in it, sure it may be a bit slow...but it travels quite comfortably at the legal speed limit, the ride is very comfortable and the fuel consumption is very reasonable to quite good (that is documented in other places)...we have not had time to test it fully yet as we have only just got it...the price for the condition that it is in was very good , so good that one of my friends reckons that we got a bargain...it was roughly around your budget ...cheers
AnswerID: 462240

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 12:40

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 12:40
Hey rooster, nothing wrong with that. The ute body isn't quite what I'm after but I'm not shy of deviating away from the main players providing there's not bucket loads of negative experiences on Google or the like.
Fab.
FollowupID: 736048

Reply By: Tommo66 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 20:30

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 20:30
i've got an 03 pathfinder (R50) thats just coming up to 240K, it's been an excellent car, looking at putting a Tough Dog suspension kit under it as the original is getting a little tired, all i've ever done is regular services and change timing belts at 100K, we haven't done a huge amount of off road but what we have done has been handled well by the Pathy, goes well on the sand (auto)
although I'm told the ride in the back is a little stiff according to the whinging teenagers : )

Tommo

AnswerID: 462294

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 20:17

Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 20:17
G'Day Tommo.... there's a couple of Pathy's around here that don't look too bad. Have taken the details and will visit them this weekend.
Thanks....makes a difference to hear a first hand recommendation.
Fab.
FollowupID: 736173

Reply By: Penchy - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 20:54

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 20:54
Hi Fab,
Everyone has given you some very good choices of vehicle, but I myself tend to lean toward the 2.8 turbo deisel Patrol. Fuel consumption is respectable, there are plenty of quality cars in your range and parts are everywhere for these things if something should go pear shaped. I thought when I bought mine that it is too big, but it doesnt feel that big after a while, and better to be too big than too small in my opinion. You can get good and bad cars of all models so choosing one is definately the hard choice. Best advice is to buy through a dealer that gives a warrenty period. All the best.
AnswerID: 462296

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 09:42

Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 09:42
Cheers Penchy. I haven't given up on the Patrol yet. The missus thinks it may be too big for her to drive (she'll only occasionally have to drive it). And at 4 foot 8, she might be right. She has a Captiva at the moment and she struggles to park that....mind you, it has the turning circle of Jupiter.

What attracts me to them is the availability of parts and accessories, the diesel aspect and the styling.

Will keep you all informed of what I choose....nothing worse than not knowing how the story ends and don't want anyone to feel like they've wasted their time replying.

Fab.
FollowupID: 736134

Reply By: RedCherokee - Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 09:47

Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 09:47
Don't forget the Cherokees!

A search for Jeeps in SA shows quite a few available in your price range. The Cherokees perform well off road without being 1st choice for serious hard core stuff, and are pretty good on creature comforts for the rest of the time.

Hmm, There are a few old CJ's there as well. Maybe I need a toy........
AnswerID: 462316

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 20:20

Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 20:20
G'Day RedCherokee,
Yep I noticed heaps of cheap Jeeps. I was told once (not sure how reliable the info was) that Jeeps....the 4.0 litre ones are thirsty as hell and that parts are expensive.
would be nice to hear otherwise because you're right...there are plenty to choose from arond here.
Fab.
FollowupID: 736175

Follow Up By: Penchy - Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 20:41

Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 20:41
speeking of Jeeps, there are loads of deisel landrovers available as well. Not as big as a Patrol, but harder to find parts. Take your time and you will find one with front and rear bars, draws and cargo barrier. I heard it cheaper to buy parts from the UK than here, but I wouldnt know first hand.
FollowupID: 736177

Reply By: G.T. - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 12:11

Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 12:11
Landrover series 1 Tdi Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 462642

Follow Up By: G.T. - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 12:13

Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 12:13
Opps! Landrover Discovery Series 1 TDI. Regards G.T.
FollowupID: 736456

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 13:03

Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 13:03
I'm still looking....and this is harder than I thought.

So far I've considered the Pajero io - put off by the lack of aftermarket accessories available eg: nobody makes a Bullbar for these anymore. Have tried ECB, TJM, ARB and genuine.

Jeep Cherokee (2002-2003) model. Loved the car/size/price etc but have heard too many stories that have left me questioning their reliability.

Looked at a few Jacks ... her indoors thinks they are starting to get a bit on the big side. Same goes for Pajeros. Don't even mention Patrol or L/C... they were met with stern looks as if to say "you're kiddin' right?"

To be honest, and excluding the likes of Daihatsu, Kia, Hyundai and the others low cost imports, there's not much out there that fits my criteria.

I would love to have someone come back and tell me first hand how awesome the KJ Jeep is. It means stretching the budget by a few thousand but for a low km unit like this one, I wouldn't mind.

Jeep KJ Limited with Low Kms

AnswerID: 462650

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 16:58

Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 16:58
As I said earlier, Terrano II will do everything you need, it has one of the best small TDI diesels in Australia. Only accessory that isn't available is a snorkel, but the Ford Courier snorkel fits.
FollowupID: 736485

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 20:20

Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 20:20
Shaker, I admire your passion and I wish I could see beyond the styling issues. I have no doubt they are a great car however, sooner or later it will be sold to upgrade (hopefully) and I can't help but think that the depreciation is going to be significantly impacted by the fact that it appears as though Ray Charles was the chief engineer in charge of Styling at Nissan, perhaps before he defected to Ford for the AU project.
Fab.

Terrano in SA with Bullbar
FollowupID: 736503

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Aug 22, 2011 at 19:49

Monday, Aug 22, 2011 at 19:49
OK...just to tidy up loose ends...here is how the story ends.

Terrano...the styling killed it for me.
Jackaroo ... missus didn't like the styling (I thought it was OK...she also said it was getting a bit big).
Jeep KJ.... suprisingly small luggage area. Too small.
Pajero IO .... bought one. Way more luggage room than the bigger looking Jeep.

I drove to Vic today (there and back in a day). Found a 5 door manual in White over silver, one owner, never pranged, only 130K on the clock, was bought by the service manager of the Mitsi dealership for his wife. Always serviced bang on time by the same dealership. Only very occasional dirt road driving.

Fits the budget and the garage and the missus likes the look of the baby Paj. "Love that car". Now the fun begins...it's stock as a rock so it's time to get creative. :)

Thanks all....apprecaite the suggestions...it certainly opened my eyes up to quite a few models I had never even looked twice at.

Fab.
AnswerID: 463273

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Monday, Aug 22, 2011 at 20:14

Monday, Aug 22, 2011 at 20:14
Congratulations Fab. They a good small 4WD. You will probably find that it will do all you want it to.
Kevin
Kevin

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 737079

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Aug 22, 2011 at 20:22

Monday, Aug 22, 2011 at 20:22
Cheers Kevin....like I said it needs a bit of peronalisation. Brain storming already but I'm thinking..(in no particular order).

Alloy front bar with the best lights money can buy (limited holiday time means we often leave late and travel well after dark).
Towbar ...just for light stuff.
Roof Racks and roof pod.
Tinted windows.
Deep dish floor mats.
Underbody bash plates.
Fit my existing HF and UHF radios.

That'll do for now.

Fab.
FollowupID: 737081