How things can go wrong
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 20:51
Lifethics
I was up around the Flinders a few weeks back and about 10ks off the main road on a dirt track when I pulled up at a dry
creek bed. As I got out of the Patrol I heard the front right tyre deflating.
Plan A: No worries, I've got a good spare on the back BUT I had padlocked it on. For the life of me I could not find the key. Even the missus couldn't find the key.
Plan B: Out comes the tyre repair kit. I jacked the truck up, turned the wheel so I could get to the hole and fairly easily plugged the hole. Out comes the you beaut 4X4 air compressor (made in a big foreign country)- connect it all up and within about 20 seconds WHAM goes the 30A fuse.
well I had a few spares but the second fuse blew in about a microsecond.
Plan C: I opened up the compressor and found that the live wire had only insulation tape covering the connection and in the heat (plus shoddy quality) it had come off and was grounding. Easily fixed and reassembled. The missus still talking to me at this stage. Connected the pump and on getting to about 10bar the pump went very quiet. Checked the air flow and found it would not even blow a feather.
Plan D: Disassembled the pump (this time the whole thing) and found that the little valve on the piston had broken off (did I say good quality).
Plan E: Thank goodness a fellow traveler came along and with his compressor and we were up and off in no time.
The following morning the tire was flat again and with a pair of borrowed bolt cutters I managed to reclaim my spare.
I headed down to
Hawker and there the good guys fixed my puncture (properly) for me. Said the the hole in the tire was more like a cut and too wide for a single plug.
The moral of the story is that no matter how prepared with backups I was, I still needed a helping hand from another kind 4X4 bush lover.
Note: Name changed from Fred L (too many Fred's around these days!!!)
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:14
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:14
Gday Fred,
Good story and plenty to learn from your experience with dodgy pumps and tyre plugs.
On the issue of padlocks: they often sieze up in the 4wd environment, so I avoid them and find another way of locking the spares - in my case I have a long bolt with nyloc nut preventing the spare being stolen from my canopy.
Re Plugging - it is a bit of an art and in the Flinders most punctures will come from sharp rocks penetrating the tread of tyres that have too much air. Tread punctures from sharp rocks are hard to plug - I've found bits of rock still in the hole and the steel belts seem to prevent a plug (or several plugs) from creating an adequate seal.
These days I use plugs for punctures in the sidewall and shoulder but usually put a patch from the inside for a tread puncture. Getting someone in the next town to fix it is always a great idea!!
phil
Follow Up By: Lifethics - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:49
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:49
Guilty: I was only expecting to do about 30ks so thought 'she'll be right' and left the tire pressure full on. i need to get a kit which will enable me to put a patch on the inside.
Thanks for the the idea on the spare locking - I took the easy option a few years back and it came back and bit me. I will probably find the key one day - when I give the old patrol a good cleanup.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:58
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:58
Gee Fred,
I would have found that key within five minutes of cutting the padlock.....just after my wife had told everyone else in the caravan
park what a goose I was...
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:04
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:04
Fred,
I keep the key to the locks on the spare
wheels on my key ring and I put electrical tape over the key hole and around the locks to keep the dust out.
Cheers Dave
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:07
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:07
I use relatively small padlocks so that I can break them off if the padlock seizes up. The way I figure it, a small padlock will stop the opportunistic thief while a determined thief will somehow take it regardless of the size lock.
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:32
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:32
A mixture of metho & graphite powder can be sprayed into padlocks, to make them a bit more reliable in dusty conditions. The metho acts as the carrier, to get the powder into the lock, and doesn't leave any residue that collects dust.
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 20:29
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 20:29
I wrap our Spare Tyre Lock with electical tape, and I make sure I test the lock on a regular basis.
We also have two keys.
Reply By: Member - OnYaBike - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 23:05
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 23:05
Murphy's Law still holds true - whatever can go wrong will go wrong, and at the worst possible moment. You could have had a flat tyre in a caravan
park, but no ...
