Yabbie's

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 18:28
ThreadID: 89621 Views:3396 Replies:4 FollowUps:10
Hi all, i was hoping someone out there could answer my question. I have been putting opera house yabbie pots in the dams we have out here on our property hoping to catch a feed of yabbie's. I have been using liver as bait, my problem is that im catching plenty of small bait size one's but no big one's. Does anybody know why this is? My theory is if there is small one's there has to be big one's so where are they lol

Reply By: BrownyGU - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 18:57

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 18:57
G'Day Sally,

I'm no Yabbie expert, but I have fished for them in various dams, and I've found not all dams have big Yabbies, some seem to just have hundreds of the little fellas, if the big ones were there you'd be catching them as well I reckon.

You just need a heap for a decent feed....!

Cheers....Browny
AnswerID: 467993

Reply By: Member - Silver Lux - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 19:03

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 19:03
My understanding is that when the dams start to become over populated, the dam will only produce small yabbies. I've found that if you can give the dam a good clean out, they tend to start increasing in size given increased ratio of food to yabbies. Depending on the dams, this is often easier said than done!!
AnswerID: 467994

Follow Up By: jothefw - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 15:30

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 15:30
I've heard that too. It's a good idea to transfer your little guys to a new dam and then wait - it won't take long for the ones left to make the most of the extra space!

It's the same principal as fish tanks I've heard, I used to have a cat fish and when I rehomed him to a bigger tank he doubled in size in a matter of months!
FollowupID: 742252

Reply By: sally e - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 19:51

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 19:51
Ok thanks heaps guy's :)
AnswerID: 468001

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 23:26

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 23:26
Oh... I can't resist asking... why the apostophe's ??
FollowupID: 742324

Follow Up By: sally e - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 21:07

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 21:07
You mean apostrophe's? coz u have to put an apostrophe when your adding an s onto the end of a word, that's what i was taught at school anyhow lol
FollowupID: 742401

Follow Up By: sally e - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 21:09

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 21:09
Or did you mean my cool smiley face at the end of my sentence? if u look at this :) from the other angle its a smiley face ;) and thats a wink ...
FollowupID: 742402

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 22:56

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 22:56
Apostrophes are used in two ways. They either show that something belongs to someone e.g. Sally's shoes, or when a word is shortened e.g. it's means it is. No other times.

Everyone seems to have gone crazy putting them in whenever an 's' is at the end of a word... yep I'm a teacher.

Look above.... no apostophe in Apostrophe's, way's, belong's, time's..... see?
FollowupID: 742411

Follow Up By: wafarmer - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 02:09

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 02:09
On the question of your yabbie's it's because of the over population so a good fishing out will help increase the size of the critters.
You can also feed them and one of the feeds we used was lupin's (not too sure about the apostrophe as it depends on the ownership of them as also we could be describing more than one etc) they are a safer food source than wheat or barley and it is better to start with a small amount and see how quick they are consumed.
If there is/are (now I'm becoming downright jumpy) any left after a few days cut the amount in half don't feed them if you want to trap them within a few days as they don't tend to respond as they aren't hungry.

It can at times be difficult to decipher some spelling and grammar and I know this is a place of learning so maybe a weekly thread for the teachers who just need to keep imparting their knowledge.

wafarmer
FollowupID: 742414

Follow Up By: Nigel Migraine - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 09:20

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 09:20
Since the dawn of the internet it has been considered rude and belittling to question the spelling or grammar of others and, invariably, it is a risky thing to do – as we shall see.

“Oh... I can't resist asking... why the apostophe's ??”

Why the apostrophe in “apostophe's”? Why the two question marks? Why the space before the question marks? I’ll assume the misspelling is a typo.

“Apostrophes are used in two ways. They either show that something belongs to someone e.g. Sally's shoes, or when”

An inappropriate use of sentence structure; the two sentences should either be joined by a conjunction or separated by a semicolon. There should not be a comma after “shoes”.

“Look above.... no apostophe in Apostrophe's, way's, belong's, time's..... see?”

If you’re going to scatter ellipses around like confetti then, at least, be consistent in their structure (normally three points) and two typos. (apostophe) is just sloppy.

I commend the Oxford Style Manual to you – I think you would learn much from it.

And for those interested:

http://www.apostrophe.org.uk/

And to the OP: my understanding, also, is that over-population will be the most likely cause. Put a couple of pike in there for a month :)
FollowupID: 742424

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 18:43

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 18:43
lol... hook line and sinker!
FollowupID: 742469

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 23:48

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 23:48
Ahh the standard response when brought back to size.....

Well done Nigel

Browny
FollowupID: 742697

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 11:21

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 11:21
yep overpopulation leads to stunting in many animals - redfin are another which comes to mind
AnswerID: 468119

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 15:33

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 15:33
Yep, feed things and they grow.
FollowupID: 742807