Oh!!! what a feeling meets the Tojo leveler

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 22:33
ThreadID: 89523 Views:4868 Replies:2 FollowUps:6
Just share a couple of photo's of a cruiser that had a bit of an altercation at George Fisher mine Mt Isa with an underground LHD. Common name Bogger or Mucker.

Reply By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 23:37

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 23:37
Either doesnt have them or its because the front end of the cruiser has gone under what ever is about to run over it and squah it to a pulp and not actually hit it head on to activate the airag lol...Think that one is stuffed
AnswerID: 467482

Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 23:53

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 23:53
Kimba,
sorry.... no underground cruiser has airbags. I was just joking. They remove them as many people would get broken noses from running into rock walls. I was just joking about airbags being useless in this situation. If that machine hadn't pulled up there would be nothing left of that cruiser. He probably never even had an idea that he had hit it.

Yep!!!! she will go to the great mine light vehicle cemetery in the sky.

RA.
FollowupID: 741624

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:30

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:30
does stuff like this happen often ?? Didnt realize they removed the airbags, always heard this was toyota's downfall over the nissan and lack of toyota sales in the minig industry due to the cruisers not having airbags and the nissans having them for OH&s resons ?? Either was you would bleep if you saw that thing coming at ya.........
FollowupID: 741641

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 14:04

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 14:04
Kimba,
Mobile equipment in mines is the greatest killer of all. It is very hard to separate them I am afraid. Some mines have collision avoidance with alarms going off if a person or vehicle is close by or you are not allowed into an area unless you contact the operator first and tell him what you are doing or where you are going. I had a workmate who I had worked with for many years killed a couple of years back when he was crushed between a machine and a vehicle.

Cruisers are still the vehicle that is used underground. They remove the air bags prior to use. Our mob are looking at other vehicles because of the high cost, fully fitted out they cost around $120000 to $130000 because of all the gear that is put on them. Fail safe brakes, rops, radios, personal emergency device (receives low frequency radio messages through the ground), lighting, reverse alarms, galvanised trays, upgraded suspensions, bullbar, rear bar, low coolant alarms and steel safety rims with kevlar mud tyres. Retirement time between 2 and 3 years although the old ute I drive is in her 6th year and looks a lot better than most of those half her age. The vehicles will normally go through at least 1 gearbox (eaten out with corrosion) 1 or 2 diffs, tailshaft, countless cv's, exhaust system, window winder and door opening mechanisms, wiper mechanisms and have the front end welded back in. Image Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 741658

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 15:27

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 15:27
Many places have tried cheaper options they always admit the mistake and go back to cruisers
FollowupID: 741662

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 18:09

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 18:09
get outmore,
we used Kowari's for many years and they would outlast the cruisers hands down. Cummins motor, ford running gear and cruiser boxes/ transfers. The reason for getting rid of them was the amount the supplier owner was charging to maintain them.

Yes I have seen Patrols, Hiluxes, Fergy tractors, Mimps and even a Hummer tested u/g. Another vehicle as well but I can't remember the name of it. It had an auto tranny, hub reduction axles and a Cummins in it.

So our mob are looking all the time.
FollowupID: 741679

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 07:43

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 07:43
Gday Rockape
Just a coat of paint and the Mucker will be back at work ...

AnswerID: 467492

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 14:05

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 14:05
Mate it would have just rubbed a bit of surface rust off.
FollowupID: 741659