200 series Landcruiser

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:53
ThreadID: 89629 Views:15585 Replies:8 FollowUps:25

Related Pages

I am thinking about the 200 series, and was hoping that someone out there can share some information on them. I mean i know what the numbers say about the engine etc, but how does it go on the road. In particular i am looking at the towing capability up hills. Is the load noticable, or un-noticable?
Are there any other 'quirky' little things with anything? Like handling, offroad performance, low range work. Is the series notorious for anything like body cracks, computer glitches, etc.
I have test driven a sahara, and it was very nice...but they are all nice on the road, and without towing anything.
thanks in advance,

Reply By: Berniec - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 08:34

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 08:34
I have a 200 GXL and tow a 1600kg van. In this configuration, the 200 series is a fantastic tow vehicle. In the past 18 months I have traveled about 40,000km with the van and would describe it as the most comfortable, stress less experience. There is always the trade off of fuel use. About 18.5 l/100km towing and about 14l/100km normal driving. Hills are not a problem. The engine has so much torque.
Rough experience has been The Cape, Gulf Savanah and Great Central Road (towing) with no problems. The supplied tyres (Dunlop Grand Treks) are great on tar but fragile in the rough. I have done a fair bit of low range work and it performed as it should. I have not had a single problem with the vehicle. There were some problems with early builds (pre 2009) but they have been worked out with later upgrades. Like all modern cars, the electronics is daunting if you think about it - but they are all the same so you choose the one that gives you the greatest confidence.

Bernie
AnswerID: 468034

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 12:50

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 12:50
Hi Bernie

With you on most points but not the last - the electronics is much simpler and affordable in my new petrol Patrol , it was a plus point in why I choose it over a 200 series in a close decision.
FollowupID: 742234

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 14:12

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 14:12
g-day robin ( p/patrol ) miller

im sure your on a 50% selling commision for every petrol patrol 4800 sold in aus
but havent they stopped importing / obsoleted that model ??
last time i looked there was none availuble in aus anywhere
dam there goes your commission lol
cheers barry
FollowupID: 742243

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 14:33

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 14:33
g-day robin ( p/patrol ) miller

im sure your on a 50% selling commision for every petrol patrol 4800 sold in aus
but havent they stopped importing / obsoleted that model ??
last time i looked there was none availuble in aus anywhere
dam there goes your commission lol
cheers barry
FollowupID: 742244

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 14:34

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 14:34
Barry , you have know idea how much it hurts without that comisson .

I mean , I have searched and searched but nowhere have found a suitable replacement product.

There is hope though, it may yet be the standard 200 series.

Did I tell you the story about how I worked with someone for months and he went to FTG Nissan to get his Patrol but it was just sold , the missus then sat in a Pathy and she looked so good in it , that he left as the owner of the Pathy.

But I still got a $200 check !
FollowupID: 742245

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 14:46

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 14:46
Robin,

I wouldn't be so sure of that. I have a Sahara with all the bells and whistles so to speak.

A while ago I installed a car computer with Ozi etc and interfaced it to the Sahara screen and steering wheel controls. A long story but....

One day I had the entire front dashboard, including the console, and everything from the passengers side to the drivers side dash removed with almost all of the components and electronics from the wind screen back gone. Lots of connectors and wires everywhere. Then I got a call from my kids school telling me my kid was quite sick and I should come to get him urgently. My wife was traveling - Errrgh.

I reinstalled only the starter button and it's electronics which were now hanging in mid air, and gritted my teeth. I could not believe it when the bloody thing started, and I drove it about 5km up the road and back. It was weird but it drove perfectly ( no indicators, dash, or brake lights though). If the dashboard was there, it would probably have been going crazy at me.

It taught me that the ancillary electronic gizmos are all totally seperate to the basic function of running the engine and gearbox. It gave me a lot more confidence in how the vehicle should be drivable in an emergency situation if all the electronics working properly.

Now I quietly chuckle to myself when I read about the 200 and how it is susceptable with all it's electronic gizmos. It just aint true. Maybe Toyota aren't so dumb after all :-)

I think if you have power, and a working engine management system, then everything else is redundant.

FollowupID: 742248

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 15:42

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 15:42
That must have been a fun trip Boobook.

Can I summarize your comments as "Electronic Enginners are just clever people ".

