Alloy Wheel fracture

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 20:51
ThreadID: 89519 Views:5770 Replies:14 FollowUps:17
Haven't see this type of damage before.

The entire cast alloy wheel broke in two.

This was from one of the kids utes , front passenger wheel.

It happened driving on a narrow winding country bitumen road.

An oncoming car was in the centre of the road at a bend.

Quick thinking, our driver pulled to the left taking the passenger wheel off the edge of the bitumen, as he pulled the car back onto the road the wheel
hit the edge of the bitumen putting a slight dent in the rim and then he got
this instant almighty flat tyre effect as the rim split right down the middle.

It had low profile (35) tyres , the cast alloy looks cheap.

The wheels were cheap no name brand , all Kids can afford, but just what they don't need coupled with big V8's

Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 20:56

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 20:56
Bleep, what a mess. Glad they got out of it OK Robyn. I must agree with you that they look very cheap and there is hardly any thickness in the rim. I had been toying with going back to a decent set of alloys for the ute following some positive things I'd seen and read (and a bad trot with Steelies!). I wonder if a regular profiled tyre might have reduced the impact and thus the damage?

Mick

AnswerID: 467468

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:10

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:10
About 5.5mm thick Mick

No markings at all to identify manufacturer - but are stamped with size/load rating. Might be a clue as to avioding same.

I think your right , a regular profile would have more room to give.

FollowupID: 741610

Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 22:14

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 22:14
Mick O,

I just asked a fitter from work what steelies we use as I haven't seen one fail yet and they cop heaps. It is nothing to drive 5k with a flat tyre and by the time the vehicle gets to the LV fitters it doesn't have much that resembles a tyre on the rim. I have seen a bogger pick up an cruiser on it's bucket and drag it 50 metres rolling a tyre off and the rim wasn't damaged, the cruiser driver was a little worse for wear in the nerves department though.

HE is pretty sure they are R.O.H. steels. They have been flawless.

Have a good one,

RA.
FollowupID: 741619

Follow Up By: Mick O - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 07:13

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 07:13
Yes I've got two ROH steel sunraysias. I had 6 Speedie sunraysias and if you want to see a failure, have a look at this video. It's about the half way mark. We had to weld the two rims after they split. (The ROH are much better quality than the speedies IMHO).

FollowupID: 741628

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 08:29

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 08:29
Mick,
had a look and as you said it just failed for no reason other than bad manufacture.

Awhile back the mines department put out a warning about the centres breaking out of sunraysia style wheels. It is a pity they didn't mention the brand of wheel that was failing.

Robin, the alloy that failed is certainly nasty and I wouldn't like it to happen at speed.

Have a good one,
RA.
FollowupID: 741631

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 09:38

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 09:38
Seem to remember a photo being posted on here, maybe 3 or 4 years ago, of a sunraysia type wheel that had split completely, just outside the wheel stud area. Was on a mining vehicle in WA.

Those 8" steel rims fitted to later model 80 series were prone to get hairline cracks in them too. Had one with a small leak in it, similar but not as severe as Mick's new rim.

RA, think those weaker rims are made in Brazil. Have a set of them that have been okay so far, but probably won't handle real rough stuff.

Go the ROH,

FollowupID: 741636

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:03

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:03
I think the higher you go in rim diameter, the less choice you have in profile.

Once you get up to 17 & 18 plus wheel size, I don't think you can get much more than a 45 profile on a lot of vehicles.

Not much room for absorbing any shock if you have around 35 profile tyres given our road conditions with numerous cracks and potholes.

Some of the potholes are deep enough to put a windmill on them.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 741637

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 11:32

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 11:32
Love that video Mick and the repair work was first class.! You guys have too much fun..!
FollowupID: 741647

Follow Up By: Mick O - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:27

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:27
Mate I love travelling with JayDub and Scottie. They always fight each other for a chance to deal with the disaster of the day. Throw in Michael J as the "oracle" to supervise them and I'm reduced to providing the tools and a cup of tea or stronger lol.

