Mid west wildflowers

Planning on spending a few days around mingenew, mullewa, yalgoo, paynes find area in mid september chasing Wildflowers. Any hints on locations would be really appreciated and I'll return the favour with a heap of photos post trip. Also any suggestions of good camps or carvan parkd to base out of would be handy. I'll also contact the local visitor centres.

Will.

Reply By: new boy - Sunday, Sep 04, 2011 at 10:55

Sunday, Sep 04, 2011 at 10:55
Yesterday did a crop inspection Geraldton ,Tardun ,Mullewa , Yuna, Geraldton
they are awesome at this stage the predicted 3 m illion tons for the area will happen.
Plenty of wildflowers all round Mullewa didnt go to Pindar but several years ago 10 ks north there were plenty of wreath flowers we were also told of some in a gravel pit near Tardun . Camping no 378 camps 5 Morawa Mullawa rd looked a nice spot pretty central and at 4ish 5/6 vans camped there the old Tardun hall was ok to not gassetted but couldnt see anyone complaining.
Coalseam park has a nice spot I think it,s a pay and you might need to book
Hope thats a bit of help
AnswerID: 464173

Follow Up By: jvb1 - Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 12:35

Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 12:35
Hi new boy,
We are heading through Geraldton in two weeks on the way to Coral Bay. I was hoping to stop off somewhere to show my girls the wild flowers. Are there any close the the great northern highway or do we need to turn off? I was hoping to stop for a cuppa at about the Kalbarri turn off (or close) to show them. After growing up out of Wubin I would like to show them some off what I saw.
FollowupID: 738141

Follow Up By: new boy - Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 18:59

Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 18:59
Hi jvb1
End of August we also came back from Exmouth plenty of everlastings just north of the overlander on the main road no detour needed hopefully the ground is wet enough to keep them going till you arrive.Also have your cuppa at the Galena Bridge only 20ks past Kalbarri turn off .Go to the north side of the river plenty of everlastings there weekend before last also good parking for what ever your towing.
Tip on Fuel in Carnarvon KCD is the cheapest turn left at the T junction about 1k its the first servo on your left unleaded use the forcourt diesel go round the back ie as you turn in and come towards the front the bouser is on the town side of the station plenty of hose so doesn,t matter which side your fill is on.
The Caltex is fully operational again after the floods so if food is required you can go back there on your way out of town.
FollowupID: 738181

Follow Up By: jvb1 - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 09:27

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 09:27
Hi newboy,
Thanks heaps for that.
FollowupID: 738230

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Sunday, Sep 04, 2011 at 17:10

Sunday, Sep 04, 2011 at 17:10
We just got back from out that way about half an hour ago.
Coalseam is good but it was packed, and you have to pay to camp if you can get in.
I reckon the best place was Canna.
There is free camping 2km up Canna Rd off Wubin-Mullewa Road. There are wildflower spots just before the train line to the left, to the left after the train line about 6km past the shop and another behind the church in Canna. There were a lot of people camped next to the church too but was pretty crowded.

AnswerID: 464185

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Sunday, Sep 04, 2011 at 18:38

Sunday, Sep 04, 2011 at 18:38
I just posted a thread with a link to some phots the Mrs. took over the weekend if you want a look.
FollowupID: 738089

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Sep 04, 2011 at 18:11

Sunday, Sep 04, 2011 at 18:11
having both visited and worked near those areas in a good year like this years supposed to be

I find the question wherte the best spots are a bit funny

its not a matter of finding a good spot but trying to find a spot which isnt spectacular is the hard bit

im off next weekend to visit the old haunts
AnswerID: 464192

Reply By: Member - Rowdy6032 (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:27

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:27
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundHi

We arrived back last week but were mainly further east.

Towards the Paynes Find end of the Sandstone Rd there were some good displays of flowers.

On the northern end of Goodlands Rd (between Wubin and Mt Gibson) there were wreath flowers. Overnight camping about 8klm's from the hwy along Goodlands Rd.

Petrudor Rock off Pithara East Rd had some good yellow orchids. Still a little bit early here as many flowers were starting to open. Overnight camping.

We didn't get to Camel Soak but on a prior occasion there were plenty there. Overnight camping.

It's been a good year. Plenty of budgies and weiros also.
AnswerID: 464372