Just finished a Cape Trip......WooHoo

Currently 9 months into our around OZ trip, and this arvo we arrived in port Douglas after doing the tip trip! My first thoughts on the journey are how spectacular the landscape is at the Tip, I've only ever herd about the journey to get there and so on, but once you walk to the top of the rocky headland and look around, the scenery is spectacular, a stunning piece of coastland dotted with numerous islands, almost Whitsunday like!

We took the Development road and 70% was a good dirt road, the other 30% was the teeth shattering corrugations that are so synonymous with that road, I was keen to do a section of the Tele track, so headed in from Bramwell junction (we are towing a (Goldstream Storm) I got about 2 k's in and came to Palm Creek, a section that quite a few travellers had told me I should be fine to get through.......It was definitely not something to attempt while towing, well not towing something the size of our Storm anyway, so I retreated somewhat disappointed to the Development road, the next section of road from there past the turn off to King Billys landing was the worst corrugations we have seen on our trip. We did do the short section of Tele track into Fruit Bat and Twin Falls, and camped a couple of nights at Twin/Eliot, we were lucky enough to have Fruit Bat to our selves for at least an hour or more, both on the way up and back, how good is that spot.

Anyway just a bit excited to have done the Cape trip

Cheers....Browny

Reply By: kidsandall - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 07:24

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 07:24
Well done Browny, it is an amzing place. One of my favourites. The falls are great to relax and unwind in. The tele track is great to do but not at the expense of damage. A wise choice you made I think.

Josh
AnswerID: 467721

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:54

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:54
Yeah spot on Josh,

I reckon we would of got the van through, but at what cost? But the temptation to avoid those development corrugations was strong.....!
FollowupID: 741965

Reply By: rumpig - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 09:47

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 09:47
when we were there in 2006 the view from the headland was also great, the one at the carpark was why we thought it was called the Tip though...the Rubbish Tip that is, and it wasn't rubbish from the tourists either.
AnswerID: 467738

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:57

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:57
RP,

Yeah it was disappointing, couldn't really tell whose rubbish it was to be honest, I reckon if there gonna have a little wheelie bin there to dispose of rubbish, there should be some sort of an effort to empty it consistently, better of not having a bin at all I reckon!

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 741966

Reply By: Member - Rocker (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:32

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:32
May / June next year can't come around qick enough.

Glad you enjoyed your time up there!
AnswerID: 467777

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 23:06

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 23:06
Cheers Scott,

Mate it will be interesting to hear how the roads are then, that Palm Creek crossing might be challenging Gunshot by then! Will you be going up in the rig and camper in your profile pic? If so I reckon you could get the camper through it, worth having a look anyway.

cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 741967

Follow Up By: Member - Rocker (NSW) - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 20:35

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 20:35

Hey Browny,

Our intent is to commence with the western side leaving from Normanton, of course hooking up with the Tele and its classic creek crossings a little further into the trip before tracking back down the eastern side.

To ensure we do have a good go at it mate, same rig though the camper is staying at home. I have fitted a canopy to the back of the cab chassis with a single bed and drawers etc. Looks like I'll be out with the crocs in the swag haha.

FollowupID: 742036

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 13:27

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 13:27
Scott,

Mate you'll be fine in that set up, maybe you can toss a coin each night to see who gets the swag....:)

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 742090