herded into caravan parks...moo

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 21:50
ThreadID: 89628 Views:5682 Replies:24 FollowUps:25

Related Pages

I might sound like a rebel, but I am tired of being herded into expensive caravan parks when we enter citys and towns. We are a family of 4 and have been on the road for 9 months. We are now heading down the east coast and seems like we have the choice of staying well out of town (not ideal for the kids eschool), or pay $46-$50+ for a site (the kids add $8-$10 each). We see lots of spots where we could tuck in for the night and not bother anyone, but often have "no camping" signs posted. So my question is...legally, how long can we pulll over in day stops, no camping areas, or non-signed areas before being fined or kicked out? Thanks for any advice!

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:18

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:18
i may be missing omething but why not stay at a caravan park ????? you have all the facilitys..
You must have planned for it as you have been so far nine monthes as you say, it is expensive with kids, no choice other than to sell them hahaha so it will only make it worse if you dont plan for it eh...
You do realise it costs about the same to be "on the road" as it is does to be at a "home" so always make certain you have alowed for it.. once you start to bend rules and cut corners it all starts to go nasty and it simply HAS to be fun otherwise you quickly need to re-think what exactly what you are doing.. and maybe call it quits n go back :-)
Joe&M&kds
AnswerID: 468020

Follow Up By: farouk - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:29

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:29
Joe,
Must be nice to have plenty of money so that expensive caravan parks do not worry you!
Never ceases to amaze me that when someone asks for a little advice there is always a response which borders on a lecture and has no relevance except to further the cause of caravan parks in their aim to close all free camping areas and then they can charge what they like as there will be no other option.
Colin
FollowupID: 742214

Follow Up By: Livin On The Road - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:39

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:39
I don't know about the original poster, but most of us who plan on free camping budget extra in the purchase of the set-up so that we can be self-sufficient. I find that a lot of caravan parks are not particularly family friendly.

I don't think that the costs can be compared that simply when it is long term travel. With four kids, it is usually about $60 - $70 a night for a caravan park. Why on earth would someone pay that when they can stay in a provided free camp? No one has ever beena ble to explain to me satisfactorily that four kids use an additional $35 - $40 worth of resources EVERY NIGHT. They use more water, but that much?!? We did at one place because they had so many kids facilities it was our entertainment money. If we were just charged a base rate, then it would be different, but at double or triple the base rate because of kids it is not an option.
FollowupID: 742216

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:27

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:27
Spot on Farouk,

Seems to be a lot of this "lecturing" going on on this site of late, all we need is constructive advice, or don't bother responding!

By the way, I agree that often the charge for kids is to steep, we only have one 9yo, so it's not to bad, speaking to other travellers some with 3 or 4 kids, ads an extra $30 or $40 a night, if there anything like my young bloke, the only water he uses in 2 or 3 days is when he brushes his teeth !

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 742221

Follow Up By: Geoff H (Q - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:57

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:57
Get one of the Motoring Books which show the quality and price of places to stay. We never pay more than $30 for an overnight stay, sometimes only $10.

Ok at the dearer ones we sometimes forget to mention the kids are staying, my way of protest.

The other option is to have a shorter holiday, I know we should all have 365 days a year on holiday but then reality sets in.
FollowupID: 742229

