Electric brakes and deep creek crossings ?

Here we are sitting at the cvan park in Weipa
25c or here abouts at the moment.

Think that it's been freezing down Wonthaggi way, and we are warm as.
Today we have booked a tour of the mine, and this morning have some maintenance to do on the Patrol, no filter problems any more, just some routine nut and bolt checking, and I may adjust the electric brakesonour Trak Shak.

We are heading out on the Batavia Downs Road tmro, and have the first of a few creek crossings, on our way tp the "Tip"via the Old Telegraph Track.
We intend doing many of the crossings, but will not risk damaging anything, for the sake of beong "mucho".

Am wondering if it is advisable to disconnect electric brakes, on our Trak Shak, and leave them disconnected during all the expected creek crossings, or just drive as per normal.

Do dot want anything shorting out. !
Or
Is it any dirrerent to towing and braking in heavy rain ?, just a lot wetter.
Or have I done it again, and answered my own question ?

Reply By: Member Ray M (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 08:48

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 08:48
Hi Bucky
My son just got back from Cape yesterday and although he didn't drive the Telegraph Track, he did drive in at various places just to check it out and reckons your first challenge will be Palm Creek just after the junction as it is torn up by the "Gung Ho Gang " in their tricked up fourbies.
What he saw of the track was ok, just the crossings are slowly being destroyed.
He found a great camping spot on the Jackey Jackey.
About 19 ks after the Jardine ferry look for a track on the right and travel in for about 3 ks, fresh water lagoon with nice sandy beach, also reckons Chilli Beach was an absolute jem and worth a weeks stay there
Safe travels
Cheers Ray
AnswerID: 462480

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 09:42

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 09:42
Hi Bucky,

Just leave your electric brakes connected, 12v cannot conduct in fresh water and your brakes will work fine, even underwater! ... well the electro-magentic side anyway, the actual stopping of wet drum brakes is a different story!

But you may want to spray a squirt of WD40 or similair on the electrical junction joints as long term corrison is the bigger issue with water. If your brake magnet wires to trailer wiring is well sealed this won't be a major issue, but many trailer brakes are simply connected by cable connectors with no sealing and this is where corrosion starts. Then down the track people wonder why their brakes no longer work as well.

AnswerID: 462483

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 19:03

Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 19:03
Not only will 12 volts not conduct in fresh water, it won't conduct in a muddy bog hole either. (Certainly not to the point it would blow a fuse or cause any damage) You have it in one Captain by saying the issue will be poor electrical connections long term.
Only electrical items on a car to be concerned about in water are old style coils/leads & HID light ballasts which run at far higher voltages.
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 736394

Reply By: CSeaJay - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 10:17

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 10:17

I do not know the mechanical/electrical reasons, but what I can say is that I leave mine connected and have never had a problem including two trips to Cape, doing the OTL and all creek crossing in both directions.

You will love the Cape, don't miss too much on the bypasses. Many people do only the bypasses and miss SO MUCH. All the magic is in the OTL. Yes Palm and Gunshot are are reoded, but at least have a look and maybe try them. (Palm going north is doable, just get a gentle pull (not snatch) up the northern bank which is muddy and slippery)
CJ
AnswerID: 462486

Reply By: Member Andys Aussie Adventure - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 10:22

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 10:22
Did the telegraph track last year, and the very first crossing at Palm Creek will be the worst, It has steep entry (see photo) and a muddy exit,otherwise the track is easy untill Gunshot, which you can bypass if you have a trailer. After that I would not recommend a trailer

AnswerID: 462487

Follow Up By: CSeaJay - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 10:56

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 10:56
Andy
From Gunshot northwards up to the bypass road I reckon I'd pull a trailer with a 2wd ute!
I cannot understand on the one hand you recommend doing Palm, and on the other you say not the rest.
Yes the northern part of OTL can be hard with a trailer, but a well setup fourby and offroad trailer with clearance will be fine
CJ
FollowupID: 736286

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 11:03

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 11:03
Dont tip that foto any more
It scares me !

Hehe

We have been into heaps of places with our setup, but not deep creeks soI guess that will be the unexpected that will be the challenge.

The new Air Lockers may get some use ( hope so)

We approach everything with caution, sum up the situation, and then make a decision.

FollowupID: 736287

Follow Up By: Member Andys Aussie Adventure - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 11:36

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 11:36
Hi CJ, I agree the track is good from the north side of gunshot to Eliot falls, but after that it will be a challenge to get to the Jardine. It can be done, no doubt about that, look at the Gall Boys towing a caravan up the tele track and across the Jardine river. As you say it all depends on the set up. Cheers Andy

FollowupID: 736288

Follow Up By: CSeaJay - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 12:25

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 12:25
Andy

You tilted your photo since I last saw it!
FollowupID: 736292

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 07:57

Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 07:57
Bucky!! I usually just drop the brake gain to zero on the controller, no power to the brakes when you apply them. When over the crossing, just increase the gain again to dry them out as you brake!! Hope you have a great trip!! Michael
AnswerID: 462540