Sunday History Photo / SA

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 03:03
ThreadID: 88723 Views:4155 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Leigh Creek (formerly Leigh's Creek) is a coal-mining town in the north of South Australia. On the edge of the desert, to the west of the northern Flinders Ranges, the current town is 13 km further south than the original town it was moved in 1982 to allow the expansion of the mine. This means that most facilities and buildings in the town are only a little over twenty years old, and with relatively modern designs.

The area was named after its first settler, Harry Leigh, in 1856. Coal was discovered and small quantities mined from 1888 The town to support the mine at that time was called Copley, after William Copley, an MP and Commissioner of Crown Lands. However the coal was not mined in a significant commercial manner until 1943 in an effort to make South Australia more self-sufficient for its energy needs, with less dependence on New South Wales. The premier Thomas Playford saw the need to be seen not to rely on interstate energy if he was to attract business to South Australia.
The brown coal mined from the open cut mine is transported 250 km by rail to power stations outside Port Augusta on the east side of the top of Spencer Gulf. The coal occurs in several nested bowl-shaped seams, each several metres thick. The coalfield at Leigh Creek is operated by the NRG Flinders and currently produces over 2.5 million tonnes a year of coal. NRG Flinders also operate the power stations at Port Augusta which produce up to 40 per cent of the electricity generated in South Australia.

The development of the Leigh Creek coalfield raised the question of cheap and efficient transport from field to power station. When Playford A was built, the narrow-gauge line was the only means of transport. Late schedules and derailments were the order of the day. The Commonwealth railways decided to rebuild the line for standard gauge and save 13 miles of construction and many steep gradients by taking it out of the Flinders Ranges and along the western plain. The South Australian government was not happy about this but agreed to the route after a royal commission.

The new line reached Brachina in May 1955, and the problem arose of how to transfer goods from this line to the standard one. The Commonwealth Railways solved it with its unique "pick-a-back" railway. Narrow-gauge trucks were shunted up a ramp to where standard-gauge flatbed wagons were fitted with narrow-gauge tracks and locks to hold the trucks securely. The very first pick-a-back was a consignment of coal from Leigh Creek to Port Augusta. The practice was discontinued after a new line to the Leigh Creek coal loading bins was completed in May 1956."

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 08:45

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 08:45
Hi Doug,
well I have learnt something new again. Although I knew about the mine and moving of the town, I had never heard of the "pick-a-back-railway". That would have been something to see.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 463680

Reply By: blue one - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 08:47

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 08:47
Same Fred,
Never heard of a train like that.

Thanks Doug.
AnswerID: 463681

Reply By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 09:13

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 09:13
Good one again Doug.

And a pleasant surprise to again see the expression "pick-a-back". I thought it had disappeared since morphing into "piggy-back" due to sloppy use of the language.

AnswerID: 463684

Follow Up By: Bob R4 - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 13:32

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 13:32
Another good one Doug, thanks.
With regard to the dragline, my great uncle helped assemble the dragline when it was commissioned, and operated it for the next 30 yrs. It is an interesting machine in that it is electrically driven, and is a walking machine. It doesn't have tracks as a crawler type machine has, but has two "feet", and a large circular foot underneath, upon which it swivels (or slews). To travel along the "feet" are engaged, and picked up by the pulleys or wheels seen on the sides, and rotated forwards, and then settle on the ground. The continuing rotation of the pulleys then lifts the whole macine up, rotates it forward and settles it on the ground. Repeated cycles gets it places, probably about 6 feet per cycle. Change of direction is achieved by slewing the macine when it is on its base before the next "step" is taken.
Next time you are there, have a look at the construction, and it becomes clear how it all works. I reckon it would raise a smile to see it in action.
Thanks for your Sunday offerings, I always look forward to them with anticipation
Cheers, Bob
FollowupID: 737546

Reply By: happytravelers - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:44

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:44
Thanks Doug

We visited Leigh Creek in July and had a look over the old drag line on display, it's a huge machine and when inside is like being in a large building. There is also an old dump truck tyre on display that holds a mileage record of 289000km travelled before it was replaced. If only we could get that sort of mileage out of car tyres.
Thanks for your informative articles on Sundays, I always look forward to them.

Regards Jon
AnswerID: 463713

Reply By: Fab72 - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 18:56

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 18:56
Doug,
This could not have come at a better time.

We stayed in Copley last night on our way home from Birdsville. Over dinner at the local pub the converstaion came up about why the Leigh Creek Hotel was actually in Copley. As history would have it, and as you pointed out, the town was first settled by Harry Leigh and subsequent points of interest were named loosley after "Leigh". They included Leigh's Creek, Leigh's Hotel, Leigh's post office, Leigh's store and so on. When the town was officially gazetted, it was decided by the buearacracy of the time to do away with all reference to Leigh, and subsequently the name Copley was officiated.

My (late) father worked at Leigh Creek...the original one, blasting and carting rocks way back in the early 50's. I have heaps of photos that he took and the township is nothing like it is today, foregoing the fact that it is a new town. The original town was not much more than a workers camp with little or no facilities for families. And although I can't confirm this, there's a fair chance that the original town was not set up to accomodate for families at all.

Of the original township, all that remains is the cemetary and church/chapel. The rest has been reclaimed by the mine.

These days, comprehensive coach guided tours are available from the tourist info centre totally free of charge and the level of detail it goes into is brilliant. And watching the coal train rumble through Copley and Parachilna is an awesome sight.

Thanks again Doug....you've excelled again!

Fab.
AnswerID: 463731

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 23:05

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 23:05
Fab72
This is the hotel you stayed in. I took the photo back 13th Nov' 2004.

FollowupID: 737623

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 07:20

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 07:20
That's the one Doug. We actually stayed in the Copley caravan park which is a short 3 minute walk away...but that's the pub we had dinner in.

It hasn't changed in the last 7 years either. In fact, it was refreshing to see a country pub that hadn't been molestered by the likes of the latte' drinking crowd.

The evening special was a snitzel with cheese, bacon and onion. Not some grain fed chicken breast litely grilled and filled with asparagus and fortified boconcinni cheese and served with alfalfa sprouts.

Fab.
FollowupID: 737628

Reply By: Gotlost - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 20:39

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 20:39
i spent the first 6 years of my life there in the 1960's Dad worked in the coal mine as did his father, my Grandfather is buried in the old cemetery, the Grandfather also owned several business's in town as well as looked after Aroona Dam and the sewage farm, i believe also he was the resident undertaker.

AnswerID: 463742

Reply By: B1B2 - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 20:45

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 20:45
G'day Doug,
Nice one, it was the 'Pick a Back' railway that I had never heard of like most of the others. I suppose the narrow gauge wqs 3'6" moving to 4'8½".

AnswerID: 463743

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 22:11

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 22:11
Thanks for that info Doug, I, like the others hadn't heard of the term as "pick-a-back"

I always look forward to your SHP. Keep them coming.

Hope all is well with you.

Cheers and Thanks Again.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 463758