moving to queensland need advice..................

Submitted: Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 21:07
ThreadID: 89605 Views:3053 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
starting new job in Rockhampton area, looking to move with my wife and 5 kids ranging ages from 1-10. looking for best areas to settle near to Rockhampton. looking for areas that have most to offer a young family, was looking at moving to gracemere due to being local travelling to rocky. can anyone advise what gracemere has to offer , ie shops etc.., has the large shopping centre and high school been built yet

Reply By: Isuzumu - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 21:24

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 21:24
No big shopping centre and no high school in Gracemere.
AnswerID: 467886

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 22:11

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 22:11
But the new shopping centre is finally under construction. Took them a long time to sort out their argument with the council.
Cheers, John
FollowupID: 742045

Follow Up By: Mills5 - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 22:12

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 22:12
Lovely big cattle sales yard though ..are you planning on selling some up that way ?
FollowupID: 742046

Follow Up By: gerry d1 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 03:35

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 03:35
no cattle rareing for me, im a truck mechanic just making sure i make the rite choice for areas to settle with my wife and 5 kids..just want to be somewhere quiet but not deserted. for example not having to travel for 1/2 hr to get basic shopping.i have 5 kids as i said and two of them are reliable on gluten free produce as they are ceoliacs. i want to move to a good region that has schools but preferably on the outskirts of town, but at the same time be close enough to amenities....heard rockhampton is rough , any areas to avoid....i come from glasgow in uk , rough in places to
FollowupID: 742058

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 07:17

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 07:17
Sadly, not much football ih Rockhampton.
FollowupID: 742059

Reply By: Member - Stevo_62 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 07:46

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 07:46
I live in Nth Rocky and work in Gracemere . Gracemere has most services , big new shopping centre due to open by Xmas . No high school but plenty of bus services to Rocky High Schools . Has 3 primary schools .Gracemere to Rocky CBD normally only takes 10 minutes but up to 25 if you hit the morning peak hour , 8.15-8.45am . There is junior footy competition and a few other sports , swimming pool , skate park etc
AnswerID: 467911

Follow Up By: Member - Stevo_62 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 07:53

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 07:53
Forgot to add , the following areas may suit you as well , Glendale , Glenlee and Rockyview . All about 10 minutes north of Rocky , rural residential subdivisions ie 1 acre blocks
FollowupID: 742063

Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 08:20

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 08:20
As with anywhere in QLD, just make sure you buy or rent above the high water mark from the last floods.
Cant help with an area, havent been to Rocky for over 20 yrs.
Goodluck with the move.
AnswerID: 467915

Follow Up By: Member - John R (cQld) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 09:42

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 09:42
Flood maps available here.
FollowupID: 742067

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 11:52

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 11:52
yeppoon area is much nicer to le if you don't mind the drive.
Has all facilities..
Gracemere has grown to quick, and no infrastructure has kept up. The water pressure dies off to near nothing.. the traffic into Rocky is just one huge bottleneck..
but yeah, good saleyards, which is where I spent 90% of my time in Rocky anyway .. lol
Al
AnswerID: 467930

Reply By: Bernie C - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 16:43

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 16:43
Yeppoon is good except for the travel into Rocky but the big plus is the cooling sea breeze every afternoon that Rocky misses out on.
AnswerID: 467970

Reply By: Big A - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:28

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:28
I also live in tropical Rocky.

If I was to move to another town that I did not know very well, I would rent for a while. A PITA to move twice, but you get to know the place. Perhaps you are looking to rent, so this advice is superfluous.

Rocky is a fairly well stretched out sort of place, so where you work might influence where you might want to live. Shops are just shops, aren't they, but where you work needs to be convenient.

Bunnings, Glenfords, and 2 other major hardware stores are on northside. A Man's Toyshop is on southside. Groceries you can get anywhere!

You are are a truck mechanic. Two of the big truck places are at Parkhurst, which is on the opposite side of Rocky to Gracemere. Not only the trip to town, but every freakin traffic light in Rocky. Rat runs are hard when you have to cross the river. Another truck place is on the southern side of the city, so a lot more accessible to Gracemere.

My wife is on a Gluten Free diet and gets most of her stuff at Woolies at Allenstown.

No need to have indicator blinkers on your vehicle. We don't use em up here. Just change lanes when you want to. Not that anybody will let you in. Mostly joking!

"A".
AnswerID: 468047

Follow Up By: Big A - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:34

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:34
Forgot about Dan's and First Choice - the other important emporiums!

"A".
FollowupID: 742222

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:47

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:47
oh yeah, the traffic lights.. by far, the worst, most frustrating, traffic lights in Australia.
by the time you actually get to Uncle Dans place, you've died of thirst LOL
FollowupID: 742225

Follow Up By: gerry d1 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:49

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:49
will be renting to start...thanks for that . i will be there for few months before my wife and kids join me ,my main concern was the availability of gluten free products ,its two of my kids that it concerns ages 2 and 6 so not the easiest to please....hahaha
everyone goes on about housing above sea level, what areas to you are in the higher region,,,,
i was looking at gracemere, rockyview... we are not to fussy, dont mind travel to work,as long as where i stay, i have good access to supermarketts selling gluten free things....
have been on wooluies site etc, ta.
things seem to be better labled in aus than scotland in uk....

once again thanks for post regards g.
FollowupID: 742227

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:53

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:53
Gerry, Rocky is a very big place, with several large Supermarkets. Getting Gluten free products wont be a problem at all.
Have a look around The Range or Allenstown, not a bad spot and close to Woolies.
FollowupID: 742228

Reply By: gerry d1 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:57

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:57
thanks roadhouse,
thats reassuring , should be there in next 5-6 weeks.

regards G
AnswerID: 468048