We always hope to avoid an issue but in dealing with them and making it out to the other side, the experience is always the richer.

Good times indeed.

FollowupID: 741689

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 23:08

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 23:08
Hi Mick

I had 3 of the white sunraysia rims crack the same place as yours. They where the 8in wide ones. If I had sunraysias again I would only get the 7 1/2 wide max.

FollowupID: 741706

Reply By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:11

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:11
Hi Robin,

We had a brand new Nissan Patrol come in last year with a similar fracture to one of his wheels.

He had come up from Dalhousie Springs on the Christmas bore track & hadn't aired up after crossing the Simpson Desert (20 psi in the tyres) 265/70/17" rims.

He hit a large rock at silly speed & split the rim in two, we have a couple of pics somewhere but a casual staff member threw the wheel in the burn pit, I had wanted to keep it for display.

Just goes to show that even expensive alloys will be damaged beyond repair, I still prefer steel rims if given a choice!

AnswerID: 467470

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:14

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:14
Now there's an excuse to get to come back to Mt Dare with a package again Jeff.
FollowupID: 741611

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:22

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:22
Hehe! no need for an excuse to come out here eh!

BTW I just got another delivery of 2209, should last me until next year!

Finally got a couple of days off & we are in Alice ATM.

FollowupID: 741614

Reply By: happytravelers - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:33

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:33
Nissan Navara D40's have an alloy wheel recall at the moment to check for cracks. Involves spraying the inside with a paint dye which shows up any cracks. Most D40 owners with alloy wheels in the suspect range should have been notified about this.
AnswerID: 467474

Reply By: Dion - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:47

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:47
I have seen similar on a Jackaroo SE alloy rim. The fault was the front caliper had come adrift and gouged a line in the rim until it split, instant deflation very quickly.
I picked the rim (well both halves) up from Cookies at Copley about 9-10 years ago. Thought it would make good trophy material.
Agree with Jeff, steel rims all the way. Although to my financial disadvantage, I swapped the alloys off my LT Rodeo for the standard steelies of a LX Rodeo, but I'm happy with my descission.

Dion.
AnswerID: 467476

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 22:15

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 22:15
I banged up a cheap $89 steel rim on the christmas bore track a couple of weeks ago! instant tyre deflation, pulled it off smacked it with a lump hammer a dozen or so times, re inflated it & carried on!

Even if it was stuffed $89.00 for a new rim!

FollowupID: 741621

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 02:00

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 02:00
Robyn

I've always wondered how these caste alloy wheels 'stay in one piece' with the stresses they cop, even with normal driving conditions - now I know.

Also good to see that no one got hurt in the incident.

3-4 years ago I was working on the outback challenge and had the good fortune to be with a group of competitors, of which one of them was trying out some new alloy wheels.

There was no doubt in my mind at the beginning of the competition that they wouldn't last too long in/on the rock stages north of Broken Hill.Well, not only did they last, they also sustained some spirited re-shaping with a 2kg hammer on occasions.

On enquiring as to how they weren't breaking/cracking with the treatment they were receiving in the competition stages and the subsequent 'panel beating' repairs, the driver/owner told me they were machined billet aluminum and cost a mother load of dollars each.

I guess it all comes down to - you get what you pay for - however that doesn't excuse the Federal Government for allowing in inferior sub standard products.

DD

AnswerID: 467488

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 07:37

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 07:37
Strange things can happen DD

No one calls me Robyn - but in this thread it has happened twice.

This wasn't a particularly hard hit either DD, at worst bit of a fracture or depression might be expected but the entire thing giving up is over the top.

At least those machined ones you mention have now come down in price from "Motherload of dollars" to just "Not Affordable"

FollowupID: 741629

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 11:53

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 11:53
Doh! the letter Y - one key to the left of the letter I (LOL)

Very remiss of me and I aver never to do it again.

