Fuel Prices Today

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 13:40
ThreadID: 89034 Views:2186 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
Anyone have any idea why fuel in SE QLD went up 14c a litre in some places?

Currently paying $1.50 per litre at my local servo. Was $1.36 yesterday

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 13:58

Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 13:58
Hi Darren,
Simple, we have a government to reliant on the taxes it collects from fuel.
Oh, and a fuel commissioner that is useless.

You'll also get many other reasons for the hike, from demand, dollar being strong, Wars, what ever horse manure they want to feed us. On the radio the other day one commentator mention the rise is due to no competition because Caltex/Woolies and Shell/Coles can charge what the like.
Unfortunately mate, the price of fuel will only go one way and thats up.

Jon

AnswerID: 465081

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 14:23

Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 14:23
School holidays start tomorrow.
AnswerID: 465084

Follow Up By: Rob! - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 13:36

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 13:36
Yep. School Holidays
FollowupID: 739146

Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 14:57

Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 14:57
Rubbish......the price fluctions like this have absolutely nothing to do with governments - State or Federal - it is all about what the oil companies think the market will stand.....that is they put the prices up because they can and you and I will keep buying......
AnswerID: 465087

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 16:03

Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 16:03
Hi Patrol22,
I was being sarcastic about how rudd when he was PM, was banging on about how he, the fuel commissioner would come down hard on companies in instances like this.
Why would a government doing anything, even if they could?

"that is they put the prices up because they can and you and I will keep buying"
That's right, we don't have a choice.
FollowupID: 739052

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 18:05

Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 18:05
Agree with you in regard to the petrol commissioner - window dressing and a waste of money. But price fluctuations are the result of free markets, and in this case the end of the discounting period no doubt (still seems a high differential). If you think the price is bad now give it a decade and you'll be screaming blue murder. Once the global financial crisis eases and countries get back to growth the price of oil will take off again. No doubt many will berate govts for not doing anything to improve energy efficiency and find alternative energies - oh wait a minute that's precisely one of the aims of a carbon tax. Never mind, the malcontents will demand that the fed govt subsidise them at the expense of pensioners and the disadvantaged no doubt.
FollowupID: 739064

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 19:50

Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 19:50
it should actually be closer to $1.10 bearing in mind the strong Aus$ - electricity, banks, local council rates and fuel all gouging the $$$$$$ for all they're worth - because they can. Essential services. No choice but to pay it and up it goes.......

Is it any wonder retail is suffering?

FollowupID: 739077

Reply By: Member - John Q (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 20:00

Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 20:00
Brisbane yesterday (Wednesday) unleaded $1.539
Toowoomba yesterday $1.309
Goondiwindi, Moree, Walgett all around $1.499 or slightly below.

If you can figure that out you are pretty good!!!!!

just crusin & smelling the flowers

1. At Halls Creek (Is he really lost?)
2. East of Cameron Cnr

AnswerID: 465123

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 21:02

Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 21:02
Hi John,
No consistency to it is there?
7 weeks ago, $1.459 for diesel in Grafton(BP), filled up before heading to Springwood QLD, Spent the weekend there, On the way home at Yatla, the BP on the left, $1.489. 300k's difference. It has always being the other way round.
This had been the case for the last few months, it's been cheaper here in Grafton then QLD.

And another thing, Why is it that the price always ends in a 9? $1.429, $1.459, $1.499, I guess it's because $1.50 doesn't sound as bad as $1.499. LOL

FollowupID: 739093

Reply By: Rangiephil - Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 20:16

Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 20:16
Last night in Kincumber and Erina on the NSW Central Coast it was 126.5 for unleaded 91 after 4c off..
Incredible that we are now cheaper than Qld! I remember when Qld was 10 cents cheaper.
AnswerID: 465127

Reply By: Fab72 - Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 20:30

Thursday, Sep 15, 2011 at 20:30
14 cent jump overnight for no reason? I thought that was normal.
Happens every week here in Adelaide.
$1.49 here at the moment and our school holidays are still a few weeks away.
Fab.
AnswerID: 465129

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 03:20

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 03:20
time to scrap the guzzling petrols and go Diesal

finally sanity is in the pricing and ive been seeing Diesal up to 10cpl cheaper

currently 8cpl cheaper at my local
AnswerID: 465146

Reply By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 08:37

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 08:37
The answer is simple SCHOOL HOLIDAYS start today.
Remember the governments that encouraged us to go diesel because it was cheaper? and then up goes the price. Now the successors to those governments have spent millions of our tax dollars talking us into going LPG and from next July they are going to tax us on what we purchase. Then the state governments encourage big companies to take our LPG out of our country and sell it overseas so the state can get more in royalties.
Stop the world I want to get off. But I still have to drive to get there.
PeteM from downtown Toolakea Beach near Townsville.
AnswerID: 465156

Reply By: landseka - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 09:20

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 09:20
Here is the 'official' reason, it must be true it is in the paper.

AnswerID: 465160