Card Skimming,??.

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 21:01
ThreadID: 89568 Views:3731 Replies:14 FollowUps:14
Bit of a worry these Days!!, I personally use a credit card daily for fuel purposes, usually at the same servo, but for the first time i noticed the attendant watch me enter my pin, always thought inside servos was a fairly safe enviroment for this sort of thing, unlike Atms hanging out on a footpath somewhere. Maybe i'm getting paranoid ,Always something out there to get you!..Lol.

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 21:10

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 21:10
Hi Axle; it pays to be paranoid about card security.

He would need to remember you card number and pin, unless a skimming device was fitted, then he need not watch you at all - just collect all the details later. A few years ago my boss went to Rome. His EFTPOS card was skimmed, and within a few hours numerous transactions has cleaned out his entire bank account - luckily bro-in-law who was travelling with them was able to fund the rest of the trip until the bank reinstated the funds. His daughter back home who was managing his mail and banking had access to the account and noticed the debits so it was reported quickly. His bank was astonished at the speed as they said it usually takes about a day to print the bogus card - this was much quicker.

AnswerID: 467687

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 21:28

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 21:28
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 741861

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 00:33

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 00:33
Was he white?
FollowupID: 741873

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 07:15

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 07:15
Card Number ...no need to remember, it's on the bits of toilet paper that scroll out of the little machine.

FollowupID: 741880

Reply By: Lex M - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 21:33

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 21:33
Read your credit card conditions. It is your responsibility to protect and safeguard your pin. If you let someone watch you enter it, your at fault.
Cover the keypad!!!!
I'm amazed how many people make no attempt to prevent anyone from watching their pin being entered.
AnswerID: 467691

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 21:50

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 21:50
Cover the key pad!, ..Fair enough, won't help if theres a skimmer there. anyway how bad is it when your a fairdinkum oz, and you have to worry about wether the others around you are going to take you down, What a down hill slide this country is in, makes me sick!!!!!!.

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 741862

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 13:18

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 13:18
jeez axle-if you think fraud, stealing and crime is a new thing, you've lived a sheltered life!

Not so long ago when there was skimming machines in WA (turned out to be at maccas I think) the banks recommended that you dont use a pin, sign for credit cards only.
FollowupID: 741913

Reply By: Dasherdes - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:35

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:35
We have a local servo here that appears to have a few more than normal customers get scammed. Don't go near them because of fuel inaccurate measurements.
The cook and I were discussing card scamming today and were seriously considering going back to using cash more and only use the cards at the banks.
AnswerID: 467698

Reply By: kidsandall - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:57

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 22:57
The thing I can't work out is with all this card scimming etc, they have decided it is a good idea to make a machine that does not need your pin, and I don't even have a say. At Mc Donalds, super markets, servos, shops. I was in a servo the other day and I heard the guy behind the counter explaining the new system to a customer. He said it is awesome cause now you don't even need to take your card out of your wallet. Just wave it past the machine and he has all your info. I asked how this is good and he said it is faster and easier. Yeah right, easier to steal your money. ACA did a story on it and they had a guy from the fraud squad with a machine in a breifcase walking through a shopping centre getting peoples card info just by walking past them.
I agree, going back to cash is not a bad idea.
The problem is this industry is worth billions to them and the penalties aren't enought to stop it. They come into the country, steal our money and are gone the same day

Josh
AnswerID: 467702

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 23:12

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 23:12
theft has been around since the first neanderthal dragged his mates girlfriend out of the cave while he was sleeping

in years gone by unless you were a white collar the only way to commit theft was the risky way guns and knives in the street or into someones house

now it is easy and doesnt involve direct contact with the victim

I think banks etc try and keep it a bit quite the amount of electronic and identity theft which actually gos on and it grows exponentially
FollowupID: 741868

Reply By: menace- Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 00:23

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 00:23
I have been offered the just pass your card past the machine and I refused..they have for me still had the swipe your card and enter pin in place..so it may pay to request that if you have the same concerns as me...I also always pick up the card machine if I can to hide pin entry...I am noticing that in some servos they are conected to the counter so you cant do this...so just put your hand there to block it...I dont care what they think and they shouldnt have a problem with it unless they have something else in mind....there is a scam happening at the moment when they ask you if you want cash out...if you dont and you dont want your reciept then they cash out for them selves with an average amount and you normally wont remember whether you did it or not when you get your account details....i always ask for the reciept now from anywhere and check it and then throw it away if I want
AnswerID: 467707

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 00:52

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 00:52
Mmmm, Menace, you have just given a suggestion to umpteen check out operators; maybe some will be unscrupulous enough to take up your suggestion :O

I was in Big W a couple of weeks ago, and was not given the opportunity to sign or enter PIN for my credit card purchase. The cashier handed me a card explaining that there was no PIN or signature used for purchases under $35. A couple of years ago, we were notified that PIN or signature would not be required for purchased under i recall around $12 or may $20. I opted to continue to sign for all purchases, now this has been taken awy from me all in the name of speed through the checkouts.