DD
FollowupID: 741649

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 15:23

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 15:23
I was almost about to forgive you DD , when a detailed examination of this serious matter revealed that in fact the "Y" key is actually located 2 keys to the left of the "I" key.
FollowupID: 741661

Reply By: Ray - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 09:53

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 09:53
Perhaps that is why most vehicle manufacturers fit steel wheels to their vehicles.
My local tyre bloke reckons that those low profile wheels are an extra bonus to his business.
AnswerID: 467502

Reply By: Andrew - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:06

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:06
Starting to see quite a few alloy wheel failures on road from hitting debris or potholes. usually find they are wide, large diameter with low profile tyres. have seen several where the tyres were ok but the rim broke.

Seems to come down to the lightweight construction on cheap imports and low profile tyres that let the rim hit the object that either causes a brittle failure or a stress raiser that then develops fatigue cracks.

Haven't seen it on any of the well known quality brands but it makes you think the cheap ones are better at copying the standards markings than building a decent product.

We also saw some centres pulling out after all the spokes snapped on no name brands a few years back, crappy material and badly designed for resisting side loadings.

Haven't seen ROH steelies crack but have seen others, fortunately they tend to go slowly so you can often find it before any real problems.

A
AnswerID: 467504

Reply By: Fatso - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:42

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:42
Smashed a couple of mags off my Torana back in the early 80s. I would be incorrect to blame the mags as I managed to bend the axle housing in the process.

But on another point.
Some tears back I was in a Bob Jane dealership buying tyres & a bloke was complaining about the quality of his 3 spoke mags he had on some little Euro thingo.
He had driven from Cairns to Brisbane & had to have the wheels rolled to straighten them.
On return to Cairns they were out of round again.
He was not happy.
It made me wonder just how flimsy they could be.
It was probably back in the mid 90s
AnswerID: 467505

Reply By: petesgq - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 15:52

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 15:52
Seen the same type of damage in a mitusbishi triton OEM Rim up the kullumbarru rd. Hit a wash out; took a masive section out of the rim. I was suprisd to see how thin and porous the alloy was. Earlier patrol steel rims crack between the spokes. I have three rims with these cracks. Nissan are replacing them for the new type steel rim which basicly has a larger spoke , smaller hole between the spokes. Patrol alloys are as tuff as; My alloys have coped a loaod of abuse and stood up exceptional well. ( I am not getting into the steel versus alloy versus split rim debate, each to thier own).
cheers.
AnswerID: 467526

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 05:59

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 05:59
Recently had two Toyota Royal pattern alloys repaired.
One I dented the outboard flange about 4 years ago and and the dent finally became large enough to allow air to escape. The other one had a hairline crack part way across the rim. The rims had done some pretty hard work over their life.
AnswerID: 467558

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 08:38

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 08:38
How come these posts suddenly went from left justified text to centre justified?????

AnswerID: 467566

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 08:46

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 08:46
Wondered that also - but been to busy with Cheviot campaign to follow up.

Maybe its protection against a fracture right thru the centre of the post.
FollowupID: 741718

Reply By: howesy - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 09:08

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 09:08
My sonhad cracked alloy rim and was told by tyre service that 35 series tyres an a lowered car with hard suspension is going to do it every time and is fairly common in these parameters however this also looks like the quality of the rim didnt help.
AnswerID: 467570

Follow Up By: howesy - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 09:09

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 09:09
I'll stick with my steely sunraiser any day LOL
FollowupID: 741719

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 20:33

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 20:33
Thats why I like zero offset rims.
Those rims in the photos have a huge offset.
AnswerID: 467606

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 08:04

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 08:04
Robin
Good to hear they are all OK... (Main thing)
Lesson learn't I hope.

Obviously cheap crap... from who knows where.
People who deal with this rubbish need to be held accountable

Young ones do not know the value of a little research.
Chers

AnswerID: 467635