ARB Fridges
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 22:22
unners
Thinking of getting an ARB fridge, mainly to use as a freezer. All the literature seems to bang on about having a separate dairy compartment. I don't need this in a freezer so was wondering does food still freeze as
well as in this section.
Any experiences?
Reply By: olcoolone - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 12:28
Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 12:28
Most fridges have a small dairy section usually above the compressor, the dairy section has no cooling coils and relies on a bit of cooling from the main fridge area.
The dairy section is only a couple of litres at best so your not going to loose heaps of fridge/freezer space.
Reply By: Jack - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 12:41
Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 12:41
If you had read all the "literature" regarding the ARB Fridge, you would have read that the dairy compartment runs at about 4-5 degrees warmer then the fridge/freezer compartment. So.........if you run the ARB fridge at say -18 degrees, with a bit of basic maths, I reckon that is still below 0 degrees.
If all else fails......why not make a quick phone call to you nearest ARB store?
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 16:44
Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 16:44
Have a look at a Bushman.
We use it quite often as a frezzer and with the optional collar and lid it turns into 52 litres and does not have a dairy compartment.
Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 20:08
Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 20:08
Yes I am torn at the moment between a Bushman and the ARB 47 litre.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 06:38
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 06:38
Mate, we have had ours for about 6 years and its been in the back of the troopy most of the time and dragged into the various houses we stay in on our work trips and its been great.
I have also cut off the plug lead that goes into the fridge and replaced it with an anderson plug.
Also bought another lead so we can use it on 240v when we have to.
One trip to
Rockhampton I had it full of fish fillets and they stayed in the fridge for 2.5 days and were still as hard as a rock when I unloaded. This was during summer.
Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 10:11
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 10:11
Thanks Boo Boo. How do you find it goes with the domed lid and extension collars - does it still keep things cold (or frozen) up there? I've read a lot of stuff on the Bushman and it compares
well to the usual suspects, but I reckon the ARB fridge looks like a good unit too.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 11:05
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 11:05
RW
My wife likes to take everything with her, so I have always had the collar and dome lid on.
It surprising how much more will fit under that lid,, ask my wife she'll tell you. LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 11:08
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 11:08
Sorry I didn't answer the question,,,,yes it stays frozen at the top on -ve 18 degrees.