Mh

FollowupID: 741875

Follow Up By: Meggs - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:53

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:53
Menace next time you are hiding your pin numbers look up and you will be bound to see a camera looking right at you which can be viewed from where??
FollowupID: 741957

Reply By: bibtracker - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 02:18

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 02:18
I agree, Motherhen. That's the new thing in supermarkets, but at Bunnings I think you don't have to sign or give PIN for a purchase under $100. Lose your card and imagine how many $98 purchases a determined scrote could make in a few hours! Equally, you could make lots of $34 purchases at Coles/Woolies in a day. Am seriously thinking about going back to good old cash.
Cheers, Tony
AnswerID: 467713

Reply By: menace- Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 02:33

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 02:33
haven't come across that yet (no sign no pin )..but hasn't that just undermined the reasons for having cards ...no need to carry large cash...security provisions with your card from the banks ....do the banks agree with this ??? ..I will go to bunnings and try this just to see if they will still offer you the old methods...maybe it is a way to make you worry about it and force you inyo spending more money to feel more secure ..lol
AnswerID: 467714

Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 06:04

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 06:04
Axle,
the bank rang us a couple of months ago and said our card had been cancelled and we confirmed $10600 had been ripped off it from someone in Great Brittan.

The card had been hit every couple of minutes on line and most of of the purchases were for top end Hifi gear.

The people's reaction at the bank was yes it happens all the time.

Our cards have never left our hands and we always cover the pin number. It may have been stolen in a online transaction or from a skimmer.

Have a good one,
RA.

AnswerID: 467717

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 07:28

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 07:28
A friend works for one of the big 4 banks in the security department for credit cards. His advice is to set your card for signiture only and never use a PIN.

He said that if you use a PIN, you sign up for the responsibility to keep it secret and in the event of a dispute, the onus of proof is on you. However if you use a signiture then the onus of proof is on the bank to show that it was you that signed for the goods and if they can't then you are not responsible.

Good advice me thinks.
AnswerID: 467723

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:05

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:05
They can still duplicate cards and very few accepting credit cards check and validate the signature..... most just hand the card back with the receipt.

Most credit card fraud happens on line making a signature useless.
FollowupID: 741896

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:19

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:19
In which case you are covered 100%
FollowupID: 741899

Follow Up By: Meggs - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:46

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:46
I just had my credit care done over for nearly $3,000 but I was on to it quick and the bank reissued me another card, I'm still waiting for the bank to credit the money back to me.
I have never used pin on my credit card and I only have 3 scheduled transactions the debit the card so I don't know how they cot the card number and exp date.
Three years ago I booked up travel, accommodation tours etc for Europe oner the internet using Credit card and no problems.

I now have a debit MasterCard for the internet
FollowupID: 741955

Reply By: quincy - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 09:27

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 09:27
axle . when travelling we use a "once off " credit card which woolworths sells, it can be loaded up to $1000 and you can have as many as you want. once the $1000 is used throw it away and get another , at least if you get scammed you will only lose what's left on the card (rememebering max. is $1000).
regards quincy
AnswerID: 467734

Reply By: olcoolone - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:01

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:01
It is your responsibility if they see your pin number and steal your card but if they see you pin number and your card gets skimmed then it the banks responsibility.

At the end f the day it still the banks responsibility to ensure they provide a secure service for transactions.

One thing to remember the credit card skimmers are a lot smarter then you or me and it's just a matter of time before it happens..... try to prevent it as much as you like but the skimmers are always two steeps in front.

The next big thing to worry about is the new non swipe cards for low cost transactions that are being introduced.... all you have to be is close to the card requiring no interaction with the card holder to complete the transaction.

Smart phones are becoming another concern for fraudulent activities.

The number of people trying to get public and private information regarding our business is increasing very fast with up to 10% of all calls we receive are from people gathering data.... some using very smart tactics and others not.

The day and age of computers is making every one vulnerable to attacks.... stuff you might of placed in a forum 6 years ago is still available today and think of how many people give out personal details about then selves over a period of time.