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 01:00

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 01:00
yes i guess you are right, i have plenty of money so expensive caravan parks dont worry me at all, i look at the year and plan my holidays, try as best as i can to fit it in with the kids holidays but that mostly does not work, i get dates and then know the climate of that time of the year, i then plan a trip to fit in best as practical as possible for the climate, i then work out the costs at the MOST expensive i will come across, i check me bank, yep i can afford it and off we go, if and when i cant afford it i stay at home, that way the kids are not taken on a trip where dad and mum are constantly complaining about "how expensive it is" or "what a rip off" ..... they alway see us happy, we enjoy the trip, we RESPECT the park owners and the job that they are trying to do as we did OUR JOB and that paid for the trip we are on, if we think it is to expensive we simply dont go there, if we did the kids would call us stupid for doing so and rightly so ... you know some people complain about fuel prices, dirty fuel, poor service and a few post later complain about the "monopoly" of big operaters ..... if we continue to run down the small operators we will have COLES and WOOLIES own every fuel station in aussie and fuel will cost us a heap more than it does now and see who complains that "service" is gone, prices are "fixed" ..... and the same for parks, we NEED competition and we vote with our FEET and POCKETS not by posting shallow complaints, if they were really bad and expensive they simply would not be here now, business is REALLY HARD at the moment in the tourisim market so we need to support then as best as we can, trust me, we really need them, yes a minority do want to camp free and good on them but they are also the vocal minority, a tad like Bob Brown ....... and maybe Julia but i wont go there eh
Ok thats my "lecture" .....
Cheers guys and dont forget, we are "Doomadgee Roadhouse", we will soom be investing in accomodation, caravan park and major up-grade to our storage/power supply/freezers/chillers so we can survive the wet season, probally around a million bucks, sorry but we will be to expensive for those that cant afford it, we will have a really nice pool, but again expensive, we probally will be VERY expensive for fuel so dont bother to fill up here and it most probally will be contaminated even though we spent $650,000 on the tanks, filters, pumps and assd gear and move about 2000L per day we will still gladly rip you off, we carry 140,000L of fuel so we dont ever run out and that means we have to fill it chocka block full at the start of the wet just in case and we have got down to 6000L so it is only just enough, that will cost us HUNDREDS of THOUSANDS of DOLLARS to keep it full, just so we have fuel for when you need it .................... last bill 2 weeks ago was $96,000

OK......... point is Richard Branson once took a flight ...... he got stuffed around by the checkin, he was delayed, he was certain he was ripped off for what he thought was not an expensive flight .... so he got on to the forum of "flyoz.com" and complained about everything he could....... no hang on, he actually sat down and started his own airline, because he was positive he could do it cheaper & better and he did, if you can do it cheaper & better you are more than welcome .....
Cheers guys
J&M&KidsnDogsnCatnCow (cow is a new addition to the family)
FollowupID: 742327

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:33

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:33
Jeez mate, after a wrap like that for your roadhouse you better hope Mr Branson doesn't decide to call in. He might just decide to start his own just over the road from you guys..........lol.

Just kidding I suspect he is probably busy figuring out if he has enough loose change in the ashtray to buy Qantas.........I hear it may be going cheap soon.
Oh well I guess that's market forces at work.

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 742366

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 18:42

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 18:42
Understand the tome Joe and frankly I don't mind paying a higher rate in the smaller areas if for nothing else then to help keep them afloat. But............I do not like some of the over the top pricing that we are starting to see on the eastern seaboard.......$48 pn for me and the missus to put the 9x9 tent up on a piece of grass and park 50 metres away and a 300 metre wander to the crappers and showers is IMHO a bit tooooooooooo much. If it hadn't been nearly dark o'clock when we arrived I wouldn't of put the tent up. In fact if I'd know the area a bit more I would've gone to one of the motels...for just $20 more.

Oh and this particular park didn't have all the facilities that are normally provided in the top shelf parks ie kids playground, pool, TV room, camp kitchen etc. I won't bag them out here but I have bagged them out personally and in writing. What irks me even more is that this particular park is council owned and operated. Off the soapbox now!
FollowupID: 742379

Follow Up By: Pezza QLD - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 22:49

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 22:49
Wow, well after reading the long winded, self promoting rant/lecture above by Joe & Mel, which provided absolutely no help whatsoever to the OP, and some of their other "you are a freeloader if you free camp" posts, I have made the decision to NEVER stay at the Doomadgee Roadhouse in any of my travels up that way.
I'll still be nice and wave as I drive past on my way to the next free camp though :-)

Pezza

FollowupID: 742690

Follow Up By: farouk - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 10:50

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 10:50
Pezza,
Well said mate, I have come across quite a lot of people who think they are the greatest but to post a reply like Joe did certainly was the best..

