fridges
Submitted: Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 20:49
menace
Hello folks..over the last few days I have been reading numerous amounts of threads and quite impressed with how everybody puts in to assist other peoples issues with their experiences and knowledge...I do all my own vehicle maintenance , mechanical , fabrication etc and seem to able to pull anything apart , understand it and put it back together ,but after reading through this site and just when you think you know how to do everything , outside of logic , it becomes a whole new learning curve when intending to do this type of travel..(outback)..particully impressed with making the winch available to be used at front or rear of the vehicle , sio I will fabricate something up for that and intending to remove the back
seat and making that area into something more convenient (i would have been caught out there without the appropriate certification needed as a 2 seater..anyway I digress , I have spent half the day lookiing at fridges , types , sizes , prices , and volume etc and just got lost in it all...we are planning on doing a trip without time constraints in about 1.5 to 2 years time so in that time I will be setting up the vehicle in preperation and possibly just doing short 3 to 4 day trips to Moreton Bay island or even fraser just to see what we have and have done is practible and workable , but with it being a dual cab and with space in
the tub being limited the fridge becomes more important with where it is and what size it is and an expensive item it seems to be later considered inappropriate . I intend to install a draw system in
the tub and put the bed on top and work out a system to have a tent and annex off the back of the car..not too sure how to seal under the back of the car below the tailgate yet . There is no actual plan as to where we will end up on the trip but in regards to the fridge we will need to consider us at some time being remote for a couple of weeks at a time...understanding that your pantry out there changes a lot to dry foods and more non perishibles , I am at a loss as to what would be a logical size for the 2 of us under those circumstances based on everyones experiences and knowledge...also i seen one today called fridge mate (eva cool I think )..plastic , unlike the engels etc...does anyone have any knowledge of this make...thanks for your time...cheers
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:19
Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:19
Hi. If you open your post there is an article on fridges you can click on up in the top RH corner of it. You may find some interesting info in there. For what it's worth I have a Waeco 40 ltr that works really
well but it is mainly a back up for a 125ltr caravan fridge. I use it a lot as a second freezer but it has a small fridge section as
well. Cheers,Bob
Follow Up By: menace- Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:44
Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:44
cheers bob I will look at it now
Follow Up By: menace- Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:56
Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:56
good article ..helped a lot...it now makes me think I had asked a stupid question I'll probably ask a lot more of them hahahahaha...thanks Bob
Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 23:16
Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 23:16
No such thing as stupid questions mate.If you hadn't asked the link would not have come up. Bob
Reply By: Member - Porl - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:35
Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:35
The fridgemate is awesome, but it didn't survive the crash which is my photo that I have to change soon. But then having a dual battery fly into it and then the actual fridge mate being jammed half outside the rear tub's window was never gonna help it.
Would have got another one but for the memories of the last one.
You can get better fridges, the white evakools plumb colder, but value for money the fridgemate is a great investment.
I am thinking a Bushman this time, they get great raps, bit more expensive.
Cheers, see U on Moreton some time.
Follow Up By: menace- Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:49
Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:49
I dont want ours to end up like that though porl..hope everyone was ok..yes seen the white eva cool today also..I am starting to think it is about just how much you think you would eat over a few weeks remote and get the size unit to suit that would be needed for perishible food etc.....thanks for the replies fellas
Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 23:11
Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 23:11
G'day Menace
Like you, I generally make / fabricate whatever I can myself instead of buying off the shelf (if indeed that is what you meant...) - for me this includes a bull bar for a 60 series, 80 series dual wheel carrier, drawers, and roofrack, 100 series rear drawers, steel rear bar, dual battery system, towing mud flaps, solar panels, 12v accessories, etc... I have had a 57L Engel Combi box (seperate fridge and freezer) for the past 10 or so years and it has been perfect for 2 (now 4) of us to
camp for at least 2 weeks at a time. It has only in the last couple of months needed the 24V fridge cooling fan to be replaced (which I did myself for about $50) - apart from that it has been perfect - living on a slide in the back of the 80 or 100 series cruiser. There may be better fridge - freezers out there (I thing the Trailblazer would be great - or the Explorer if they still make them - with the seperate fridge / freezer thermostat controls) - but the Engel has never let us down. A couple of weeks ago
camping at
Ningaloo my home-made solar panels (about 120w) had the 80aH battery fully charged before lunch each day with the Engel running at about -8 in the freezer and 3 in the fridge - including cooling a dozen beers throughout the day/afternoon each day, and freezing a few fillets of fish each night. I would recommend one....
