Pajero on Simpson Oct 2011

Hi everyone. Just got back from the best trip I have ever done. We took 4 weeks off and did 7,500km in Central Oz. I had just recently sold my beloved 1992 Nissan Patrol (which we took everywhere, including a massive trip around Oz in 2000) and bought a 2005 3.8lt Pajero. My family and friends in their Pajero took off in early Sept to head for the Simpson Desert. We first did the usual thing and headed to Uluru and Kings Canyon. Fantastic places. We then stayed in Alice Springs for 5 days engulfed in smoke from the recent wild fires in the NT. We then headed to Mt.Dare only to fing out the Simpson was closed due to the fires so we went to Dailhouse Springs. Top Spot for a skinny dip under the stars. A few days later our dreams came true and the Simpson was open for us to cross. We were among the first to venture out from Mt.Dare and headed for Purni Bore. We spent the next four days slowly going over 1200 odd sand dunes and enjoying every moment out there. I never had the chance to 4WD in the Pajero before we left so I had know idea what she was capable of. I should not have worried. We crossed the Simpson in All Wheel Drive only (never engaged center diff) revs never over 2000, tyre pressure 22psi cold and only used 115lt petrol. Love That Car!!! What a spectacular place. It was a shame to reach Birdsville a leave a desert in amazing flowers and green foliage (apart from a few k's of burnt dunes) We crossed over on the French Line. Then we went down to Innaminka (Dig tree) then Mildura and towards home. Love this country!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reply By: Member - pistol - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 05:36

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 05:36
John R,
Glad you had a great trip, and all went well, we did it last year and was treated to a flower display, it was fantastic, and yes we luv this country as well

rgds Pistol
AnswerID: 467906

Reply By: patsproule - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 07:11

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 07:11
The sand must have been fairly firm.

In sand, I usually run my 05 Pajero with the centre diff lock in place and ASC switched off as it changes the programming of the traction control, and similar with the ASC off you dont get the fuel cut the moment it senses a breath of side-slip. You just have to watch it when it re-engages over 80kph.

Pat
AnswerID: 467909

Follow Up By: John R - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:57

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:57
hi pat,

Having just purchased the Pajero this was her first trip - crossing the Simpson. She performed magnificently. However, this is my first 4WD with Traction control and I am not very familiar with all the in's and out's. It came on twice while we went up a sand dune to slowly and pulled us up, still doing 2000rpm. The first time it came on I actually thought the car had broken something because this was a sound I had never experienced in 4WD before.
I would really appreciate it Pat if you could explain further the best way to use the Traction Control in the Pajero.
What part of the Traction control programming changes? Will it allocate more or less power to the certain wheels? This would really help.

john
FollowupID: 742177

Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 07:53

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 07:53
you've been to some fantastic spots. I'm lucky enough to have visited those places and share your same passion for this great country of ours. Good to hear the Pajero went well. Amazing what a light foot can do (many can learn from that). I took my old GQ patrol across the simpson and only did 11km / 100k's mileage fully loaded.

Soft tyres and clever driving is the trick, not a lead foot.
AnswerID: 467912

Follow Up By: John R - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:44

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:44
Much more enjoyable at a slow pace. It gives you more time to stare out the window and enjoy the splendor of the Simpson. Less wear and tear on vehicle and contents as well as more relaxing for the whole family. To be honest, it was one of the most relaxing trips we have ever done. Going slow over the dunes almost puts you in another world of bliss. Too much to see and do in this place. Even the kids had a drive (at dads pace- 10-15km per hour)
FollowupID: 742173

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 08:17

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 08:17
John R,

Sounds like you had a great trip.

It is a pity that you don't know the difference between All wheel drive and 4 Wheel Drive.

AnswerID: 467914

Follow Up By: tg123 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 12:18

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 12:18
Does making a comment like that make you feel better about yourself Wayne??

TG
FollowupID: 742078

Follow Up By: Dreadnought - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 12:35

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 12:35
Yeah Wayne, you seem to know what you're talking about.....How about you enlighten us all with your wisdom and explain to all of us the difference between All wheel drive and 4 Wheel Drive.....for those of us that don't know of course.........
FollowupID: 742081

Follow Up By: John R - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 16:50

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 16:50
What are you doing on this website Wayne? If you want to insult people who are just wanting to share the joy of this beautiful country then I suggest you find another chat forum because quite frankly no one appreciates your opinion or utter rudeness.... M
FollowupID: 742114

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 21:46

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 21:46
A case of the pot, camp oven & billy calling the kettle black :-))
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 742310

Follow Up By: tg123 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 09:34

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 09:34
What are you on about Craig? - or are you a mate of Wayne's???
TG
FollowupID: 742346

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 20:02

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 20:02
No TG, I don't know Wayne at all. Merely an observation pointing out the hypocrisy of the three reponses belittling Waynes original blunt reply as if they were in someway better. Pot calling the kettle black is an old colocial saying that suggests one is just as bad as the other.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 742391

Follow Up By: tg123 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 09:23

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 09:23
Come on Craig! Are you seriously saying that the arrogant rudeness Wayne expressed in his comment is OK and that forumites should merely ignore this type of thing?
I fully understand your colloquial saying about pots, kettles etc but actually don't think it applies in this situation.
However, each to their own, but I for one am sick of ignoring blatantly inflammatory and totally unecessary jibes.
TG
FollowupID: 742425

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 15:46

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 15:46

We did the Simpson in a couple of Pajeros back in 96. One was a 3.0 and the other a 3.5. Both used 90L of petrol (MtDare to B'ville).

