Long range fuel tanks

I have looked in the archives on this subject and got a little worried about how many of you have had bad experiences with these tanks including leaks and cracks.

As someone said it beggars believe that car manufacturers don't have the same problems as aftermarket tanks. Yet the aftermarket guys have access to the same technology.

Has there been any improvement in the past 12 months? Who would you recommend?

I am weighing up whether to get one for the Isuzu Dmax I intend to buy.

Reply By: Member - Andrew C (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 14:17

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 14:17
Hi BooBoo
I have had a 140ltr tank in my Dmax for 12 months now with no issues the only think that took a bit of getting use to was the fuel gauge doesn't move off the full mark for about 600kms once you get down to the last 70ltrs the gauge works as normal.
Aluminsed steel tank from Opposite Lock
The only person to get everything done by Friday was Robinson Crusoe

AnswerID: 464342

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 17:56

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 17:56
G'day Andrew

Nice to hear the Dmax is still going well. I must rememberthe fuel gauge trick.

What sort of range are you getting not towing and towing?

FollowupID: 738277

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew C (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:24

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:24
Yep still going well BooBoo,
Around town up and down the freeway I get around 1300kms out of the tank that would be 125Ltrs or 9.7ltrs per 100kms took the van up to Jurien last weekend so towing touring and off road average was 14.6 ltrs per 100kms so that would drop the range back to 900kms from the full 140ltrs just averages I try to never let it get past the 1/2 on the gauge if possible before refuelling
it will still take around the 90 ltrs at the half mark on the gauge.

FollowupID: 738285

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 08:59

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 08:59

Thanks mate.

The towing figure is good compared to my current 17/100.
Thats my troopy towing our 900kg van.

I reckon I'll get 12/100 with the Dmax.

The range is just what I want.

I just looked at the fuel stops I will need from Adelaide to Scone and it's 5. With the LRT it would be only one.

No more planning a trip around garages.

FollowupID: 738346

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew C (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 13:45

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 13:45
Hi BooBoo,
Christmas just gone we travelled from Ceduna to Coober Pedy on Christmas day, we also had two Jerry cans of fuel as well, but it was good to be able to do this without the worry of not being able to find a service station that was open. We were surprised how may were open but it just gives you the ability to travel when you want to.

our van is just a little heaver @1300kgs so 12/100 should be easy to achieve.

FollowupID: 738373

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 14:18

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 14:18
I've had the Long Ranger, Out of town 4WD, tanks on 'The Landy' (120 litre & 80 litre) since 2006 without any problems.

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 464343

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:00

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:00
That's good to hear, thanks mate.

FollowupID: 738278

Reply By: Member - Andrew C (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 14:19

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 14:19
Hi BooBoo
I have had a 140ltr tank in my Dmax for 12 months now with no issues the only thing that took a bit of getting use to was the fuel gauge doesn't move off the full mark for about 600kms once you get down to the last 70ltrs the gauge works as normal.
Aluminsed steel tank from Opposite Lock

AnswerID: 464344

Reply By: Michaeljp - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 14:27

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 14:27
Ive had a 125ltr Lone Ranger tank from Opposite Lock in my 96 hilux diesel for the past 10 years, with no probs what so ever.
AnswerID: 464345

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:02

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:02
OK, The Lone Ranger appears to be a good bet so far. Thankyou.

FollowupID: 738279

Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 14:51

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 14:51
It can be a bit of a minefield Boo Boo. As a bloke who's done a bit of damage to three leading brands (2 leaked and the rear mounts fell off a third...it didn't leak though!), I'd be looking for the robustness in construction. Reinforcing around major edge seams is crucial particularly on corners (Have a look at a Brown Davis tank compared to say a Long Ranger).

Baffle's will be another major consideration to ensure that your 160 litre doesn't slop around and also look at the mount construction. I've had a big 165 litre tank fitted to the ute and had them double the rear mounts with extra plate and gusseting.

In us on most normal road conditions, and perhaps a bit of gravel road driving, you will probably never encounter any issues with an after market tank. Prolonged use in the rough stuff with constant vibration, then accessories take a pounding and can fail. With the iconic outback tracks getting more and more traffic, a good manufacturer should revisit the strength and robustness of their products to ensure that can withstand the rigours of outback travel.

As to mainstream vehicle producers, they don't go for high volume unless it can be built in securely in the first place. Keep it small capacity (no more than 90 litres) and your production costs and later issues diminish.

AnswerID: 464347

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:11

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:11
Thanks Mick

I had a look at Brown Davis tanks and they appear to be well built.

I'm a sealed road bloke with not much off road work, so I shouldn't think vibration and rock dents will cause me any problems,,,,well I hope not anyway.

You make a good point regarding the smaller original tanks... never considered that.

Thanks for your help.

FollowupID: 738280

Reply By: Oldman - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 15:50

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 15:50
I have had an Aux tank fitted to my PAJ and it is the best mod I have had done in some ways.

However not without problems.

My exhaust had to be moved to the other side and does rattle a lot but that could be due to the bash plates.

The other problem is the gauge does not work properly it does not show the status of the tank and often shows green when empty and red when full, I have had it checked but no joy.

Apart from that it has been a great mod, particularly if you tow a van.

AnswerID: 464359

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:18

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:18

I do tow a van and it's the main reason I would like to get a long range tank.

As an example we are going to Broken Hill later this year and I haven't got the distance in the tank to go more than about 430km at a time which means I sometimes have to fill up at 200km to ensure I can get the distance,,, if that makes sense.