Drew
Follow Up By: menace- Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 23:48
Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 23:48
thanks Drew..I hung around the fridgemate a fair bit today (60ltr)and thought I could get a fair bit in that and it is shaped to put struts on the lid....I do and have since I was a teenager done as much as I can myself a lot for the satisfaction of having done it , partly for economics especially mechanically and having the curiousty of a cat , I just have to know how , and why hahahaha...I have even thought of finding a hole for a caddy for the trip but maybe I am just over thinking things and how to power the current draw...it probably is not as isolated out there as it used to be off the beaten track....cheers
Follow Up By: oz doc - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 21:28
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 21:28
Hi Drew(sorry menace -don't mean to be rude) -can you tell me what setting on the dial you had the Engel to achieve those temperatures, and what was the ambient temp at the time(if you know)?. I'm running a few tests on our combi at the moment, off the new battery. Ta , doc.
Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 12:43
Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 12:43
Hi Doc
From memory it was about 3 on the dial. The ambient temp was in the low 20's
Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 00:26
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 00:26
Hi Menace
How do you plan powering your refrigeration? Vehicle charging battery? Portable or vehicle mounted solar panel? Generator :)? What ever fridge you choose, you need to know you will have adequate power to run it.
You can manage with very little refrigeration with the food choices available today.
Hints on minimising fridge needs
You could easily travel with food for weeks with only a 40 litre fridge. We have two of the old bomb proof Engels; 30 and 40 litres, and can use the smaller one as a freezer when needed, but we have heaps of
solar power in the caravan. The one panel (80 watt as that was what was available years ago but now you can get 130 watt or more) which we used as a portable with our previous camper is now on the tow vehicle roof, and provides power to a battery for the 40 litre Engel as a fridge, and when
camping out we also use 12 v lights. It was not capable of maintaining the fridge plus the freezer.
Follow Up By: menace- Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 01:23
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 01:23
Hi mother hen...I dont really know yet regarding power supply....I have been learning all these things on this site from all you experienced folk from past threads etc and of course the associated links...in setting it up I will be aquiring all the appropriately needed items , fridge , lighting and what ever else we will need and then factor in the best way to power all of it and whether that envolves batteries , solar or both...we are only at the start of planning all this but the fridge will be one of the first items and soon because dimensions will determine what and how i have to design and fabricate things ..as it seems I will then have to tally up average total amps per hour and utilise a system to suit...but these solar panels seem like a good idea to have anyway...probably burn up most of the warranty on things while they sit in the garage hahahahaha...cheers
Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:56
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:56
I agree that a 40 litre fridge is plenty, it is easy to work with that size, you cryovac your meat etc use long life milk and only keep a couple of drinks in it at a time.
Size, weight battery consumption and $$$ all have to be considered
Follow Up By: menace- Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 12:33
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 12:33
Yep I agree Alby...I am trying to get it right first ..dont want to find ourselves trying to sell a fridge because it doesnt meet our needs and possibly also havingto up-grade power supply also...like the old adage...measure twice...cut once line of thinking...we have talked about now just removing
the tub and putting a tray and canopy on the back to accommodate all this and of course easier for me to create a seal at the back with a tent...cheers
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 15:00
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 15:00
Hi Menace
I think your biggest problem will be finding room to pack adequate food, clothes and other needs for long term travelling. A trayback will give you more room, and canopies can be set up with lift up sides for added room and weather protection when cooking.
Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 16:44
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 16:44
Menace, now you are talking, get a tray and gull wing canopy, that is what I have done with
mine. Apart from gaining 1 m2 extra floor space your access is much better not working from the tailgate plus the gull wing doors give you shelter from the elements. That is without doubt my best mod in setting up a dual cab tourer
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:05
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:05
Hi Alby
Do you have a couple of photos of your set up? A dual cab doesn't have much room and I'm sure others as
well as Menace will be interested in seeing how you have done it.
Apologies for double up above; a glitch in the system :O
Mh
Follow Up By: menace- Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 18:05
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 18:05
yes that would be great and much appreciated if it can be done...cheers Alby
Follow Up By: filosoph - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 07:38
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 07:38
Hi Menace
Just thought I'd throw in a few bobs worth on Power.
Just a bit of background first - When we started travelling around Australia I was compelled to do many things myself not just because I wanted to and felt a similar need to just know how and why like you but the absolutes rip off that so called experts tok for their time. Few if any have any more education than me ( 6 years in uni ) and 20 years travelling the world. Anyway I was at loggerheads about many power issues , ask one sparky and get one answer ask another and get a different answer. Most auto sparkies I met and spoke with(not all) also seem to have different answer regarding the same question.
I got fed up with it and one day met a fellow ( at carmilla beach Qld) who simply said to me. "Pat you don't know the facts.... if you did we'd not be talking about it..." (needless to say that slightly peeved me to say the least). He promptly told me to read a book and I'd "know" many of the answers I was looking for. I went to a
camping store got the book and read it. I still have it to this day and use it as a handbook if I have forgotten stuff. 12Volt Bible for boat owners... BCF will have it. It is SIMPLE to read and in lay language. When you know what is in the book you'll be armed with knowledge. Hey if you know all this stuff sorry for trying to teach you how to suck eggs!
Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 12:47
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 12:47
Sorry Motherhen and Menace, I have been away and just read your post. I would be happy to provide some photos of my setup but are not able to post images.
I can email them to you or perhaps you could post them on my behalf?
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 13:05
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 13:05
Thanks Alby; If Menace is still interested in your dual cab setup, I can put your photos up. I'm sure there wil be other readers equally as interested. You can contact me through
My Website
email, and send photos small (I think 800 pxls is the maximum for posting on ExplorOz).
Mh
Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 17:03
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 17:03
Email sent.
Thankyou
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 17:22
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 17:22
I'll post the pics at the end of the thread, courtesy Alby.
Mh
Reply By: Member - Bill B1 (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:19
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:19
The last post re how you are going to power the fridge is the critical one.
Read how much gear some have such as solar panels, generators, wiring in the truck etc etc and do some sums. A lot of $$$ there.
I have just come back from 2 years around Oz with a Dometic 3 way 42 litre. I made up a partition to make it 2/3rds and 1/3rd so I could freeze stuff under the condensor. Worked a treat.
Used 12v in the truck and 240v in the parks but could stay in the bush or NP's with a gas bottle for a fraction of the back up electrical gear I would have needed if I only had a two way.
Worth thinking about.
Follow Up By: menace- Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:21
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:21
thanks Bill...I gather you are saying to get a 3 way fridge that can be run from lpg also..?...if so then what would the average gas usage be over say a prolonged period of 2-3 weeks taking into account ...putting it back into the car when leaving the
camp in the car to run it from the car and not waste the gas for nothing....understandably it would be based on what size unit it is so just based on yours ...cheers
Reply By: Member - Bill B1 (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:36
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:36
Hi Menace,
Yes, uses LPG.
I have the green Chescold; 40 litre. Have a look at the bigger red one; 50 litres?; as it may suit you better. It has lid catches and a separator that comes with it. BCF have them on the floor.
Mine is a made from some dense rubber from Clarks that gives me a freezer compartment under the condensor and the remainder is a fridge.
I take a 4 kg bottle with me and it should last 2 weeks on gas, depending on how high you have the temp control turned up.
Got
mine from Ebay in Qld and it was cheaper if I picked it up from the
shop. ($800)?? Nearly $1000 in BCF.
I had a fridge in the van too so 40ltr was big enough. If its your main fridge then go for the Red one.
Follow Up By: Member - Bill B1 (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:43
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:43
hi,
Sorry not Red but Dark blue.
Here it is on Ebay.
Chescold 50 litre
Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 09:59
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 09:59
Hi Menace,
Like you we have done a most of our vehicle set-up ourselves. Here are a couple of
blogs that may be of interest :
electricity for camping and
vehicle set-up
Until a couple of years ago we travelled with a 40 litre fridge and found that was adequate with a bit of thought. A couple of years ago we added a small trailer that came with a 3 way fridge so now we have heaps of fridge space.
When we just had the single fridge we ran it fairly cold so that meat could stay frozen (vacuum packed) at the bottom. We also used a small esky and each morning we put into it our lunch food and the nights meat which would keep the esky cool while it was thawing. Drinks are usually cool in the morning so they went into the fridge then, and hopefully we wouldn't open the fridge again until stopped for the night. We don't store fruit, veges or bread in the fridge (except maybe lettuce) as we have cool spaces for them in the vehicle. We generally
tailor our eating to what we can buy while we are travelling plus a supply of tinned and dried food that we carry.
We have learned not to take too much food with us from
home - some vac packed meat and a few pre-prepared meals. Sure it can be cheaper to buy and prepare at
home but the amount you save is nowhere near the cost of a big/second fridge plust the extra electricals to be able to run it.
Val.
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 17:27
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 17:27
Alby's rig
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: workhorse - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:09
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:09
Hi Motherhen.
I like your ute set up especially the table. Is it a slide out job or fold up? Any details on it.
Thanks.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:16
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:16
Hi Workhorse - the rig belongs to Alby NSW (see further up this thread). I just posted the photos as he couldn't. He certainly has created a great setup.
Mh
Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 21:53
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 21:53
Hi Workhorse
The table is a single adjustable height drop down leg and the other end clips onto the tie rail on the tray.
I did consider a slide out table but dropped the idea because it could not easily be adjusted back to level if the vehicle was not sitting flat and also I wanted to be able to open and close the canopy door without having to put the table away each time
Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 21:56
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 21:56
forgot to add , thanks Motherhen for posting the images
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 23:05
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 23:05
To easy Alby :) - thanks for sharing.
Mh
Follow Up By: workhorse - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 09:14
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 09:14
Thanks Alby for the info. Been scratching my head regarding a quick set up table for
roadside lunch etc.
Nice set up there.