One EO member of here about 12 months ago had in his profile his life story including in depth information about his previous and current marriages, children, employers including names and job descriptions, where he has lived and his new residence and a whole lot more..... I sent him a PM informing him of the information and he did remove some stuff but there was still enough information there to use against him.

AnswerID: 467740

Follow Up By: Member - Len M(lizard) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:59

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:59
olcoolone
100% correct. Unfortunately wife and I know, as all unauthorised transactions still not credited back yet, believe they will be. Our card was not lost, not sure how the "B,s" got our details.
How ever a couple of more frighting events occurred after we noticed what had happened.
Events:-
Transaction was refused at local bottle shop so wife and I went on line to view account, eight unidentified transactions so rang security section of bank to alert, they informed us that there was "funny" things going on that is why they cancelled the card.
During the phone conversation with bank security they told us that during the previous night that a transactions was refused and the "B,s" had phoned them and said it was OK so the bank reopened the card which allowed for more unauthorised transaction and also allowed these people to change our password. We asked how on earth this could happen!!!
Security guy said that one of the most used security questions was mothers maiden name so should use something else. We changed all security questions pins etc.
The next three times we rang the bank for updates the first time they did not ask for security password when we asked why not they said we had given them enough info card number name and DOB. The next two times we asked why they were not asking for security password before any info was requested on both occasions the asked the old security password question which they had told us to change which now we have made three attempts to do so.
Good luck and safe transactions to all
FollowupID: 741904

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 13:23

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 13:23
not quite 100% correct.
NO matter what, any transactions after you have reported it compromised are the banks responsibility excepting of course if its you pulling a scam yourself.
FollowupID: 741914

Follow Up By: Member - Len M(lizard) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 14:20

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 14:20
Hi fish064

In our case all transactions that occurred before we new anything was happening, thus reported, have been credited back to our account. A few that happened after our reporting still to be credited back. I believe this is because of the time frame only. One thing I believe is also correct, if you increase your daily card limit above what the bank recommends/insures, the additional amount is not covered???
FollowupID: 741917

Reply By: vk1dx - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:57

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:57
Thank god for cash. My wife gets paid cash. Her work agreement many years ago stipulated this and they have not renewed the agreement. Same company same staff.

I have never used a pin number with my one and only card. I either use cash or sign every time. Yes; you can say they then have a copy of my signature. But lets face it crooks are lazy. They haven't the time to practice my signature to try and see if they can forge it.

I also make a big point out of staff who check my signature and also make sure those around hear it as well. Those that don't check the signature get a blast.

But lets face it 99% of those behind the counter wouldn't know how to check it anyway. But it's nice to see their face light up when you thank them for "doing the right thing".

So far not one problem.

AnswerID: 467747

Reply By: kev.h - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 14:06

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 14:06
Be very careful if the attendant does the entry askes if you want cash out -you say no- and then hands the terminal to you for your pin. IF it does not work the first time do not enter your pin a second time but ask that they cancell the transaction and do it again
REASON is if you say no to cash out they still process a cash out and when you enter what you think is your pin your entering a cash out amount, thats why your pin did not work the first time, when you re-enter your pin it works - you have not only handed over your pin no. (it shows as the cash out amount on the receipt) but you have provided a cash bonus from the till, nice if your pin starts with 9 - nearly $100 bonus, for the little a r sole that just served you they have all they need especially if they check the back of your card for the security code
Happened at drive through bottle shop with portable unit luckly bank were on to it got the funds re-payed
Get the docket and check it
AnswerID: 467761

Reply By: Holden4th - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:03

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:03
2 years ago I discovered that I could not use my credit card and on ringing the bank discovered it had been cancelled by them. They picked up a fraudulent transaction and their system, immediately froze my card which I think is amazing, No money was taken from my card and the bank was prompt in their action. What I really liked was that they didn't e-mail me and only left me a message on my phone to call them.

I am very security conscious and when I called the bank I wanted to know how someone had got access to my card details. Quite simply, they used a random generator to produce card number details and when my card number came up they tried to scam it from there. Because they didn't know who I was the scam fell over instantly.

Here is what I do to try and avoid being scammed.

CC requires both a signature and a pin (ask your bank for this service)

CC never has more than $300 available - if I need more I transfer from my savings account

All my ATM transactions are via my debit /savings account card and I cover the keypad when transacting.

If I want to withdraw money I normally use the supermarket cash out system. Who's going to be able to attach a skimmer to one of those? By doing this I also avoid that $2 rip off transaction fee. In fact I strongly suggest that everyone does this to put those money grubbing banking bastards in their place. Boycott their rip off machines!!!
AnswerID: 467788