Even tho he has supporters who will/may patronise his Roadhouse there will be a lot who will give it a miss unless they have no option and to warn people to stay away because he will be too expensive sort of beggars belief!!

Colin
FollowupID: 742703

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 12:28

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 12:28
Pezza, I'm sure Joe will miss your $1.50 you would have spent.
He'll probably be having a better chuckle at you as you wave on your way past.
FollowupID: 742711

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:09

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:09
now, now children ...........
You know i dont want everyone to drive past ..... i would far rather they called in and said "hi", you can have a coffee on us, rest and relax, dont buy anything at all, we have had some already this year that have broken down, i dont think they spent a thing with us, but stayed with us the night, and enjoyed a beer (or few) with us .... that is my point guys, you have the feet and the money and they vote .............
Try as hard as you can to plan ahead and check prices BEFORE you stay, if to expensive DONT stay but please dont bag them .... when they do close and you are in desperate need of accomodation, van broken down and it is pouring rain ............. you will be ever so glad you did bite your lip and stayed there in the past .........
Oh and it is "self promoting"as we are paid up business members, oh and also private members, supporting another small business ...... what comes around goes around i guess so, hope i see you pop in one day for a cuppa on us .....
Cheers all
FollowupID: 742760

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:20

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:20
Hi Mark

You said "We see lots of spots where we could tuck in for the night and not bother anyone, but often have "no camping" signs posted."
If you were able to be tucked in out of the way then so will dozens of others seek the same opportunity; that will then create a bother for sure.

Sadly the more people that hit the road the more restricted camping will become - because of the pressure of overloading.
If C parks were to provide more room then that means they have less bays so they will charge more!

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 468021

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:42

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:42
just do it discreetly, dont mention it on here where you will be chastised severely by some people as a tight++++ etc.
Of course it ALL depends on the ranger who finds you and probably your attitude to them I guess.

Whats the worst that can happen? Most of those signs you mention have the penalty at the bottom, and I doubt its more than $100, if you get 2 nights without being caught your ahead!
AnswerID: 468023

Follow Up By: kidsandall - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:30

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:30
And more places get closed and it just makes it harder for others.

Josh
FollowupID: 742207

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 23:18

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 23:18
Agree with Fisho.... be discreet. Don't leave a mess and work the odds. Lots of places in Tassie welcome overnight stops.... hopefully more little towns across OZ will follow suit.
FollowupID: 742322

Reply By: Wandy - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 23:14

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 23:14
Mark, I am probably telling you to suck eggs but Camp 6 is brilliant and gives 000's of free camping sites. No need to try the wrong places and get fined when you can have a great free night with no doubt many others doing thevsame thing.
AnswerID: 468025

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:01

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:01
It is very difficult to find good cheap campsites or caravan parks along the east coast, especially if you want to be within reach of a town. I suggest you just pick a small number of coastal towns you really want to visit (many will rip you off for everything, not just camp fees) and put up with paying the fees. Out of school holidays it is still worth ringing around for an older less flash park that is a little bit more reasonable - there are a few left if you look. eg Try north of Coffs Harbour and north of Forster/Tuncurry.
Then head inland where everything will be much cheaper and more relaxed and you will find good cheap or free camps. You can do day trips to the coast if you want to! There is plenty to see and do a bit inland.
We avoid the coast highway whenever possible! Lynne
AnswerID: 468036

Reply By: skulldug - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:03

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:03
Mark,
A few years ago when the last of our kids left home and we had no one to look after our two dogs, we inadvertently became dog travellers. At first we missed the big grassy seaside CPs. The ones with big Coloured bouncy bags and swimming pools that look like minestrone on a hot day. Best thing that has ever happened to us. We now look for smaller parks and have found some real gems. Probably my imagination, but the people seem nicer and they are definitely cheaper.

