Great Central Road

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 20:45
ThreadID: 89167 Views:1569 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
Hi anyone been on the great central road lately? From WA to Alice. If so what condition was it in? I know roads can change daily but I am thinking of doing a trip across it with my van. I also know I will get some flack for even suggesting this but after seeing what the Kedron boys have done in their vans I am thinking of the adventure and will be well prepared. Have 9 or 10 mths to work on it.
200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The Crow

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:03

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:03
G'day mate, if it's 9 or 10 months before your trip then there's no point me telling you the condition of the rd now, because it will change, a lot.
W e have caravans across here all the time, it's easy enough, you just need the old saying, drive to the conditions.
AnswerID: 465698

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:22

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:22
only about nine days away for us, any of this rain getting up that way ?????
FollowupID: 739726

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:34

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:34
No mate, no rain here ( yet anyway) And hopefully the grader well be well on the way from Laverton.
Still some heavy corrugations in places, but mostly good.
See ya in nine days mate
FollowupID: 739729

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 22:38

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 22:38
Hi The Crow

Like any of the long inland dirt roads, there will always be corrugations, and long distances of corrugations will harm even the toughest rig eventually. It is a nice drive through some lovely country (you can see My Blogs 2008). A better alternative is the Gary Junction Road - even more scenic country and usually in better condition. A lot less traffic too, hence less corrugations (My Blogs 2009).

AnswerID: 465709

Reply By: Member - Stevo_62 - Thursday, Sep 22, 2011 at 17:18

Thursday, Sep 22, 2011 at 17:18
Just arrived in Kalgoorlie today from Boulia . The WA section is fairly good with a few corrugated sections . I'm in dual cab Rodeo so not sure how van would handle it , did see one trailer in trouble about 50 km west of The Olgas . On the good sections 100 km/h was comfortable but I slowed down to 60-70 km/h on some of the worse stretches .The corrugations on the Boulia to Alice section were worse . Wildflowers were amazing all the way .
Also make sure you plan an overnight camp at Tjukayirla , great burgers and great friendly service . Thanks heaps Al & Serena .
Also dont fuel up at Curtin Springs , $0.30 per litre more than Yulara
AnswerID: 465739