Travelling Australia

Submitted: Friday, Sep 09, 2011 at 21:03
ThreadID: 88928 Views:2460 Replies:9 FollowUps:0
I am thinking of travelling australia on a working holiday with my family. Can anyone give me some advice on how to pick up work along the way ? I am a qualified Bobcat operator who has run my own business for the past 6 years, I am a hard worker who is mechanically minded, good with my hands & can build just about anything. My wife is cert III trained in childcare & has done family day care for the past 10 years. We have a 7 year old daughter to consider as well. Any help or information, links to websites would be greatly appreciated. Any searches we have done always come up for back packers. Thanks Les

Reply By: Member - Ian W1 (QLD) - Friday, Sep 09, 2011 at 21:25

Friday, Sep 09, 2011 at 21:25
Hi toyotarules, you could start with this one: http://www.workaboutaustralia.com.au//index.html

or http://www.outbackhelpersscheme.com/index.html
Good luck & enjoy!
AnswerID: 464607

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Sep 09, 2011 at 21:27

Friday, Sep 09, 2011 at 21:27
Hi Les,

A good idea would be to ring around ahead of where you plan to travel and ask for jobs. Many jobs are not advertised on the internet.

6 years ago I was Maintenance Manager of a central Australian resort, and if I had a vacancy I would have, and did, hire people with your skills and work ethic in a flash, short term or long term. Skills are in short supply. Plenty of work for backpackers too though generally backpackers are only good for pouring beers or making beds, useless at most practical things, I don't think you will have a problem. Can't really help with your wife's skills, not sure.

AnswerID: 464608

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Sep 09, 2011 at 22:25

Friday, Sep 09, 2011 at 22:25
Hi Les

I havecollected all the useful links here, plus general advice on getting work around the block.

Finding Work

I hope this helps

AnswerID: 464610

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Friday, Sep 09, 2011 at 22:28

Friday, Sep 09, 2011 at 22:28
G'day Les,

My wife & I travelled for a couple of years and got many offers of work which on most occasions we turned down because we had more travelling to do.

I am a Fitter Machinist by trade so can pretty well turn my hand to anything mechanical like you. My wife like yours is cert III trained in childcare. My wife got 2 stints of 6 months work in family crisis counselling in the Alice & we both did a bit of work on a station in the Kimberley for a while. I was an allround fix it man & my wife looked after families visiting & staying on the station.
I also got offers of work from contractors to the mining industry.

Don't think you or your wife will have trouble finding work given both your skills.

Enjoy your trip of a lifetime!

Stu
AnswerID: 464611

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, Sep 10, 2011 at 07:29

Saturday, Sep 10, 2011 at 07:29
Hi Les,
My wife is an experienced childcare worker. She is often asked if she will relieve centre managers in smaller, more remote towns for a month or so as these people have great difficulty getting holidays unless they close the centre.
Just make sure she carries all the documentation, including police checks, and calls into centres along the way. You may be surprised.

OKA196 Motorhome.
AnswerID: 464619

Reply By: edwin - Saturday, Sep 10, 2011 at 08:12

Saturday, Sep 10, 2011 at 08:12
hi les just get out there mate, dont worry about finding work before you go.once you take the step of actually leaving, its easy and work will come when you need it and want it.travelled australia twice now,about 3 years each time, there will be times you will be looking for work and other times when you keep getting asked to work and arent ready, just go with it and you will find yourself working in some interesting places and probably some bleep holes too but you will have some amazing experiences and stories to tell, its all part of the adventure, trust me les dont worry about work ,for people with your skills and work ethic there are always jobs.
we found ourselves work in torres strait, arnhem land, cape york, darwin ,groote island,broome,port douglas,the list goes on and on,,from aboriginal and remote island communities,cattle station work,mines ,tourist resorts both remote and cities.
just go for it and enjoy yourself seeing this beautiful country
ed
AnswerID: 464621

Reply By: Matt & Caz - Saturday, Sep 10, 2011 at 13:37

Saturday, Sep 10, 2011 at 13:37
Hi toyotarules (yeah they do!! - go the 80!!)

We travelled Oz for 18mths with the kids - BEST experience ever, Matt is a mechanic and I am a massage therapist - we both worked whilst travelling, I did a little massage but also worked as a cleaner/receptionist at a caravan park, Matt worked as a mechanic and also tried his hand a fruit picking. The first and 2nd lot of work Matt did whilst I home schooled the kids, the third time we stayed in one place for 6mths so the kids went to school and I worked school hours

We found the best way to get work is to knock on doors and get in peoples faces, there is heaps of work out there, you just need to find it.

Caz
AnswerID: 464636

Reply By: toyotarules - Saturday, Sep 10, 2011 at 20:14

Saturday, Sep 10, 2011 at 20:14
Thanks guys for all the info, greatly appreciated. I was just unsure on how to get myself out there so people know I'm looking for work. We are looking forward to getting on the road.
AnswerID: 464646

Reply By: Trailerparkscotts - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 22:58

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 22:58

My husband is an exfarmer and I am a qualified childcare worker. I managed to get employed by a childcare company and they are really good enabling me to transfer from state to state.

We have also used a free advertising website to find work.

www.gumtree.com.au

We have placed ad's and replied to ad's. Make an ad with exactly what you have told us and you will probably get a response.

We have also signed up to job agencies (skilled etc, some do labour hire and this is good for short term work)

I have just put up a thread looking for travelling/working companions. It can be hard to fit in 2 work schedules with children we have found. It is ok when you can take the child to work (childcare) or work in school hours, but this does not always happen.

We have taken our time and managed to stay in the same spot for 1 term for our oldest child (only pre-school/kindy). Our next part of our trip will be a bit faster as we are planning to follow the harvest trail.

Good luck and enjoy, we are 4 days of hitting the road again and we are all counting the days, hours and minutes!!
AnswerID: 465957