On free camping where not allowed, we are still working so tend to travel to our destination in one hit. If I need a quick sleep I find a place to park legally and stay long enough to have a cuppa a meal and a snooze. Setting up the annexe and leaving loo paper in the bushes is not what I mean. Not sure what I would do if I were too tired to drive safely and someone asked me to move on?

skull
AnswerID: 468037

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:44

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:44
Skull, been in the position of pulling over for a rest because I was too tired to go any further. Now this spot was about 70kls from a town so I am not sure what the local shire ranger was doing that far out but he told me in no uncertain terms to move on or get booked. I said ok give me a look at your ID so I can get your name so that if we are in an accident and survive I can tell the attending police about being ordered to move on. The response..... well ok but make sure you are not here when I come back tomorrow...

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 742368

Reply By: Member - sassenach.girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:08

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:08
The cost of staying at caravan parks with kids in inevitably expensive, which is why we've planned for a 50/50 split. Some caravan park stays, some free camps, some cheapo National Parks. Keeps the costs down and we get the best of all worlds. Each has a different experience, and each is planned for.

Sass.

AnswerID: 468038

Reply By: kidsandall - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:47

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:47
Hi Mark, When travelling you need to budget for all costs including kids and caravan parks. We free camped heaps when on the road but in some areas, mainly heavily populated, it is harder to do. That's when we stayed in parks and just wore the cost. Day spots are just that. If people camp in them, they get closed down. We travelled from Bermagui in NSW to Adelaide in SA and free camped legally the whole way. Heading up the east coast we paid for most camps as there aren't many free spots.
I would not take fisho64's advice as it is a good way to get these places closed permanately.
You are probably a responsible camper who cleans up after yourself. Problem is others see you camped in a no camping spot and they leave it mess, then the whole area gets locked up. I know of several day stops that have been closed because people camped there. Unfortunatly caravan fees are part of travell.
In Coral bay WA there is no free camping anywhere near the town so you have to pay for caravan park fees.

Josh
AnswerID: 468041

Follow Up By: Member - Hunnam Family - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 17:52

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 17:52
Coral Bay is worth paying for!!! Probably our favorite place in Aus!!
FollowupID: 742275

Follow Up By: kidsandall - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 20:22

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 20:22
Absolutely coral bay is worth every cent. I caught a 50kg black marlin off coral bay so it is high on my list of favourites. Amazing place to visit.

Josh
FollowupID: 742296

Follow Up By: oz doc - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 09:18

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 09:18
Now isn't that interesting. I thought Coral Bay was terrible 'value' for money at the caravan park. We were located on a small sandy square out in the full sun. At the time the caravan park was chokkas and the facilities all stretched to their limits.Not to be confused with Coral Bay the place- fantastic I agree. However to put it all in perspective- Coral Bay is a reasonably remote area so I wasn't expecting the same facilities as say 'Mandalay' down in Busselton.Plus- going camping at peak seaon to a place like Coral Bay- you have to expect it to be busy. Its all part of the 'experience' of camping. Some things you just can't compare on a dollar value.doc.
FollowupID: 742344

Follow Up By: kidsandall - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 22:56

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 22:56
Coral bay caravan park=$33 a night
Catching a 50 kilo Marlin=Priceless.
Your right OZ Doc, somethings ya just can't put a price on

Josh
FollowupID: 742412

Reply By: Livin On The Road - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:48

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:48
We've got the free camping guide. In nearly two years on the road, we've stayed in six caravan parks.

As a query, why are you doing an e-school? Seems like the issue is the e-school if you're having to stay near towns for that. I don't know how old your kids are, but we use home schooled curriculums that I teach them. The homeschooled curriculums are often heavily scripted and walk you through what to do. Might be worth exploring that as an option ... unless the option that you are using particularly suits them. We carry about ten books for the three kids combined, the rest is on pdf etc etc. You're probably pretty much doing it all already anyway.
AnswerID: 468045

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:01

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:01

If it is a day stop or no-camping area than the answer is most likely ‘not overnight’. If it isn’t signed it probably depends on who owns it.

