Queensland Caravan parks owners

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:22
ThreadID: 89104 Views:4829 Replies:10 FollowUps:22
The caravan parks in Queensland coastal towns allegeled have been scaring people who are staying in council approved rest areas at or near the towns. Allegeled they are banging on the sleeping peoples caravans and or motor homes late at night and saying Allegeled they are from the towns council and they must go. This is scaring the life out of people who are in a deep sleep, They allegeled stick a list of the names of the caravan parks in the town on the vehicle. The Queensland Tourism Minister in many interviews says that the Govt........ is not going to close Freedom of free or rest areas but there will be a fee attached to these camp sites as there is in National parks with there self registration and payment.but allegeled the Caravan Park owners do not like this and allegeled the Caravan park owners are trying to force tourining people into there caravan parks.
If you have been a victim of this harassment please give me a pm do not post it here as you will be critised for free camping
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

Reply By: Nomad Navara - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:33

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 19:33
I have not been accosted yet,however there will be an exchange of dialouge if I am.
AnswerID: 465403

Follow Up By: stoney123 - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 07:25

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 07:25
lol!!
FollowupID: 739463

Reply By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 20:15

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 20:15
It's very interesting that if caravaners free camp (or more correctly, bush camp) taking business away from caravan parks, it's a deadly sin, but it's perfectly ok for them to have cabins and take business away from motels !!!!!!!!!!
Maybe motel owners should be knocking on caravan park owners doors, at night, complaining.
Neil
AnswerID: 465413

Follow Up By: Member - Peter E1 (VIC) - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 10:05

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 10:05
I agree. After spending the last month on the road it is becoming evident a lot of parks are putting in cabins to the detriment of tourist sites. They may find they have bitten the hand that feeds them as they price themselves out of the cabin market. If a few enterprising people do a make-over on some of the small motels and keep the price reasonable they might win over the travelling market.
Some of these cabins are about $120+ per night for a family, and that is off peak.

Interesting that one of our tv celebrities has lambasted free campers but is ok with his park increasing the number if cabins in competition with local motels.
FollowupID: 739474

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 20:54

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 20:54
I live in an area that has this problem. Their is a nice place along a river that caravans and would park on the grass next to the river, blocking the view from everyone. This site was on a web site as free camping. But after many times I saw the hose from their waste water going straight into the river and their are no toilets and some of these vans did not have toilets in them, they just went into the bush. This was a place where families would go and fish and have picnics in till the ground turned into mud from the vans and parking on the grass. A caravan park owner had complained for 2 years to council to have this stopped. It was only until I took photos of several vans and sent them off to the EPA before the council acted. ( they were sent a letter from the EPA as to show cause why not to be fined for breach of the EPA act, as they where informed of the problem and did nothing about it. They spent no money in the town, just left their rubbish,dumped their waste water into our river turned our grass field into a mud bowl. But 1 klm over the bridge and their is a large paved parking area for boat trailers, has water, toilets bbq but not the view so won't use it WHY, Because they cant dump their rubbish or waste water into our river. I harassed many of them if they where destroying my backyard.Camp in an area that is suitable. And car parks at the beach are not suitable as their are no toilets, and I ask you, what's the first thing you do in the morning ??

AnswerID: 465418

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 21:29

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 21:29
Hi AA

Like anything, there are always a few inconsiderate people who spoil it for the rest of us. Are many of these you see rubbishing this spot the smaller hire campervans (the ones without toilets)?

Obviously, if a car park is signed No Camping then it is up to the authorities to enforce these regulations. Many beach carparks have toilets, but are signed as day area only or no camping. I have seen youngsters in hire campervans in places such as these 'stealth camping'.

FollowupID: 739440

Follow Up By: kidsandall - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 21:35

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 21:35
And car parks at the beach are not suitable as their are no toilets, and I ask you, what's the first thing you do in the morning ?? ....................................
.....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................WAKE UP............
FollowupID: 739441

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 07:13

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 07:13
Hi motherhen, No it was large caravans and motor homes. The smaller hiace vans use the right place as they are overnight stay only. Some of these vans would stop for a week go away for awhile then return. They are drifters Their were no signs before but are their now, and has stopped the problem. Now we all have the million dollar view, not just the blow in. All our toilets on beaches are locked after dark, so can't be used at night where do you go.. On the beach.

FollowupID: 739460

Follow Up By: Rob! - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 10:26

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 10:26
Andy,

Deliberately or otherwise, you are confusing two different issues.

One is that those caravaners are illegaly polluting the area, the other is that caravan park owners are harassing people to get their business.

The fact that in your case, only the caravan park owner cares about the pollution, makes it appear that the extent of the problem is not as great as you would like us to believe.
FollowupID: 739475

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 12:30

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 12:30
Hi Rob, Just to clear up things, the caravan park owner did not worry about the pollution, he was trying to get the council to move them on so they would go and stay at his park up the road (500M). It was I that had had enough and contacted the council, then the EPA. Only when the EPA got involved did the council do anything about it.. they did not come to the caravan park they just found another place. But if you are camping in Qld then why would you want to go to a caravan park when you can go to a NP for $5 pn. In NSW it is a bit different, NP is anywhere up to $17 pn so a caravan park is cheaper. And just another point if the caravan park owners where causing that much disturbance, there is a law that deals with this and they would find themselves in court.

