Rats/mice around the Cooper Ferry, Birdsville etc??

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 18:46
ThreadID: 89102 Views:2534 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
Just been reading some posts from a couple of months ago about this subject and was wondering whether there is any further/up-to-date news in this regard, please?

I'm getting too bloody old to have my ear chewed by a damned rodent during the night!!!! hahaha

Thanks in advance for any reports; we're heading up that way next Saturday.

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:00

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:00
Hi Roachie

They are still there. Make sure you leave the bonnet open overnight to stop the little burgers from chewing anything. The cruise with Peter is a must do, as well as one of the Helicopter flights with Paul. Also make sure that you bring in your fire wood, as there is nothing there.

To have less trouble with the Native Rats, there are some very good camp sites on the southern side of the ferry crossing.

Have a great time.

AnswerID: 465398

Follow Up By: Witi Repartee - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:34

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:34
Hmm...don't rob Peter to pay Paul...lol
FollowupID: 739430

Follow Up By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:37

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:37
Roachie,
I will be out there also on Saturday or Sunday, might bump into you.
FollowupID: 739432

Follow Up By: Roachie.kadina.sa.au - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 20:02

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 20:02
G'day Mick,
We're planning to camp at Lyndhurst pub on Saturday night and head to Marree and then maybe Coward Springs on the Sunday.....will backtrack to Marree and then head up the Birdsville Track a couple of days later.
Our convoy will be about 6 vehicles; 2 of us will be towing Ultimate Campers, but I'm not sure what the others are towing (if anything).
Hope to see you up there maybe.
FollowupID: 739434

Follow Up By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 22:10

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 22:10
I will keep a eye out for you but I hear you have gone to the dark side (toyota).We will be coming from Camerons Corner on Saturday then on to Marree. Hope to get a flight out of Marree then on to Birdsville over the next couple of days. I will be in the Patrol towing a green camper trailer travelling on our own. Cheers Mick
FollowupID: 739449

Follow Up By: gordon_adel - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 23:03

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 23:03
Was out in cowards sprints in June. Bloody things all over the place. And William creek, frig me the mice would run across a burning log.

Had to laugh at one bloke though. He wanted to sleep on a cot under the camp kitchen (william creek). Told him the mice would eat his ears off. He politely told me I had no clue. Was funny as hell hearing him scream 3-4 times that night.
FollowupID: 739454

Reply By: Member - Graham N (SA) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:38

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:38
Hi Roachie,
We were up there last week and they were still there. We seen them almost every night we bush camped through S.A, N.T and QLD.
Just do as Stephen said leave the bonnet up, keep food scraps away and we used to put our rubbish bag in the vehicle over night.
They do not seem to want to chew through anything that hasn't got any flavouring in it. That is if you drop a bit of sauce, gravy or cooking oil on your thongs and leave them out they will chew them.
You certainly should not let them stop you from heading that way. Any way they are easier to see than mosquitoes or flies.

Graham
AnswerID: 465404

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:53

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:53
Hi Roachie,

There were heaps thru the Simpson and prob 1 dead on the track every 5k's or so, I had a pair of sunnies and a mate had his thongs chewed.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 465407

Reply By: ian - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 22:47

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 22:47
Roachie,
just spent 2 weeks birdsville, Simpson, hay river.
Looked everywhere and saw only 2 small native mice and they were cute. Can't speak about the ferry area, but I think that this is a bit over-blown. I can tell you though that I saw lots and lots of brown snakes. They might give you more than a nibble.
AnswerID: 465431

Follow Up By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 19:51

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 19:51

These the little critters
FollowupID: 739527

Follow Up By: gordon_adel - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 20:03

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 20:03
Looks to me he was probably just a wee bit thirsty :)
FollowupID: 739529

Reply By: Member - Blaze - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 10:30

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 10:30
Gda Roachster,

You will be fine mate, just feed em with some green pellets so when I get there in 2 weeks they will be feet up... LOL No worries about leaving the bonnet up, u should remember no one will steal a Yota motor :-)
AnswerID: 465457

Reply By: Carroll - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 12:22

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 12:22
We camped on the South side of the Cooper 2 weeks ago about 2km east of the ferry. As soon as the sun went down they were out in numbers. First night they kept us awake scratching the tent. Second night I spread some crushed weetbix in the bushes away from the tent - no scratching. Enjoy
AnswerID: 465464

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 17:06

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 17:06
G'day Bill
Please post the results when you return ?
We hope to visit there in about four weeks.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 465489

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 18:56

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 18:56
hey Roachie, what's another rat? Hee hee.
AnswerID: 465588