But possibly the expectation of being able to stay close to a town or city for free is a little unrealistic. I’m sure there are lots of spots in some towns or cities where you could tuck into and not bother anyone, problem is there’ll be another dozen people joining you and that’s bound to bother someone. How do councils deal with that? They provide a place where it can be done, and who should pay for this? Someone has to pay, whether it is you or local ratepayers. And let's not kid ourselves travelling is expensive.

This is a big issue that isn’t going to be easily resolved especially with the number of people travelling with self-contained caravans and RVs. The problem with self-contained RVs and caravans is they don’t come with their own plot of land...
AnswerID: 468046

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 12:57

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 12:57
Hi Mark,
With kids, near 13, 11, & 9 it can be costly staying at parks.
We've just spent a month on the road, 6600km's Google Map, so we understand what costs are involved with staying in parks.
Now, we are far from being well off, but we bit the bullet and joined the Big4 group which saved a little not a lot but some, but still expensive as you say up to $50 a night. But we used their facilities, the kids loved it, we washed every third, and we knew that the amenities would be of a standard that we were happy with. Also, the parks were handy to sights and other attractions that we wanted to see and let the kids experience some of the activities that are on offer close by. We budgeted for this cost, it had taken two years to save up for this trip and we would of loved to of free camped, but decided, may next trip we will do this.
Anyway, our experience was to spend the money and enjoy other aspects of our trip and save money elsewhere.
Just my thoughts on it.
happy & safe travels, your kids will love it just as ours did, and are looking forward to our next trip.

AnswerID: 468052

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 17:08

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 17:08
I agree!!! Big 4 are great and generally have great amenities.. The daily cost of staying in good Caravan Parks is sometimes easily forgotten when you see your kids having a ball in the pool.. I know that is the case with us,,, regards Michael

FollowupID: 742270

Reply By: Fatso - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 13:43

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 13:43
It's all in the planning there Mark & where you choose to go.
Like some posters have mentioned there are plenty of resources out there to help you plan a trip that will fit your budget.
It is possible to travel this country without paying for camping.
It just may not be possible if you choose to go to certain places.
Classic case is the Cairns region. The entire area from the Northern boundary at the Bloomfield River to the Southern boundary just North of Innisfail has 2 free camps on public land & they are both at Babinda 38 miles south of the city of Cairns.
At the same time inside this area you can get an ocean front caravan park unpowered site for $15 per night for 2 plus $5 per extra person.
Or you can get in close to the city & go to Qld's only 5 star van park & pay $45 plus $10 or more per extra person per night.
A lot of caravanners are avoiding Cairns all together these days & going to the Atherton Tablelands for their tropical experience. There are plenty of free & near free camps up there & heaps of attractions & services.
Another popular caravan spot is Mission Beach. But it comes with trappings for the unprepared.
The beach front council caravan park at North Mission Beach is $17 for an unpowered site. That $17 is the family rate & is for 2 adults & 4 children. That's right, 4 children. A real old fashioned family rate. Not the modern 2 children under 7 you see at some places. The unpowered sites are the ones that are right on the beach at that one as well.
Directly across the road from the council park is the Hideaway Caravan Park at over $30 for just 2 people & it's not on the beach front.
At Bingal bay, which is at the far Northern end of the Mission Beach there is a tiny council camp ground on the beach front without power but has hot showers & that is only $15 per night. I think that is also for a family of 6.
So I reckon it's all about choice.
No one actually forces you to go or stay anywhere.
That is totally up to the individual.
The regulators only tell you where you can't go & where you can't stay.
You can free camp if you go to where the free camps are.
If that is what you want, then I recommend you arm yourself with the Camps 6 book & a couple of others & plan your trip to the places that can accommodate your budget.

