air compressor

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 09:29
ThreadID: 8955 Views:2546 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
Hi everybody,Ican only afford a cheap air compressor,around 100$ for the time being.I looked in the supercheap flyer.Theyve got a 11 bar compressor for 97$.What ill like to know are they any good and how long do they take to blow the tyres up to 35psi
regards uppy

Reply By: Member - Ross - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 09:45

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 09:45
Uppy

For around 100 bucks I'd go for the small Bushranger .... quality gear and you only loose out on speed. I bought it's big brother and I'm very happy so far.
Good gear and faster than ARB for similar dollars.

Not to say I'm taking anything away from Super Cheap gear ... buy some stuff there myself. But when it comes to a larger investment I reckon you're better off sticking with name brands of proven performance ... preferably Oz stuff of course.

At the end of the day, if time is important you'll need to be looking in the 300-400 price range. And don't forget it should be a once-off investment, so the extra bucks now may well prove the best buy in the long run.You're only as old as she feels

Rosco
AnswerID: 39384

Follow Up By: uppy - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 09:54

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 09:54
Thanks for the reply Rosco.But i need a compressor over the Xmas holidays as im doing a bit of sand driving with Voxson in SA. where abouts can i find the bushman brand. i live in the bush area the nearest city is wagg wagg
regards uppy
FollowupID: 257109

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 10:59

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 10:59
Easy! Use Voxon's and give him a 6 pack of Coopers.~
FollowupID: 257115

Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 11:05

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 11:05
er keep the six pack and use his anyway....he's a south oz so he wont mind Wow! am I cute
If yer ain't fishing, Yer ain't livin
FollowupID: 257117

Follow Up By: Camper - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 12:09

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 12:09
He'll mind if it's Coopers on offer - there's a meal in every bottle!
FollowupID: 257123

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 13:53

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 13:53
6 pack of JW and cola is a good starting point....If you wait till you get here uppy i can point you to a local repco for a cheaper version...
Even though i may get impaled for saying this next comment by the tread lightly committee which i am one of "the sand dunes through the coorong are quite solid and i dont think i have ever needed to drop the pressures at all".....but if you camp along the robe to beachport area you will need to drop them to prob 14psi.....the beaches can be a little hungry for 4x4's along there...
got those int lights working yet?_____________________________________________
Cant think of anything to put here just yet !

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 15:45

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 15:45
Uppy

While you're at it borrow Voxon's Sat Ph... he's much cheaper than retail lenders .... :-D.

As for the Bushranger, ARB sell them up this way as well as other 4WD outlets.

Notwithstanding the other responses, for $100 I'd be inclined to head for a reputable Oz unit than a similarly priced "no-name" brand.

Just my opinion tho ....You're only as old as she feels

Rosco
FollowupID: 257133

Follow Up By: uppy - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 19:16

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 19:16
Thanks Voxson,ill call you Friday afternoon .Ive forgot that ive got a rugby meeting tonite. thanks everyone ill answer the postings in the morning
regards uppy
FollowupID: 257148

Reply By: Rob H - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 10:21

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 10:21
G'day Uppy

I've recently been investigating the same thing. Searching previous forum postings, the 12v Cyclone Compressor from Repco seemed to come up alot as a good low cost unit. (Search on Cyclone Compressor to see comments)

Here in Darwin they're on sale for only $83 at the moment - maybe a national price

AnswerID: 39388

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 13:29

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 13:29
I saw them in the dogalog here in Melb this morning at Repco for 89 bucks!

Leroy
FollowupID: 257126

Reply By: flappan - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 10:43

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 10:43
depends on how often you want to use it.

For occassional use , they work well. I have a supercheap one for about 18mths . Cost me $129 though.

Pumped my PJ tyres from 10 psi to 35 psi in 5 mins.
AnswerID: 39389

Reply By: Savvas - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 12:19

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 12:19
I have the same Super Cheap compressor. It takes 20 mins to blow up all 4 Jackaroo tyres (245/70R16) from 12psi to 38psi.

Not super quick, but it copes well.
AnswerID: 39396

Reply By: DARREN - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 13:50

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 13:50
Before our Cape York trip in August I bought the supercheap and my mate got the Repco. Virtually same unit but for minor or cosmetic differences. Only used them a few times but mine worked a treat and his cut out a lot (possibly getting hot too quick - quicker than it should)
Bearing in mind that I don't use mine every week I would buy another Supercheap, it does seem however with any of these cheaper ones that you can be unlucky.
See Archives as there has been comment on these before.

Darren
AnswerID: 39400

Reply By: Viola - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 20:20

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 20:20
Darling we have bought those Supercheap air compressors for our aircraft and none have failed. They are always letting the tyres down for landing in the bush and outback strips and then pumping them up after their first tarmac landing back in town. I bought a spare in case one failed and it is still sitting on top of the filing cabinet
AnswerID: 39441

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 20:49

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 20:49
Might pay to look at the Hurricane as well
AnswerID: 39446

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 22:25

Thursday, Dec 04, 2003 at 22:25
Im sure the supercheap V others has been done 239048203498203948023948203948032948 times.

one has a plastic piston isnt it and melts?
AnswerID: 39466

Follow Up By: Old Jack - Friday, Dec 05, 2003 at 21:44

Friday, Dec 05, 2003 at 21:44
the largest supacheap on definatly has a metal piston... found out because someone (Brother duck's) killed one by smashing it's top off when placing very heavy item in back of ute (600kg injection mould)

"it was in perfect working order when you borrowed it!"

If on a budget there are a lot of worse pumps available.
FollowupID: 257231

Reply By: uppy - Friday, Dec 05, 2003 at 10:50

Friday, Dec 05, 2003 at 10:50
Thanks to everyone who replied,to my posting.Im going to keep my money until i meet up with Voxson.He will need heaps off JW and cola when he meets up with the uppy clan.No i have not fixed my lights and it is really pis*ing me off
regards uppy
AnswerID: 39504