Troop Carrier bench seats

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 10:25
ThreadID: 89279 Views:3930 Replies:2 FollowUps:3
Hey,
I was wondering if anyone new of a place in perth that fits rear seats to troopys?
I currently have one which is licensed for 3 seats, but would like to have the option of extra seats when i need them.

Reply By: Member - Travelinglew - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 15:20

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 15:20
Gday Mitchs,

I think you will find that all the bolt holes for the seats as well as belts etc are all in place. Just a matter of finding someone with a set of seats to sell and then having it certified and a new compliance plate issued. I think you will find though that you rego will increase with the number of positions that you put in.
I have a set of seats but am in Queensland so not much good for you.

Lew
AnswerID: 466256

Follow Up By: Brian.au - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 12:38

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 12:38
Hi Lew
I'm in the same boat as Mitchs - would love to have the option of the rear seats - but my troopy was a factory original 3 seater :(
Do you have any idea of the cost of certify/compliance plates? Can just any normal mechanic that can do roadworthies issue these?
By the way, I'm in QLD myself actually, so if you wanted to sell your set, I might be interested :)

Brian.
FollowupID: 742000

Follow Up By: Member - Travelinglew - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 14:08

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 14:08
Gday Brian,

You will need to contact the appropriate engineer to get it certified. (you local rego office or inspection centre should be able to supply a local contact) If the car does not have all of the bolt holes etc in place, he may well want to fit them himself so that he knows they are done properly. When you get the inspection done, all seats must be in place and all fittings must be in place so seat belts etc must be in the car. If it is just the inspection and a compliance plate to be fitted then from memory it cost me $100 but that was a few years ago.

My troopy actually came with 11 seats. It was licensed in WA with no problems, then licensed in NSW without issue but when I shifted back to QLD they refused rego until a compliance plate was fitted as the original plate had nothing about number of seats. Just no consistency across the country.

My seats are sitting in Wide Bay and it is only the two front ones that are not in the car. The will not fit the mounting points for the rear seats. Not so sure that I want to get rid of them but happy to talk if the price is right.

Lew
FollowupID: 742004

Follow Up By: Brian.au - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 14:23

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 14:23
hehe its ok mate, I know the feeling, you never know the day you might want to put them in again! :)

However, thanks heaps for the advice - I'll get on to the rego guys, and meanwhile see what turns up at the wreckers.

Will report back to the forums if/when I figure out a solution.

Brian.
FollowupID: 742005

Reply By: Mitchs - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 16:27

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 16:27
Cheers for the advice lew and yeah I might have to chase some up closer to home
AnswerID: 466265

Popular Products (11)