Good luck & happy travels Mark.
AnswerID: 468054

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 03:10

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 03:10
good post and well done......you dont happen to work for "camps six" hahaha just kidding ..... you have put that very well
FollowupID: 742329

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 15:34

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 15:34
I know a lot of Caravan Park Owners/Managers are willing to drop the Kids Fee when you Haggle.

Rather than have few vacant sites and not earning dollars, they will charge for adults only.

People have to start Haggling, you have nothing to lose.

AnswerID: 468063

Reply By: jomahk - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 16:04

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 16:04
Oh no! not another thread on caravan park bashing. There hasnt been one for at least a week now. Those villianous park owners - conspiring and colluding to force (herd) you into their overpriced parks and get their grubby hands on your money. Shame on them!
Whatever happened to petrol company bashing? That was all the rage a year or two ago. Nowdays everyone just drives into the servo and fills up at $1.50/ltr without batting an eyelid.
So hold firm caravan park owners. This will all pass in time and people will accept your fees without a whimper or a murmer as they move on to complaining about some other cost or cost increase that they shouldnt have to endure but can do nothing about. Ho hum - life goes on.
AnswerID: 468068

Follow Up By: farouk - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 18:51

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 18:51
Jomahk
You are right in one aspect of your reply and that is that we accept the price of fuel but only because there are no other options so we have to pay, but your advice to caravan park operators does tend to place you in the category of somebody who has plenty of money and has no consideration to the many pensioners out there who need to free camp and reasonably priced caravan parks who charge a reasonable fee so that they can enjoy caravanning in there retirement
There are plenty out there who have fees of around $22 a day and not this $30-$40 range and could easily charge more, Buronga NSW and Gracemere Qld to name a couple and for you to advise the caravan parks to keep on with their exorbinant charging does tend to place you in the elitist bracket. Perhaps you have a vested interest!
Colin
FollowupID: 742281

Follow Up By: Member - Hunnam Family - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 20:00

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 20:00
So many of the parks are now owned by investment companies such as Discovery and Aspen there is an opportunity for other operators to cash in and attract the famil market.

And Jomahk why bother entering a conversation when you interrupt with posts like this. How about finding something better to do with your time....

FollowupID: 742294

Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 16:56

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 16:56
Hi Mark!
Hope you and your family are having a fantastic time. Try going to see the local council and see if you can camp in the showground. The ammenities are not as flash but your kids will have plenty of room to run around. I know I would camp in our showground right on the riverfront, shady trees what more can you ask for. Also try the small villages outside the bigger towns and try their recreation or sportsgrounds. Hope this helps. I know how hard it can be to make the pennies go round so understand your frustration. Enjoy your travels.
Barb
AnswerID: 468070

Reply By: Member - Hunnam Family - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 19:46

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 19:46
I agree with a couple of posters who would prefer advice be given to the member seeking it and those who want to dish out a lecture to keep it to themselves.

We have done some free camping but use caravan parks nearly all the time. As a family of 6 it does get expensive and frustrating for a $30 powered site becomes a $70 powered site because we're holidaying with kids.

It's about time the van parks (are you listening Big 4 and Top Tourist) realised not everyone waits until retirement age to see our country. How about a reasonable rate for a family group? We have to double the cost of a powered site when we check in! And before ExploreOz do gooders tell us we knew that before we left, yes we did. Apart from ome extra water for showers, we still only plug one caravan into the power and take up the same amount of space as the grey nomads but pay twice as much. That is probably why sometimes we 'lose' a kid or two.
AnswerID: 468084

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 20:26

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 20:26
Hi Mark

If it says no camping, you can be fined.