But it also illustrates that when something fails, it puts added pressure on the next weakest link in the chain till that fails, and so on.
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 22:01
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 22:01
funnily enough - in 6 years of travel on some pretty way out tracks, I've only had 1 flat, and that was pulling into the service station at
Marla .... go figure !
Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:55
Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:55
Scott,
I had one on the bitumen just as I departed
Marla to the North.
Makes you wonder!
Reply By: becboo68 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 07:46
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 07:46
Hi Fred, aren't we lucky we live in such a country where people don't mind helping others! I love Australia!
Bec
Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:44
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:44
Your right bb,
But there is a few knuckle draggers on this sight that would have thought "serve ya self right" and driven off laughing, I'm glad they haven't posted here!
gee ya had a go Fred at fixing the compressor,
well done ! Don't want to sound like a know it all Fred, but some things you can't try and save a few dollars on, a quality compressor is definitely a must have I reckon.
Cheers....Browny
(have you found the key yet)
Follow Up By: Lifethics - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 13:21
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 13:21
Hi Browny, a couple of things i did not add. I felt it absolutely necessary (peace of mind) to have a compressor so bought the one and only from the petrol station in
Hawker, Guess what, it was in a different box, different branding different colors but absolutely exactly the same unit. Unfortunately I just had to have one!!
I also did a bearing on the caravan travelling down the Murray in Victoria. Fortunately no major dramas.
Fred
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 08:16
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 08:16
Gday Fred L
The key will be under the glove box between the seats , jammed between the plastic glove box housing and ready to fall out to be hidden under the
seat beside the
seat runner .
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:34
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:34
Ha ha, sounds like the voice of experience speaking, Muz?
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:29
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:29
Gday Bob
It is old son . Thats exactly where i found
mine.
Follow Up By: Lifethics - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 13:16
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 13:16
Given up looking for the key ... the lock has gone to padlock heaven
Reply By: kidsandall - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:05
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:05
I'm amazed at the number of people we met that weren't prepared with spares. You thought you had covered yourself but for whatever reason things didn't go according to plan. You were able to fix most things and in worse case could've probably got yourself home (all be it very slowly).
We met a guy in
cape york who didn't even have a screw driver.
"Out comes the you beaut 4X4 air compressor (made in a big foreign country)" Sometimes it is worth buying better quality although this is still not fool proof. I have seen tears in tyres fixed with plugs, just use more than one and drive slowly. Ok in an emergency.
I always had several spares of all keys I needed. @ spares hidden in the car somewhere. We just taped our padlocks up to keep out the dust and spray them occasionally with wd40.
Josh
Follow Up By: harryopal - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:26
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:26
Good morning all,
Moved to
Townsville some years ago. Upstairs unit. Couldn't find key. Scaled drainpipe and up into side bathroom window. Did that twice before adding a spare backdoor key with the car keys taped onto a strut under the car with
grey gaffer tape in a secure and not obvious spot. The taped keys have saved me a few times after locking door with key in ignition.
But God, please spare me from tyre punctures.
Harry
Reply By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:28
Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:28
Hi all involved,
Yes, the most unexpected should be expected. Especially on bad corrugations.
You can carry all the necessary spares for very remote travel but ours was the one
We didn't have!
A broken return fuel line Solenoid as
well as Glue we had glue but not glue capable to hold with Diesel.
We are usually blessed by O'Tooles Law but this time we were lucky.
A remote servo had a mechanic bot he didn't have a spare return fuel solenoid however, he had just enough special glue which allowed hubby to Temporarily fix it with bit s of plastic garden hose which he carries. $4000 ks later it is still holding!
We are getting a new one for $300.
Lesson learn' t ........Carry glue compatable with your fuel! So obvious but not thought of. You can only take so many spares! Yes, we'll be getting a spare.
Take care & safe travels .
Bye for now Ma.