FollowupID: 742255

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 16:28

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 16:28
I guess you can sumarise it that way for yourself Robin. But it has nothing to do with my post.

????

If I may sumarise my post, I'd say perception ain't always reallity.
FollowupID: 742262

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 16:47

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 16:47
robin
what about the new v8 petrol patrol that the arabs are driving
just like the proverbial stork
it must arrive here in the not too distant future
a truly dedicated patrol man just can't change to a toyota surely ?? and let the side down lol
cheers barry
FollowupID: 742266

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 17:50

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 17:50
Hi Guys

Being an electronics engineer Boobook , that was my poor idea of a joke.

Gotta tell you though that the 200 series is much more complex and dependant on its electronics and at a higher level than the GU ever was.
Disco's still win though as the most complex still.

Barry
Can't ever see me getting the new chassis Patrol , unless it really comes out in a basic basic version and can then be easily stripped out to turn it into an RV as its damm big.

I know it sounds that way but I'm' really not a dedicated Patrol person its only the fittness to do the job within reasonable costs constraints that I am interested in - so a good solid look at a basic 200 series will be had when it arrives , fingers crossed for a really basic version with barn doors and a detuned engine around $70k

FollowupID: 742273

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 17:52

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 17:52
mazcan, that thing will never see the light of day in Australia. Why on earth would Nissan do a diesel RHD version for 300 - 400 units a year?
FollowupID: 742274

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:38

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 09:38
Have a look in here http://www.lcool.org/forum/index.php
AnswerID: 468040

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:23

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:23
I tow my 2.2T van regularly and the 200 would have to be the best all-round tow vehicle bar none. You simply set the cruise control and it eats the miles, up and down any size hill with a huge amount in reserve.

I once had a guy in a new Hilux D4D sit on 80 km/hr in a 100 km/hr zone. As soon as we got to the overtaking lane (uphill) and I strated to overtake, he sped up to 100. I continued to overtake but we were now both doing 120 km/hr side by side. OK, time for full throttle and I then got around him. I was towing 2.2T and he was a single cab ute with an empty tray - thats the grunt a V8 with twin turbos has!

As for quirky things, there is the odd 200 with the odd problem, but far less IMHO than any other vehicle I have owned. There is no generic issue that would make me think twice about buying another.

Offroad they are great, they have MORE wheel travel than a 2" lifted live axle Patrol - if you have the KDSS option. The standard traction control is almost as good as dual diff locks - it has got me places I thought not possible. I have replaced my sidesteps (too soft and bend easily) as well as an OME lift kit. I am in a 4WD club and it gets an off-road workout often enough.

Its a great vehicle and buying one was a great decision, haven't looked back for a second from my previous 3.0TD Patrol.

AnswerID: 468044

Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:48

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 11:48
I will ditto the captains comments.
I have just got into my second 200 series (TTD) far & away the nicest, most comfortable vehicle I have ever owned.
Steers, brakes & tows like no other!
I pull a 3.5 t Kedron & you really don't know its there.
I have fitted a scanguage around town light throttle doing speed limit returns 8.4lph towing 19-20lph.
Am I biased yes probably but go for a drive (as you have) & be converted
FollowupID: 742226

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 12:31

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 12:31
hi tony
im sure you must mean 8.4lpkm amd 19-20lpkm
not lph
lol - you would be needing to tow a fuel tanker around to keep it goingin

i sat in the drivers seat of a 200 series at the mandurah boat show last friday and
i honestly thought i was sitting on a park bench it did nothing to make me want to own or drive anywhere in one
toyota in my opinion still dont know how to make a decent seat it was small and very uncomfortable
i'm already aware that its risky making critical remarks about someones beloved toyota
but i'm entitled to my opinion the same as you are
FollowupID: 742230

Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 12:58

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 12:58
Anagrams arnt they fun......What is QUEBBAMBIDDYBUMTAL stand for?
8.4lph I read as litres per hundred
8.4lpkm I read as litres per kilometer
& I respect your opinion.......
FollowupID: 742235

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 14:03

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 14:03
hi tony
fair enough, re the explaination
i was thinking it meant ltrs an hour everyone uses different abreviations

the meaning of my anagram - believe it or not- is written very clearly right beside it
i think you need to have a MUM look lol
FollowupID: 742242