You have already been given lots of different ideas. I would try and choose a mixture of free/low cost and CPs as the latter are a great social arena for the children, and sometimes it is the only way to get to see key places. It is usually not cost effective to drive long distances from a free camp to see an attraction in a major town. Spend the rest of the time further inland, where many struggling towns provide free and low cost camping as a way of attracting business into their towns. You will also develop an eye for finding places to 'leave no trace but your tyre prints' places that are not signed. For ideas on what to look for see Free Camping - How to find a Camp Here.

I do believe we are discriminated against when roadside rest areas are there for people to rest - unless they are carrying their beds with them then it suddenly becomes naughty. This varies from state to state. Roadside rest areas may be OK for a quick overnight stop on long runs, but otherwise not the best place to stay with a family. There are some Shires particularly in popular coastal areas that have a policy of no camping outside of authorised areas. This means caravan parks only unless there are authorised main roads 24 hour rest areas, or you have permission from the land owner and even this is limited to three days.

AnswerID: 468088

Reply By: Member - mark a (TAS) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 21:12

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 21:12
Hi All, Mark here again. Thanks for all the advice. I think those travelling with kids understand best. We are well seasoned travellers and went into this trip with eyes wide open. I was really hoping to just get a legal view as we can take it from there. We have heard a lot of "hearsay" such as "day stops really mean 24 hours", etc., and wonder what the reality is...we don't mind "pushing the envelope" but dont want to be illegal. Our budget will get spent...I just prefer more of it could be spent on items other than caravan parks.Home Hill, with their comfort stop, rather than spend a bunch of money on a park, we stayed for free and had a nice meal out! Tale of 2 cities...Bowen, with something like 6 caravan parks...try to find the best deal for a family of 4 and you certainly learn there is some price collusion going on there as they are all the same (even though they 3/4 empty this time of year). Go to Airlie Beach and looks the same until you get to Flametree (thank you Flametree!) and only need to spend $31.50 with our Top Tourist Club discount. We will spend a lot more time at Flametree than Bowen. One thing we missed, we thought the mainland (we are from Tassie) would be more wide open and less controlled. Regardless, we dont like being herded (moo) or screwed...and it feels that way.
AnswerID: 468092

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 23:57

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 23:57
Hi Mark

While Tasmania has been a shining light of town businesses gaining from the free campers in the lovely spots provided, that too is changing, with a number of freebies recently closed (mostly in the name of "competitive neutrality").

However the mainland is huge, and most of the population is on the eastern seaboard. Over much of the rest of Australia are large amounts of open space and camping options are usually easy to find.

As i said before, there are just a few coastal Shires who say 'caravan parks or nothing' - so we go inland and have a much nicer time touring and meeting wonderful people in towns who want us to stay and are willing to provide services free or low cost so we can. If i am told we have to go into a caravan park, i hear "go to the leper colony with others of your ilk" and that is not what we purchased a caravan for so we will move on.

Day only means day not night, and although a few places say something like 'no camping but caravans or self contained can stay overnight', mostly camping means sleeping be it in your caravan, car or a swag.

If you respect the signage, and don't stop on private property without permission (with permission opens up another option), leave no evidence of your stay, you won't fall foul of the law.

Mh

FollowupID: 742326

Reply By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 23:16

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 23:16
Stop in at Willow Park Rosedale Vic. Stay a couple of nights free beside the river. Lovely spot.
AnswerID: 468098

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 10:01

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 10:01
On costs, constantly I read that people want a ‘reasonable rate’, but what is a reasonable rate and how is it bench-marked?

I get it that people don’t want to pay the price some of the parks charge, and that they don’t want all the ‘extras’ that many provide, especially when travelling in self-contained RVs and Vans. But equally, Australia is closing van parks, not opening them, so maybe there isn’t the money or return in them that people believe there is. One of the major costs these days is the land valuation, and getting an adequate return on that is the challenge, especially if you are trying to use the decades old model of Mum, Dad, and the kids spending 4 weeks a year there over summer. The average return on caravan parks in Australia is circa 10%, and that is for taking a risk on a tourism venture, and working extra-ordinary long hours.

