Submitted: Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 20:14
lancie49
Gooday boys and girls.
Just wondering if anyone has come from CC in the last few days and can fill me in with current conditions up there.
I'm heading from Melb next Friday night and want to be sure I've got everything catered and covered.
Mice, rats, mozzies, still an issue ?
Reply By: bardenboy - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 20:30
Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 20:30
I have just come back from there, the
Birdsville Track is open and the
Cooper Creek ferry is still running, with a lot of water istill flowing in the creek.
There has been some rain in the area and some tracks have been closed, but you should be OK, Enjoy the trip,
We were in the simpson when the fires hit and had to turn back to Mt Dare, we then drove to
Birdsville via the Penty Hwy and it rained heaps and we couldn't get to Big Red due to the track being closed.
Reply By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 01:13
Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 01:13
Lancie49
I was at
Cooper Creek Ferry on Monday and Tuesday camped on the southern side in swags. We had no trouble with Mice, Rats or mozzies. I recommend the sunset cruise with Peter as he is very knowledgeable and entertaining. Enjoy! Cheers MickImage Could Not Be Found Image Could Not Be FoundLancie49,
Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 08:22
Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 08:22
Hi Lance, I am running a bit late getting up their. Just got the 4x4 and sorting out the bugs are taking a bit longer that I like for a new car. Still going up, but will be latter in the month. Taking the 4x4 back tomorow, to get a rear seal in gearbox replaced. and some power issues to deal with. Will keep you posted as to when I might get their. Andy
Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 22:52
Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 22:52
at sort of car ??
Reply By: Will 76 Series - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 22:02
Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 22:02
Hello Lancie, I hear there has been a bit of rain around the cooper over the last 24 hrs and also some scattered showers to the south over the couple of days forcasted.
A mate of
mine is planning to drive to the Cooper on Friday from
Woomera. Have you heard anything about the road situation for the weekend period?
Will
Follow Up By: lancie49 - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 22:05
Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 22:05
No I haven't Will.
I'll be leaving
Melbourne Friday night and probably in
Marree sometime Sunday arvo.
I'll
check road conditions before I leave Melb and then again as I get closer.
Hopefully all will be OK.
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 22:58
Tuesday, Oct 04, 2011 at 22:58
7.4mm of rain at
Marree airport today, and though weather looks a bit unsettled for rest of week, "they" aren't forecasting any heavier rain, later in the week. Might be a bit sloppy over the next day or so.
Reply By: lancie49 - Thursday, Oct 06, 2011 at 07:57
Thursday, Oct 06, 2011 at 07:57
Looking like it could still be a tad damp in the area of
Marree over the next little while.
http://www.eldersweather.com.au/sa/ne-pastoral/marree
Hopefully the roads won't be affected, but I guess I'll find out about that when I get there.
I'm really looking forward to the drive.
Anyone still up at the crossing ?
Follow Up By: The Bigfella - Friday, Oct 07, 2011 at 21:40
Friday, Oct 07, 2011 at 21:40
I am sitting about 100Kms west of
Broken Hill at the moment and have just came back from the
Cooper Creek Ferry crossing. It rained up there for most of Tuesday and then we had a terrible wind storm on Tuesday night. We packed up on Wednesday morning and got back to
Marree OK but it was quite muddy and slippery. I am in a Terracan and towing and XLT Top Ender Camper.
Today we have come down from Arkaroola and came via
Hawker. It has rained around the Yunti area and is quite overcast right now (9.00PM).
I think it would all be dried out soon so long as there is no more rain.
By the way keep your food locked up as we had a visit from a friendly rat while camped on the
Cooper Creek.
If you can afford the $85.00 a head for the 25 minute helicopter flight at the Ferry Crossing then do it. It is fantastic. So is the boat cruise with Peter.
Just keep a
check on the weather and I am sure you will be OK.
Enjoy it as it is worth the trip.
The Bigfella
Reply By: Dicko1979 - Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 10:49
Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 10:49
We were also there Tuesday night.
The bigfella, we were just down from you in the camper trailer and red Jackaroo. It was an interesting night in the camper trailer with the wind.
We tried to cross with the ferry south to north, however parts of the track north were closed due to the rain, so the ferry was not operating.
The track back to
Marree was a bit wet and slushy in some spots, however was no real issue, just stuck to the centre of the road. Our camper trailer we borrowed from family only had road tyres so for some parts the trailer was just sliding behind us due to the mud build up on the tyres.
Unfortunately, this trip we didn't have time to go on the river cruise or helicopter, so can't comment on them.
Tip: Grab some loafs of bread from the servo/
general store at
Marree - fantastic!
Dicko