FollowupID: 739483

Follow Up By: Rob! - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 15:06

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 15:06
Right. So you don't live in an area that has the problem of caravan park owners scaring free campers.

But you live in an area where campers pollute the riverbank and more importantly block your view.

It's a good thing you let the EPA know.
FollowupID: 739492

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 15:25

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 15:25
If people are polluting or otherwise harming the environment they need to be educated into correct practices at the very least. If they are camping in an area against signage, action needs to be taken by the relevant authorities. Someone "playing Ghosties in the night" is a foolish, illegal and possibly dangerous practice which will not result in any improvement of the above issues.

Mh

FollowupID: 739494

Follow Up By: Penchy - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 18:33

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 18:33
No Motherhen, if people are polluting and harming the environment, the very least they should get is a dirty big f*** off fine. My backyard or not, I see a couple of grey nomads polluting a river with their waste, there will be some heated words exchanged and a call to the local police. It is lazy and irresponsible and premeditated. It gives a bad name to the people that do things the right way. Good luck to anyone that chooses to wake me from my slumber claiming to be council reps to get me to move on. Thats just my 2 cents
FollowupID: 739513

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 10:20

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 10:20
Andy, why not tell us where you are talking about? Let's put some credibility around some of these allegations.

FollowupID: 739582

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 17:57

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 17:57
Hi Fred, I live at Dunbogan NSW 3klm from Laurieton 35klm south of Port Macquarie. The site I am talking about is on Diamond Head Rd and is 1 klm from Laurieton. It is a section of Diamond Head Rd (1/2 klm) that runs along beside the river. It now has poles up to stop the vans using it.

FollowupID: 739623

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 19:34

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 19:34
Thanks Andy. As I'm just down the road, (sort of). I know exactly where you are talking about, and good onya for bringing it to our and the authorities notice. Has been a beautiful area for many years, and as always, some selfish, uncaring DILLIGAF boofheads have spoilt the area for all other Aussies to enjoy.

Problem is, these boofheads will just go and destroy another prime free camp.

I never have a problem telling these boofheads exactly what I think of their actions. However, as previously stated, they are the DILLIGAF boofheads, and just keep going about their selfish ways.

Fred.

FollowupID: 739629

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 19:48

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 19:48
So true Fred; the inconsiderate ones will do the same thing somewhere else, while the considerate ones are shut out of places they would look after, keep clean and even clean up. It is just moving the problem around while disadvantaging the considerate majority. The inconsiderate minority will probably break down the barricades to get there anyway.

Mh

FollowupID: 739630

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 20:40

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 20:40
MH I know this topic is close to your heart, as it is mine. You & the old (lol) Rooster would be considered among our bush camping guru's here, given your experiences and knowledge on the subject.
I can't get away from the mentality factor of these persons.
As they usually reply when confronted..."Tell someone who cares."
Doesn't that tell it all?

Fred

FollowupID: 739642

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 21:11

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 21:11
Hi Fred

The same selfish mentality that litters the highways, and all manner of antisocial behaviour. I can't understand people thinking like that (or perhaps that is it - they are incapable of thinking).

Mh

FollowupID: 739649

Follow Up By: kidsandall - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 23:14

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 23:14
Fred G and Motherhen, the thing that annoys me is if this happened in their front yard they would want you hung for it but it's ok for them to do it else where. Like the maggots that steal from others, they would be irate if it happened to them. They really don't have the abillity to think.

Josh
FollowupID: 739654

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 10:35

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 10:35
Hi Josh - I tend to think that they must live in an appalling filthy mess if this is how they behave away from home; they don't know the difference. If you a right, perhaps we should ask them for their addresses and say because we might be looking for somewhere to pitch a tent and stay for a few days when in their area LOL.

Mh

FollowupID: 739667

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 14:06

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 14:06
If caravan park owners are so desperate for business that they will get up in the middle of the night to undertake a risky occupation which could result in arrest or personal injury, to harass people who will never be their customers, they should sell up and go an work for someone else. They will never ever succeed in any business.

AnswerID: 465474

Reply By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 15:13

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 15:13
There is so much in this tread that is "alleged" that I am surprised that it got a response. How about facts.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

AnswerID: 465480

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 09:57

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 09:57
Nah, always get in the way of a good story! The lynch-mob are out for a hanging, seemingly any caravan park owner in Queensland will do.

I'd like to know whether we are talking about one, ten, or a hundred caravan parks. a reference to an article or the facts might give the original post some credibility.
FollowupID: 739580

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 15:20

Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 15:20
That is a very broad statement, the Queensland Coastline is thousands of kilometres long and dotted with caravan parks all the way, are you talking about one caravan park, ten, or hundreds. Let’s not tar them all with the same brush...

But the big issue for many of these parks is that the very council they pay fees to for all kinds of council services fail to stop people camping just down the road for free, in many cases without facilities and which the ratepayer is expected to foot the bill. Wouldn’t you be dirty on the council?