Joe and Mel from Doomadgee Road-house have set out an account of what they are spending to updgrade their facilities in an earlier post...

Following is a link to a very good read on the caravan park industry in Australia that was done about 12 months ago. It is a bit lengthy, but well worth the read for those who are interested in the topic. And I am neither defending caravan park owners, or RV and caravanners. My interest lies in making sure that people are better informed about the topic, rather than ‘running’ down parks because they think they are a rip-off.

Caravan, Tourist & Accomodation Parks: Market Review (August 2010)

It is a critical issue, and what is coming across loud and clear is that caravan parks can no longer supply the market at the price people want to pay. One of two things will happen, parks will continue to close and the land put to other uses, or people retabulate what they are willing to pay. The implication for parks continuing to close will be less tourism facilities, and lack of choice. Eventually ‘free-camps’ will be over-populated, and that will be the beginning of their appeal and demise, and not to mention charges from local communities.

Whilst the buyer (travellers) are voting with their feet, it is important to remember that many parks are also doing the same by closing and putting the capital to use in other ways – this can’t be good for anyone wanting to travel.

Food for thought hopefully...
AnswerID: 468115

Follow Up By: Member QLD Steve & Lorraine Mc - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 18:50

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 18:50
Well Said Landy, you are spot on the money !!!

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 742382

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 05:42

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 05:42
Mark,

The website below is a good resource for places to stay close to towns. I think they mostly list reserves and not sure of fees. Unfortunately none on the East Coast.
RV Friendly Towns

AnswerID: 468180

Reply By: rossy - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 13:36

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 13:36
Hello Mark,
Thanks for your post I agree with you.
A friend of mine always carries his gun with him and camps legally, cheaply and with his dogs at Gun Clubs throught Australia.
That's another option and way around the system
regards Ros
AnswerID: 468338

Reply By: xtragrouse - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 11:56

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 11:56
As I understand it, "Herded" has kids, and that puts them into a specific area of interest. Personally, I lived in the city for many years, and wanted to get away from the concept of living in an area full of little boxes situated on top of each other. So why would I want to take my van, and experience the same situation in a caravan park.
We have the Freecamps book, and found that theses areas are just like free caravan parks (without the facilities), and so in our case, are to also be avoided. We spent 10 months touring Queensland last year, and found that we could regularly find somewhere to park on the side of the road on our own, whilst the freecamp down the road was chocker.
We also like the freedom to stay up to midnight if we wish, working on videos or photography, which means the generator is probably running til late at night, which is not kosher in populated camping spots. I object to having to shut down early, so that other travellers can get an early night, and then not worry about waking us up when they want to hit the road early in the morning ..........
The difference is, that we are not afraid to camp on our own, where most travellers don't feel secure in that situation, and so stop where other travellers are camped. My opinion is, that you can get bashed in your own home these days - it's probably safer out on the road. AND we had extra cash to spend in towns, spread around a number of businesses rather than it all going into the pockets of the CP.
Just another angle ............
AnswerID: 468388

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 13:31

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 13:31
Mark,

Everyone here has given you a heap of options for free camping on the mainland, but you still want to whinge.

We have the cheapest and best holidays around, even without using free sites. I suppose you would let people come into your yard, use your power, water, and facilities for free.

If you don't like it on the mainland then go home.

AnswerID: 468447

Follow Up By: Member - mark a (TAS) - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:33

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:33
Hi Geoff,

I think you missed the point all together...but I hope you feel better after your liittle vent.

First of all, I am not whinging but looking for solutions. I just dont want to spend my money on caravan parks that charge too much and dont want to feel like they are my only choice.

I really dont need to use water, power, and facilities much as we are self contained. So just need the low cost option of pulling over somewhere from time to time.

If you think you have the cheapest and best holidays around...you might want to broaden your horizons and get out of your backyard.

Last of all, I am home mate! Maybe I will be your neighbor! You sound like a swelll guy.

FollowupID: 742754