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 23:16

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 23:16
always wondered about that Mazcan, but as an anagram-doesnt it fail on not using all the letters exactly once, and also that (maybe due to my lack of perception) it is non-sensical?

and also;
"the goal of serious or skilled anagrammatists is to produce anagrams that in some way reflect or comment on the subject."

of course it may well be that it is too subtle for my clumsy mind!
FollowupID: 742321

Follow Up By: GimmeeIsolation - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 15:34

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 15:34
Im with you mazcan "i sat in the drivers seat of a 200 series at the mandurah boat show last friday and i honestly thought i was sitting on a park bench it did nothing to make me want to own or drive anywhere in one "
I drove the 200 series Sahara before purchasing a new 4X4 (Disco) and I thought I was driving a truck sitting on a wooden park bench. Totally opposite to a Disco.
Must be lots of numb bums out there.
FollowupID: 742373

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 16:36

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 16:36
I drove a lot of vehicles before deciding on the 200, including a Range Rover Sport V8. Nice car but still very happy with my final decision. There are a lot of nice vehicles out there, you really cannot go wrong whatever you choose.

FollowupID: 742375

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 19:01

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 19:01
I second the other owners. Just back from towing a 3t bushtracker around Australia. It towed perfectly and went many places in many taerrains without trouble.

I now have 90+K on the clock and love it. It does use fuel if you plant your foot but it sure is nice to not delay other traffic while towing and I can pass other traffic with a quick tap of the foot.

I have done several punctures but these are not the fault of the vehicle and I have had to replace a fuel filter on the road but a simple job and I carry two spares as again this is nothing to do with make of vehicle.

If you can afford to buy it will not disappoint.

AnswerID: 468081

Reply By: AlanTH - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 19:32

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 19:32
My sons got one, 3 years old and 30K on the clock. Tows a 3 ton boat regularly. It's just been off the road for nearly 4 months with transmission probs which they eventually repaired.
4 weeks later it can hardly get out of his driveway with no boat on the back. Toyota hired a Pajero for the first breakdown at 3.5K per month. Wonder what they get for him this time as they don't seem to want to give him one of their own vehicles? Maybe they don't trust them.
Plus it's got the galloping oil consumption probs. many others have.
Not good for an over 80K vehicle with not much use.
AlanH.
AnswerID: 468083

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 21:14

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 21:14
Hmm... "Toyota HIRED a Pajero...". Since when does a dealer hire a car? They just get one out of their 2nd hand yard, far cheaper.

Of all the issues that have been reported on LCOOL, there hasn't been ONE transmission failure reported.

If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck.... I smell Troll !
FollowupID: 742303

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 10:13

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 10:13
Poor Toyotas - never have an issue if you believe people on this forum.

Toyota 200 - Oh What a Lemon
FollowupID: 742348

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 11:33

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 11:33
No troll I can assure you. And yes he got a Pajero from them for the period of the repair.
He reckoned it towed the boat pretty good as well.
AlanH.
FollowupID: 742355

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 12:23

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 12:23
IF you believe the internet everything has HUGH problems.... "Oh what a lemon" what a flop of a site... all they can get is 60 posts and then some of them are about other things.

60 people have issues out of over 30,000 sold.... that sounds like nearly every one sold has an issue.... LOL LOL LOL ROFL

Garry maybe you can tell me is any others vehicles have problems?
FollowupID: 742358

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 19:20

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 19:20
I wonder who HUGH is that he causes so many problems?
The way to have a happy relationship with your choice of vehicle would appear to be not to read internet forums as you'll always find someone who's had a bad run.
My son loves the towing ability of his 200 series, just reckons for 80K plus the cost of upgrading the suspension (about 7.5K I think) to make it legal to tow his boat, the transmission probs are just not good enough.
Nor's the oil consumption for a modern engine.
Plus the main stealer he got it from couldn't/wouldn't even look at the transmission and eventually he had to go to another dealer well over 50 kay from where he lives as they had a transmission expert.
Pity that bloke has now left to work in the mines so where do Perth owners go now?
Oh what a feeling.
AlanH
FollowupID: 742386

Reply By: olcoolone - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 09:07

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 09:07
The 200 series is overall not to bad for a 4 wheel drive.... except for!