There is no such thing as free camping in and around town or cities, the ratepayer pays.

And don’t read this as a criticism of ‘free camping’ it has its place and is one of the great experiences Australia has to offer... nor as an endorsement of these 'alleged' tactics, but there are a number of factors in this debate that are often overlooked in the quest for soemthing 'free'.
AnswerID: 465481

Reply By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 07:48

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 07:48
I reckon that allegeled isn't a real word :-)......Anyway, it doesn't take many bad apples to spoil the bunch/barrel in either the free campers or camp owners. I can't imagine too many crazed camp owners on the rampage, perhaps driven insane by financial pressures and constant contact with the public...that'll do it you know. :-) As for the campers, it's not too much of a stretch to imagine a proportion of them doing the wrong thing and spoiling it for everyone. The constant barrage of this minority would force the councils to close areas off quick smart. Cheers Mike
AnswerID: 465533

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 08:51

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 08:51
That is a serious allegation and should be taken up with the local Police.

On the other hand I nearly came to blows with one of these free campers at our local beach the other day when he was dumping his waste water into the park.

Anyway that's given me an idea of how to get rid of the free loading bludgers from our area.

AnswerID: 465538

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 11:13

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 11:13
We often get people free camping right in our driveway. So I can understand where these caravan park owners are coming from, if in fact the story is even true, which i suspect might not be..
I'll always point people in the direction of a free camp when it's too early in the day to stop here, and they are travelling another 50 or more km's from us.
AnswerID: 465545

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 20:56

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 20:56
"We often get people free camping right in our driveway. "

So what's your response to that scenario ? LOL

I realise there is a business aspect involved here, but also a precedent has to be set.

A lot of these selfish people expect/demand free water, toilets, washrooms etc yet are reluctant to spend 2 bob in your shop/town cause they reckon it's too dear !!

I know what it would be if they camped in my driveway without prior arrangement.

Fred.
FollowupID: 739646

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 09:03

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 09:03
G'day Fred, I always have a go at them for camping there, it's downright rude!
Also these same people, who yes, as you say, never spend a cent, and want everything for free, would scream blue murder if places like this had to shut the doors due to lack of support.

Al
FollowupID: 739664

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 12:40

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 12:40
I’ve followed the general RV / Caravan Park story with interest because it is going to have a substantial impact on tourism infrastructure in this country. And worth noting, with the Australian dollar at current levels, the higher proportion of people travelling overseas and less inbound tourists, we are likely to see substantially less capital investment in tourism infrastructure in any case.

The issue is there has been a fundamental shift in what a caravan park is today, what it offers, and the price at which it can do this. On the one hand, increasing land valuations, and council rates means that they can no longer survive the old style model of mum and dad and the kids holidaying for 4 weeks a year at $10 per night. To attract a wider audience they have had to make substantial improvements and become resort style parks, providing a wider range of holiday inclusions apart from a toilet and shower block. For some they have been able to make this transition, for many (perhaps most) it hasn’t or won’t be financially viable to do so.

On the other hand a developing RV industry, that has sold people on a complete package of vans and vehicles that can self-support for extended periods, are not willing to pay the price required to stay in the caravan parks, but they still have a requirement to be able to service their vehicles in terms of black and grey waste, and replenish supplies, and in some cases provide an area where they can stay and have ‘safety in numbers’.

The RV Association has been quite vigorous in terms of its promotion of the benefits to local councils and the need to be an ‘RV Friendly’ town in order to gain their support. This means providing services that are in many ways are in direct competition to caravan parks, but based on a model of ‘rate-payers’ subsidise our costs on the basis we will spend money in your town. I’m not sure what studies have been done on the cost/benefit of this, but I suspect there will be a huge discrepancy between towns based on their size. The larger centres that provide access to the major super market chains, and a large number of service stations providing price tension might do okay, especially given the cost to rate-payers is spread over a larger number, but the story for smaller country towns might be completely different.

Ultimately, there is likely to be a declining investment in caravan parks generally, and pressure will increasingly be placed on local councils to provide facilities for RVer’s in general, but I doubt this will continue to be offered on a no-cost basis. I’m not sure what the model will be going forward, but caravan parks as we know them will all but disappear overtime, and eventually the cost burden of this will shift to the RV community...

But I suspect until the ‘new’ model can be worked out the divide between the vested interests will simply get larger, and the vocalising on both sides will get louder...

Caveat...I’m neither an RV’er or Caravan Park owner...

Good luck out there...
AnswerID: 465644

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 13:49

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 13:49
Hullo The Landy

Another thoughtful and thought provoking input from you, creating a broader context for discussion - thank you.

It seems to me that only a relatively small % of the population thinks beyond their immediate actions to the longer term consequences.

The above discussion is just another example of the "I'm alright Jack - stuff you" approach - littering, selfish generation of noise, vandalism, wrecking tracks, encroaching on personal space, abuse of private property and so on.

A study from some time back that I have seen indicated that about 8% of the population are anti-social, in this case (in the report) responsible for about 70% of road incidents.

FollowupID: 739674