Camping near lake Eyre with a dOg

Submitted: Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 17:59
ThreadID: 89190 Views:3474 Replies:8 FollowUps:15

I just wondered if anyone knows of any camping near lake Eyre that allows dogs.
I noticed that Muloorina station might but I understand there are no facilities there but have to pay anyway.

Your thoughts/ suggestions?

Cheers!

Reply By: B1B2 - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 18:20

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 18:20
William Ck CP was ok for dogs.

AnswerID: 465819

Follow Up By: myaussieadventure - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 18:42

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 18:42
I'll have a look. Thanks.
Do you know what their fees are?
Also, do you know if we can take our dog to the lake? Even if we leave her in the car?
FollowupID: 739846

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 19:34

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 19:34
It's a national Park so their would be no dogs allowed. And to think you would leave it in the car. I like to see you sit in the car parked for 5 min and see if you are still alive.

FollowupID: 739849

Reply By: Member - Neville D (VIC) - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 19:30

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 19:30
why not leave the dog at a boarding kennel like most other people do so that everyone can have an enjoyable time without dogs yapping all night.
AnswerID: 465828

Follow Up By: dazren - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 20:03

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 20:03
I take it you know the man, and you know his Dog, Neville ????? as you know not all dogs Yapp all night, in fact 95% of dogs i have seen in my years of travelling, have been well behaved, so let's not'' look at the cover'' ?? and assume we know what the book is about dazren
FollowupID: 739852

Follow Up By: Member - Neville D (VIC) - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 20:24

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 20:24
I'M ENTITLED TO MY OPINION! DONT HAVE TO KNOW THE MAN OR THE DOG. AND AS FAR AS 95 % OF DOGS THAT YOU HAVE SEEN ON YOUR TRAVELLS BEING WELL BEHAVED, WELL DAZREN YOU MUST HAVE STRUCK THE ONLY DOGS ON THE PLANET THAT DONT BARK, CRAP OR JUST BE DOGS REALY. ALL DOGS BARK AT ONE TIME OR ANOTHER! SO DON'T LECTURE ME JUDGING A BOOK BY ITS COVER, IF THATS WHAT YOU ARE DOING MATE!
FollowupID: 739856

Follow Up By: B1B2 - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 20:33

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 20:33
G'day Nev,
People who are travelling for possibly months, will not (me) leave their dog in a kennel. I did a 2 month trip via Lake Eyre, and you find obstacles and NP's where you can't go, but I always find places that are ok and never had a problem.
My dog snores a lot, but not as noisy as some campers - including me.
Really no need to shout.

Take it easy,
FollowupID: 739858

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 20:48

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 20:48
Nev D

Your little 'unglued shouting episode' has just exposed the inside of 'your book' to the world.

Lovely cover, however totally void inside.

DD
FollowupID: 739861

Follow Up By: Member - Neville D (VIC) - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 20:54

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 20:54
Gday Bill,
I dont begrudge people taking their pets with them on their travels, have a dog myself, but we leave him at the kennels when we travel. That way we can go anwhere without restriction.
As I stated it was just my opinion. Wouldn't it be a boring world if we all agreed on everthing.
As far as the shouting, I'm a bit bad tempered and I don't like being and won't be lectured too.

Taking it easy
Nev
FollowupID: 739862

Follow Up By: Member - Neville D (VIC) - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 21:01

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 21:01
Dust-Devil

Your a funny Guy, so lets not get personal mate!
FollowupID: 739863

Follow Up By: myaussieadventure - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 21:32

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 21:32
Thanks for all that guys.
We are on the road permanently at the mOment and would like to see lake Eyre.
Our dog is our family therefore travels with us.
I raise the question because I was looking for sOme people who may have come across the same issue and wondered what other travelers have done.

Don't like being 'told off' when I'm just looking for some advise.
I thought this forum was to raise questions and share experiences to learn from others.
We have never actually heard our dog bark and she loves sitting in the car more then anything else. (obviously never closed windows)
It's just a shame about restrictions but there are people who ruin it for all the dogs and owners that do the right thing.