I'll never forget the feeling of driving into Birdsville - like we'd achieved something pretty special!

Better start planning your next trip.

AnswerID: 467962

Follow Up By: John R - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:35

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:35
Hi Bob,

Seeing how much joy and education the kids (10yrs & 8 yrs) had while we ventured in the outback is enough for us to go again. We will do a two year plan, that is, every two years take a whole month or two off and travel.
We might do either Tassie or Cape York next, no sure. With such a beautiful country to visit, all the choices make it difficult to know what to see next. I just want to experience them all before the kids get to old and school becomes more important

john
FollowupID: 742171

Reply By: hunty01 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 16:39

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 16:39
Hi John

I crossed the simpson in late August via the french line just in time for the Birdsville races and what a magical spot! I took my 95 TD pajero and crossed it pretty much in AWD too at 18psi except when i broke a rear shock i engaged 4wd to stop to bouncing up the dunes. I Loved it up there im going to have to book in another trip as the wife wasnt happy about it being a boys trip. I used 92.5lt from oodnadatta to birdsville. One trip i will never forget!! Love this country to!!

AnswerID: 467969

Reply By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:21

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:21
Hi John,

Glad that you had a great trip, interesting to hear that you used 115lt of petrol, I would have thought that you would have used a bit more than that with your tyres @ 22psi cold, they would have heated up to somewhere around 26-28psi hot!
I only engage the center diff lock in my 80 series when it gets a bit soft & loose & I run 15-16psi cold (20-22 hot) the problem with running you tyres a bit on the high side is a tendancy to use the throttle a bit more when the wheels start to spin, this causes the whoops on the approach to some dunes that you would have noticed (not having a go it you, just what I,ve found).

I think that I stopped & had a chat to your group when I was on the way back from picking up the runners supplies.

AnswerID: 468039

Follow Up By: John R - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 21:21

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 21:21
Hi Jeff,

Yes, that is right, we did have a chat on our way to Purni Bore. We were the two Pajeros travelling together and you were returning from picking up the supplies from the cancelled marathon. I remember that I asked you for the recommended Tyre pressure, to which we experimented to find the right balance for our cars. We found that at 22psi cold and traversing as slow as we were (consistently stopping to take photos and admire the place we were in) the Tyre pressure seemed to never rise above 23-25psi. We never wheel spun on the sand dunes except one where I approached it in my usual relaxed pace. Just reversed and sped up a little, watching the revs - never over 2000rpm and no bouncing around to reach the top with ease. To be honest with you, we were a little disappointed with the ease of 4WDing to cross the Simpson. From all the stories and articles we had heard and read, we expected more of a challenge. It may have been the cars or just the way we drove. But having said that, it was an experience of a life time and cannot wait to come back.
My mate who was in the silver Pajero only used 120ltrs of petrol to my 115ltrs of petrol. We were both very surprised at this result as well seeming how I took 200ltrs with me.
If we were to travel east to west it would be more of a challenge and you would also use more fuel.
Thankyou so much for your advice and hospitality at Mt.Dare in a time when we thought our dream of crossing might have been dashed due to the fires.
Can't wait to meet again. East to West here we come!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 742305

Follow Up By: muffin man - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 22:44

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 22:44
I always presumed the cold pressure is what your tyre is and a hot pressure reading is simply that, in other words a hot pressure is not the actual pressure but a fake reading.
Eg if you start at 22 cold, later in the day the pressure reading is 26, do you drop back to 22 and by morning the cold pressure is now 18.
I suppose that's why everyone is different as there are is no exact way of calculating pressures relating to vehicle weight etc.
MM
FollowupID: 742315

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 10:21

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 10:21
John,

Come back in a couple of years when the Simpson Desert has dried our & the sand is as soft as talcum powder & you won't believe the difference!
You can almost double your fuel consumption & life can be very interesting.
Coming from east to west is quite a bit more challenging as the dunes have a steeper longer run up & it can be very easy to make a mess of it.

MM,

Tyre pressures are as you read them, the hotter the tyre gets the air expands in a confined space & the pressure goes up, we work on hot tyre pressures because that is the pressure in the tyre at that point in time, yes they will drop back as they get cold overnight but they heat up very quickly as soon as you start driving again.
We run tyre pressure monitors for that reason, it's interesting to watch the tyres pressure fluctuate as the tyre heats up & cools down.

While I was stopped talking to John the tyres on the ute were @ 21psi with almost a ton on the back when they cooled down the next day they were back to 16 psi.

Measuring the tyres footprint is a better way of determining what pressure that you should be at (300mm from memory).

FollowupID: 742349

Reply By: Member - Drew P (VIC) - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 21:36

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 21:36
You are lucky.

Arrived at Dailhouse Springs at 4pm with the intention of crossing the Simpson Desert. Desert closed at 2.30pm same day. Stayed 4 days in anticipation but no luck.

Skinny dipping I agree. Am envious of completing your dream. Will be back next year to have another go.
AnswerID: 468262