coleman retro- junk- ?alternatives

Hi all, need to replace our rechargeable camping lantern with some form of alternative. This is the THIRD (believe it or not- should have given up after two) Coleman Retro lantern we have bought and they all fail the same way- great the first two uses but then fail to hold charge, fail to charge from the 12 volt cord,fail to hold charge after being plugged into 240 volts .I did a quick internet search and found a product review site with many people complaining about this very same lantern- looks like it is a dud product. So - anyone out there have a recommendation for a good rechargable lantern style(ie stands up on its own) light? We have a Coleman dual fuel light which has been fantastic, however it broke this weekend too. Will have to see if we can get it repaired. Thanks, doc.,

Reply By: Road Warrior - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:17

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:17
We've got an Arlec 3-stage one, it has a little white LED night light in it and you can light up either 1 or both fluro tubes in it. Works great and has never failed us even after leaving in the cupboard for 6 months and then charging it.
AnswerID: 463719

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:18

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:18
This is the one here:

Arlec lantern
FollowupID: 737565

Follow Up By: oz doc - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:39

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:39
Hi RW- thanks for that suggestion. Apparently available at Bunnings so will check them out. Have you charged yours from the 12volt socket? How long did it take to charge up? ta, doc.
FollowupID: 737570

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 17:49

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 17:49
Hi mate I can't recall if I have...I don't think I have...it comes with the obligatory 12V cigarette socket charging cable and being a little battery it wouldn't take long I would imagine. Doesn't take long on 240V and the 240V uses the same input socket as the 12V (there is a transformer/powerplug unit that breaks it down from 240 to 12V)
FollowupID: 737579

Reply By: Member - Hillel K (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:30

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:30
Hi there I have found the Primus lights to be the best-they have battery type and rechargeable led lanterns and have found them to be the brightest and to have the best burn time.Tried copies and found them not as good.
AnswerID: 463721

Follow Up By: oz doc - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:40

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 16:40
Hi HK, do you have a particular model that you can recommend? doc.
FollowupID: 737571

Follow Up By: Member - Hillel K (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 20:09

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 20:09
Hi look at the Primus Nova max 300 led and the Nova max 400 rechargable
FollowupID: 737600

Follow Up By: oz doc - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 20:29

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 20:29
Hi Hk, just had a look at one of these this afternoon- the 400. Looked good. Any idea how good the battery is? doc.
FollowupID: 737603

Follow Up By: virginia - Thursday, Sep 01, 2011 at 21:02

Thursday, Sep 01, 2011 at 21:02
I've got the Primus Nova max 300 and it is the best light I have ever had! I just put rechargables in it and you could leave the lamp on 3 days! I've found its heaps brighter than any rechargable lantern. I used to be wary of anything with batteries but this light is so good! Reckon its the brightest around
FollowupID: 737934

Follow Up By: oz doc - Friday, Sep 02, 2011 at 07:52

Friday, Sep 02, 2011 at 07:52
Thanks for that Virginia. I have given our coleman dual fuel a tickle up and it is currently working however not at its best. I see the parts I need are no longer available so I think it is on its last legs. Following numerous suggestions I am charging and discharging the coleman retro to see if this makes any difference(before I chuck it in the bin) and the other half has just bought a led Energiser from Woolies to get us through for now. I'm tossing up between led head lamps and the Primus as the long term solution to our problems and was very impressed by the Nova when I has a look at it inthe camping store.Your comments are much appreciated. Might have to put it on the wish list before we go away in October. Cheers, doc.
FollowupID: 737950

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 19:17

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 19:17
Ozdoc,

Why do you specifically require a rechargable lantern?
We have a Coleman lantern that runs on 8 'D' size batteries.
Must be about 10 years old now and still going strong.
I originally bought it because I was fed up with the mantle going on our old gas lantern.

The fluroescent tube (ours is an older single style) gives out a reasonable light in two intensities, plus an amber night light.

We use ours specifically for internal tent/camper use and the batteries last absolute ages.

External lighting is from 12 volt vesalite lighting which suits us perfectly.

AnswerID: 463735

Follow Up By: oz doc - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 19:32

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 19:32
Hi Bill, I guess it doesn't have to be rechargable however I do want it to be a lantern style torch. I have tried a battery one in the past and it chewed through the DD's like there was no tomorrow. We have a range of lighting in our camp setup. Like you we run two versalights off the camper; we have the dual fuel coleman(which I am trying to fix now), and usually a couple of hand held small torches. The rechargable lantern we find complements the setup and is great for sitting on the table at mealtimes. If there is a good lantern style option which takes batteries I would certainly look at it, depending on its battery usage. Ta, doc.
FollowupID: 737591

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 21:10

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 21:10
Hi Doc

What about this one.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SUNREE-3W-CREE-Q3-LED-Adjustable-Lantern-Camping-Yellow-/130536061654?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1e648e3ad6

Being a cree light - very bright but low power use.

Serendipity

AnswerID: 463750

Follow Up By: oz doc - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 21:38

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 21:38
Hi David- that one looks the goods. If I am reading it right- the 3 D cells give 50 hours maximum light output. By the way- where did you get the strip lights that are inside your camper- you did tell me but I forget. doc.
FollowupID: 737612

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 22:25

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 22:25
The strip lights inside which are just white lights I purchased from eBay for about $3 and they are about 500mm long.

The dual white / yellow strip light over the kitchen I purchased from the ExplorOz shop but I see they have gone up in price. Most shops now sell the same dual LED strip for about the same price. I did look around tonight on the net and found one selling a bit cheaper. While it is a great light I think that is a bit much. $99.

We have given up on a portable lantern these days. I have a long extension cord light duty for a 12v light or just use torches or headlamps.

Serendipity

FollowupID: 737621

Reply By: Member - Stanley D - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 05:49

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 05:49
Dear Doc,
I am in the market for such lighting for my forthcoming trip. I was was advised by the guy at BCF that if you purchase such a lamp (any) as those spoken about, one should charge them up and leave then on to exhaust the battery, about three to four times before you wish to use it for camping. Apparently the batteries 'remember' and as a result will not hold charge for long- same as cordless drills and the like! Hope that this helps,
Regards, Stanley
AnswerID: 463766

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 14:30

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 14:30
After a couple of dud rechargeable lantern types I gave up on them..now use the hand held/magnetic led type & just stick them up wherever light is required. I have some round ones, about 10cm..cost $5 at junk shops, & some rectangular ones,
about 10 by 6 cm..about $8 ea...all run off AA batteries...lasted a month last trip.
You could use rechargeable batteries if you wish. We still cause some amusement at
campsites by using a candle in the first empty stubbie, with an inverted clear plastic
bottle over it...childbride finds it very romantic at dinner..:))))).....oldbaz.
You do know to cut the bottom off the bottle..dont you ?
AnswerID: 463791

Follow Up By: oz doc - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 21:24

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 21:24
Hey Oldbaz- just because we are camping there is no need to go without some of the essentials eh?- like a bit of romance! Just as important as taking time to smell the roses.doc.
FollowupID: 737693