Anyway, we will check out William creek and perhaps speak to some locals.

Ps. We are currently in a caravan park with dogs at almost every second site and haven't heard a single bark all day! In my experience, i find kids to more noisy then dogs! Just my opinion :)
FollowupID: 739865

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 22:41

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 22:41
myaussieadventure,

We went to Muloorina at end of June, and I'd reckon your dog would love it. Stuff what Neville thinks.

Think it was about $10/night there, lovely area, plenty of big trees, and good toilets.Level Post Bay wasn't much, as water was some clicks out from the edge then, but at least we got to walk on the Lake, so was a good experience.

FollowupID: 739871

Follow Up By: muffin man - Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 22:54

Friday, Sep 23, 2011 at 22:54
Yeh bugger what Nev thinks. Why have a pet if you're just gunna dump them in the pound when you feel like it.
Do a google and I reckon the dog will be ok at Muloorina as it's private and not a national park.
Muffin Man
FollowupID: 739872

Follow Up By: Member - Neville D (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 08:45

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 08:45
Muffin Man,
Mate, you don't have to agree with what I think, I never said anyone had to. I was just giving MY opinion!
As far as dumping my dog in the pound, I said that I leave mine at the dog kennels ie Holiday Park for pets....try googling up dog kennels!
FollowupID: 739899

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 17:09

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 17:09
Thanks forumites,

I think we best stay on track and provide some meaningful assistance to then poster before this gets any further out of hand.

The Modsquad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 739952

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 05:29

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 05:29
Just check out EXACTLY (shouting) where the NP boundary is someone, and report back to us here?

OKA196 Motorhome.
AnswerID: 465857

Reply By: Ray - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 08:31

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 08:31
I must agree with a previous statement. KIds are a greater nuisance than dogs. Well trained dogs are a great asset and very faithful to their keeper. Kids on the other hand are noisy and always wanting more. You go into a shopping centre, screaming kids everywhere usually out of control. There should be "Kid Free Days" in these places and you will notice that there are no dogs to annoy you and a lot of other places should be kid free.
AnswerID: 465866

Follow Up By: myaussieadventure - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 09:29

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 09:29
Haha ray!
Have thought the same at times. I'd sometimes like to camp at a kid free place.
My dog is as much my family as kids are to others :)
FollowupID: 739907

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 16:57

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 16:57
Ray,

Hahahaha best idea I've heard in years.

FollowupID: 739949

Reply By: Gotlost - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 08:37

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 08:37
someone asks a simple question and as usual the Idiot Element on this forum rear their ugly heads, i was always brought up to respect other people and if u have nothing nice to say then dont say anything, a fairly simple philosophy.

AnswerID: 465867

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 17:53

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 17:53
Just get on the old tellingbone and give both William Creek and the private camp a bell and you should have an answer one way or another.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 465917

Reply By: Member - THOR01 - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 19:11

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 19:11
I can not believe the ignorance of some travellers. We have just returned from a 4 week trip across the Simpson with a group of 11 adults and we were the only ones with our 12yo boy. We had never met anyone we travelled with however I believe with the right upbringing and family values, kids are great fun. We travelled with some from this forum and I would bet my left one that every person we travelled with enjoyed his company. I also have 2 dogs and no I don't take them to places we travel where they are not permitted but places they are allowed, then they come too. I can see both sides but I also think that people are entitled to travel with their kids as well as their pets as long as they are both under control. I too am over the kids that don't listen but that is no reason to say ALL kids are noisy just as it is wrong to say that all dogs are noisy. Travellers should be mindful of others and if they know that either their kids or pet will be disruptive, they need to consider others.
I say take your kids and your pets and explore this wonderful country and to those who don't like kids or pets travelling, then stay home.
AnswerID: 465927

Reply By: P and JM - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 21:17

Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 21:17
Hi myaussieadventure,

As a past employee of Muloorina Station my advise is don't take your dog because stock come in to drink (cattle) from the Frome Creek at night time and the owners would not appreciate it.

Like most stations they don't like visiting dogs. Cheers P&J
AnswerID: 465945