Camping next to the Diamantina

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 10, 2011 at 23:38
ThreadID: 88401 Views:2846 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
Hi everyone, Just looking for comments from people who have camped next to the Diamantina at Birdsville especially at Race time. I have a bit of information from the Visitors Info Centre but also looking for views from those who have been there & done that. Thanks in anticipation.

Reply By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 05:31

Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 05:31
Apparently, you will need rat traps as they are prevalent there at the moment. The Caravan Park are baiting them in an attempt to lower the numbers.
Boulia is having the same problem.

This information is from confirmed reliable local sources.
DW
AnswerID: 462308

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 12:51

Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 12:51
Only camped in Birdsville 'van park a couple of times, but did live next to the Diamantina, further upstream, for 22 years.

Plenty of old campsites in the channels just out of Birdsville, towards the race course, so it might be a case of "first in-best dressed" type camping. There was a large transportable ablution trailer, at southern end of 'van park, & outside it, that gives one free showers etc.

Just a word of warning!!! There is a small plant that loves the channel country, Marthaguy, or Bogan Flea, and if it is in the dry stage, can cause some grief with any clothing, towels, sox etc that may get dropped on the ground. Also clings to jeans, joggers too. Clear your campsite, or if you get there early, then pick a clear one.

The problem with Marthaguy is the seeds-lttle round balls about 3-4mm that break up into many, many little burrs that stick to any material, which means most clothing.

Otherwise, enjoy the races. If you drink enough, you won't be worried about a few little burrs......

AnswerID: 462324

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 20:19

Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 20:19
Cheez Bob, what did you have to tell them about the Bogan Flea for? It's more fun watching them find out about it on their own.
Boy is it good this year?
ARe you having fun - I heard you got a job.....
FollowupID: 736174

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Aug 12, 2011 at 07:58

Friday, Aug 12, 2011 at 07:58
Don't worry, Ruth, there'll be plenty get caught.
We've even got heaps in our back yard at times. All good up here, Linda working hard, and my retirement only lasted 3 months!!! Been driving the grader back at Brighton last 3 years, and do casual driving for Hillman's Transport over the warmer months. Being casual I just wander off for a day or a week, whenever I feel like it. And always plenty to do in the shed at home too.

Hope you two are going well?

FollowupID: 736194

Reply By: Member - John L (WA) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 21:31

Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 21:31
Went to races in 2000 & reckon I can still find a bogan flee in the Old Mans socks! If its really green and looks like lawn then it aint. Camps directions are either half a carton or a carton out from the pub.
Enjoy. Heather
AnswerID: 462359