1) Drinks fuel at a astounding rate.... some owners get really good fuel economy and others don't, after doing a bit of research it appears 3lt Nissan Patrol owners have the same issue.... some good some bad.

2) Slight torque steer under hard acceleration.

3) Trans will not hold the vehicle on a slight incline with out rolling back.

4) Chimes, chimes and chimes..... everything has a chime.

5) The factory radio has a user set function that turns the screen off after 20 seconds.... the down side is you still have to push a button every time after starting to activate this function.... there is a prompt that comes up on the screen saying" Display off/on after 20 sec".

6) Hate the trans.... why do I have to be pulling 3000 rpm up a slight hill in 3 gear at 100Kph.... the massive power and torque is let down by the trans down shifting to early... the trans is set this way in the name of meeting emission targets.

7) The GXL is over priced and the Sahara is over priced, get a VX.

8) Requires a GVM upgrade if touring with any more then 3 people.... LOL

9) Keyless engine start is good but becomes annoying when switching between acc-on-start-off when wanting to use the elec windows or windscreen wipers ( like at the footy sitting in your car).

10) Head lights don't turn off with the ignition unless you open the door.... if you pull up somewhere turn the vehicle off and turn it to accessories to listen to the radio with out getting out the vehicle the lights stay on.

11) Struggles to climb big hills with heavy loads when taking off... trans issue.

12) Have to stop and place the trans in neutral before selecting Hi or Low range.

Apart from those thing that an average drive will not notice they are a very capable hiway and off road tourer that eats up the kilometres with ease, we have not had any of the so called "common" problems that the internet seems to discover.... there are some known issues on some Landcruisers but few and far between.

Ours is a 2011 VX with all the after market junk including a Lovell GVM upgrade and suspension lift.

Most of the things I have listed above are our personal gripes only because we upgrade our vehicles regularly and have other late model hi end vehicles that we are comparing the Land cruiser to... is the Land Cruiser over priced NO.... believe me after working on a friends fleet of Patrols in our workshop you can see where the other $40,000 is and even he is starting to bit the bullet and look at 200 series.
AnswerID: 468112

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 15:04

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 15:04
olcoolone mine had really bad torque steer. I had a wheel alignment and it went away completely.

Also you can have the dealer turn off the chimes for the seat belts and for the rest of the dings, you can put tape over the bloody thing to shut it up. I guess a lot of the rest of your issues are subjective, especially the relative value. After having the center consol fridge I would never get anything else. It's brilliant.

:-)
FollowupID: 742371

Follow Up By: Kris and Kev - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 08:21

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 08:21
Olcoolone, maybe you really need to get a different vehicle? Especially if your 200 goes into 3rd gear when doing 100 up a slight hill. Is that when you are towing a large caravan? When we are not towing our vehicle stays in 6th gear up most slight hills, or it just drops into 5th? I don’t mind the chimes; it does remind me to put the seat belt on. I don’t mind the head lights feature, beats a flat battery.
I think it would be very difficult to find a ‘perfect’ vehicle. And unfortunately all modern vehicles have lots of electronics and gizmos. We just cannot get away from it. I think the real problem with new four wheel drives is that they are marketed for the 95% of buyers who never take them off road and live in or close to major cities!
We have taken our 200 into all sorts of terrain and love it, 100,000 on the clock and lots more to come. PS, it is only a GXL.
FollowupID: 742418

Reply By: Member - Desert Storm (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 09:44

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 09:44
hey thank you all so much for your valuable information. it gives me a better perspective of the vehicle.
AnswerID: 468113

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 12:28

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 12:28
My wife has a 200 Series VX Petrol. We bought the petrol because of the common rail issues you can have with bad diesel and because it was $10k cheaper. Lovely car to drive, no issues whatsover, occassional towing of boats etc. The car is great however they are very big, great for trips away etc, next time might see if I can talk her into a Disco 4 TDV6, one less seat, a little less storage space at the back, reckon Toyota make a great product, most likely the best but getting a little boring compared to the competition. If the competition can get as reliable I might jump ship. Don't think anyone makes a towing vehicle as good for the money.
AnswerID: 468123

Follow Up By: Mills5 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 22:21

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 22:21
Want a 100 series for $6000.00.. its outside the Pub in Quambone....don't all rush it may be gone by now ..
FollowupID: 742409