FollowupID: 738281

Follow Up By: Oldman - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:55

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:55
Boo,
Exactly my thinking before I got it. I did not get 400 some times but I now can drive a whole day on a tank without having to stop for fuel.

Also when going your way last year we hit a head wind and fuel consumption went through the roof.

The extra tank allowed me to go with some confidence.

We got a LRA tank but the problem was probably with the install.
I live with it because I know roughly how much I get out of both tanks.

You are doing a replacement ? So do not have to worry about pumping fuel to main tank.

I had my suspension upgraded for other reasons which helped with the additional weight but over all good mod to do, you will not regret it

FollowupID: 738290

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 09:02

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 09:02
Thanks Richard

It's looking better and better.

FollowupID: 738347

Reply By: Member - hopbush - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 16:42

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 16:42
I have a 140L Long Ranger under my Hilux....lots of bumps knocks and scrapes over the worst the bush can throw up but never a problem or a leak.
Bought my vehicle secondhand and the only related issue was when I went to do my suspension a couple of years ago the front shackle bolt on the left side had the nut on the inside and the fuel tank had to be removed to remove the rear spring. Experience is a great teacher.
Tony
AnswerID: 464362

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:22

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:22
Thanks Tony

I'm now pretty much convinced that I will fit a LRT as soon as I get the Dmax.
FollowupID: 738284

Reply By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 17:30

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 17:30
Well, we are about to find out! Just fitted a 180 litre Long Ranger sub-tank to the Troopy and in 1 week will be heading West on some very corrugated roads.
On the last trip broke two spring leaves, but didn't know it until we got home, so here's hoping.
The lasting qualities of Lennie's grading has not been too good!

AnswerID: 464368

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:30

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 18:30
G'day Al

Nice to see your smiling face.

I'm sure you will enjoy your trip and the reduced number of fuel stops. I know I will

If you are going all the way to the west coast try the Cape Leveque road Lennie probably graded that one as well. LOL

I'm now going to do a bit more reading and pricing.

Thanks mate.

FollowupID: 738287

Follow Up By: Member - DingoBlue(WA) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 20:14

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 20:14
Young Al,
Will be heading East on the Gunbarrel in a few weeks time. If you see an absoultely amazing, 'top of the range' two tone '60 series Sahara, it's probably me!!
Rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy!

FollowupID: 738300

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 21:43

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 21:43
Hi Boo Boo, Well we won't be going far on Lennie's roads this trip. But have been on the Cape Leveque road a couple of years back and I know what you mean about corrugations there.

Hi DingoBlue, We were on the Gunbarrel last year but this time we are heading from Birdsville down through Woomera to the Nullabor and finishing at Esperance, then up through the Great Central Road, Mt Dare, Simpson and Birdsville to home. So I guess we will miss you. But I sure would like to have seen the Top of the Range Sahara. Maybe next time mate.

FollowupID: 738320

Follow Up By: Member - DingoBlue(WA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 18:44

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 18:44
Hi Al,
Sorry your going to miss out... but as you say, there's always next time.
p.s. don't forget to recalibrate your dipping stick to kilos so you know exactly when you're going to run out of fuel!
Have a great trip
Rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy!

FollowupID: 738391

Reply By: Dion - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 21:37

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 21:37
Of the two RA Rodeo's I currently own, both are fitted with long range tanks. The older '03 is fitted with a Brown Davis tank (fitted pre delivery) whilst the younger '05 has the ARB Long Ranger tank.
Considering what both Rodeo's have been punished with, structurally both tanks are ok, albeit a bit dented on the bottoms. The Long Ranger tank in the '05 started to drip a bit, nothing structural, the clamps on the flexible in the filler had loosened, so I tightened them upp and no signs of any further leaking.
Must have been back in 2000 or 2001 with my R9 Rodeo, when I was looking into a long range tank, I had looked at the tank supplied by Opposite Lock, based on $$ fitted vs. fuel capacity. I had paid a deposit, must have been $100, before it was ready I went to see them about something else and asked about the availabilty of the tank I had put the deposit on. I also asked about the drain plug, where it was positioned, and was it magnetic? I was informed that the tank did not have a drain plug, they could see the look of dismay/dissapointment I had, and asked if I still wanted to go ahead with it. I replied I'd rather not if it didn't have a drain plug, OL, bless them offered me my deposit back. They may not have been obligated to do that, but as they did, I did spend the $100 str8 away in the store on other goods and then went looking elsewhere. I ended up with a 4WD systems 125L tank, and had no probs with that one, although I only had that Rodeo for 3 years.
I suppose one of these days, when I'm low on fuel, I might pull the drain plug out and see what comes out (other than diesel). With the '03 being @ 185000km, another 15000km wont hurt I guess.
Dion.
AnswerID: 464391

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 09:06

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 09:06
Thanks Dion

I will put the magnetic plug on my criteria lis.

FollowupID: 738348

Reply By: asmithy - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:07

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:07
hey boo boo,

i have a 125lt in my 2002 rodeo d/cab and have had it in there since new & have had no issues.

tank was purchased from tjm (long ranger)!

cheers,

AnswerID: 464396

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 09:09

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 09:09
Thanks mate

A LRT will be the first accessory fitted.

FollowupID: 738350

Reply By: mountainman - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 22:22

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 22:22
oldman,
your problems seem to me to be the float has been put on the wrong side of the sender for it to show full when empty and empty when full.
me personally made my own long range tank, vdo guage and sender and took two attempts to get it reading right.
this was my own personal experience and can only suggest something.
removing the tank is a pain but you can wire it all up without the sender in the tank, just need to earth it up and run power to it.

sorry for hijacking thread but couldnt leave a personal message.....
AnswerID: 464467