Tibooburra

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 12:08
ThreadID: 89227 Views:2457 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
Can anyone tell me what Tibooburra is like for provisions? We plan to travel via White Cliffs and Mutawintji NP so we will be low on food when we arrive. I believe there are a couple of general stores.

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 12:55

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 12:55
Its been 10 or so years since i was there last, at which time there was a general store/servo/caravan park attendee all in one....the ladies brother did the grocery run to BH 3 times a week, store was well stocked.
Couple of pubs there, with different things to see in each. Of particular interest was the NP store, which had an re-enactment of the Sturt party passing that area with their boat...upon viewing, it became apparent why the Aboriginies protested at them so much.
First impressions entering the town, with tumble weed blowing across the road into the open air picture theatre (white screen with 200 seats infront of it) was one of a cowboy movie. Its quite small, but will cater for your needs quite well.
At the time, there was no tyre fitter closer than 700kms (BrokenHill) so bring a spare spare and some levers, and try to stay off the verg of the road..we got a sidewall puncture pulling off the road at the caravan park. The spike was from a tree or bush and went straight through a 750/16 landcruiser std tyre.
We also did Mootwingie NP before heading north, but some time after one tree, we took a left and followed a good track accross to Packsaddle. That was a very picturess detour....hope you have heaps of fun
AnswerID: 465994

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 13:03

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 13:03
small ammendment...one tree is just north of Hay, we stopped there to take a piccy before heading to Menindee lakes, which is the starting point of the Bourke and Wills expodition. Once you leave Mootwingie, you can cross to Packsaddle, or head straight for Milparincka
FollowupID: 740034

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 13:12

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 13:12
Dozer, they have shifted Broken Hill a bit closer to Tibooburra now, it's only 330 kms away now. :>)

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 740036

Follow Up By: Member - blackbird1937 - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 07:59

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 07:59
I am sorry to be critical but that weed is called ROLY POLY in OZZ and tumbleweed in USA . The road from Tibooburra to Innamincka is much better than the 2 wheel track of 30 years ago . Also there is plenty to see in the area like Milparinka ,Depot Glen , Mt Poole etc if you are into history and would like to see what the explorers and pioneers put up with . I know plenty of people who would say there is nothing to see there but but they should never leave home in the city as their style of camping is a 4 star resort .
FollowupID: 740125

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 08:32

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 08:32
One of our favourite places is the Corner Country, and there is plenty to see and do, but why the need to 'bag' city people, living in a city doesn't preclude you from enjoying what this country has to offer! In fact I think it makes you appreciate it more sometimes!

FollowupID: 740127

Follow Up By: Member - blackbird1937 - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 12:47

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 12:47
I did not BAG all city people . I just stated that I know plenty of people that say there is nothing to see in the bush . If you read my post the other week I stated that friends of mine flew to Weipa drove to Cape York stopping there 1 day and 2 nights , went to the Tip drove back to Weipa next day . When i was talking to them they told me there was nothing to see at Cape York and that they had seen it all . I really enjoyed my trip to the top also Horn Is and TI but as you know everybody is different . Have a great day .
FollowupID: 740143

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 13:36

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 13:36
No worries...and no offence taken, mind you I guess given there are probably hundred's of posts a day in here, I might just have missed the one you did the other day ;)

Cheers...
FollowupID: 740147

Reply By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 13:44

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 13:44
We were there a couple of months ago. Nice little town my wife said she could live there??

You should be able to get the supplies you need as long as you are not a massive amount. Its no Westfield or Woolworths but you should get all you need.

Great meals at the Pub on the left opposite the motel

Wayne B
AnswerID: 466002

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 15:19

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 15:19
WE were there a couple of months ago. The servo as you enter town had quite a good range of grocery items and I think well priced too.

Val

AnswerID: 466012

Reply By: Charlgrave - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 20:04

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 20:04
Thanks everyone.
AnswerID: 466032

Reply By: Member - THOR01 - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 20:14

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 20:14
We were there a couple of weeks ago. Fantastic little town. The servo has a good supply of food to restock and yes reasonably priced. Beware the cockatoo. Loves a scratch.
AnswerID: 466034

Reply By: Charlgrave - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 08:48

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 08:48
Thanks for all the replies. Very helpful.
AnswerID: 466061

Reply By: Gossy - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 08:55

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 08:55
one of those moments where you remember where you were for a major event. I was having a beer at the pub when Michael Jacksons death was announced on the tv!!

two pubs in town. A hotel with cabins much like what you would see in a caravan park. Nice and clean and fair prices. Laundry facilities also there. The shop mentioned also has internet access.

The pub opposite the hotel also has rooms out the back but fairly average so I wouldn't bother.

Enjoy!
AnswerID: 466062