New dmax almost ready to hit the road. Can I tow in 5th?
Submitted: Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:11
Member - Boo Boo (NSW)
I have almost finished the fit out of the pod, the bullbar and towbar are on, as is the brake controller and boat racks. I will fit the brackets to support the battery box tomorrow, etc, etc.
The 2 fridges are in place and and all electricals will be complete by Friday.
Now will it tow in 5th or should I stick to 4th?
We take of in 2 weeks for Walget,
Broken Hill,
Adelaide, then
Melbourne and home a week before Christmas.
Reply By: Thinkin - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:33
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:33
hello BooBoo,
Short answer, best to tow in 4th. What load do you have?
If you want to save a few revs going down long slope and tail wind you could try 5th, but really, stay in 4th.
alpero
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:38
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:38
G'day Alpero
I will be towing a 13' jayco starcraft.
Loaded it weighs about 1000kgs, although I will also have a load in the dmax of around 600kg which includes 129 ltr of fuel.
Follow Up By: Thinkin - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:10
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:10
hello BooBoo,
I notice you say new Dmax, then definetly tow in 4th. you need to let the engine break in a bit.
regards Alpero
Reply By: moss - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:53
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:53
Hi Boo Boo
We have a Colorado, I asked the Dealer reps about towing in 5th gear and I have known these guys for a while and they know me, their answer
Both looked at their feet and then slowly agreed "on the flat"
So there is doubt from the dealer salesmen about towing in 5th.
I also have a toyota 60 series and know why there is problems with towing in 5th.
I tow in 4th, didn't present a problem. However we found our speedo reads 7km/hr low at 100 km/hr. After finding that out during our shakedown trip recently, the Mrs sat on 110km/hr on speedo in 5th gear up and down hills and the car felt fine.
The new vehicles are built with 5th gear in mind and not an add on like in the 60 series, I hope.
However, I do not like the idea of rebuilding a gearbox sooner than I have to, so will use 4th in hills and 5th on the flat. A mate has had to rebuild a hilux gearbox early and he towed in 5th. I think the main thing is not to labour the engine.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 06:56
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 06:56
I've always towed in 4th gear with the Troopy, so I will do the same with the Dmax.
I must have made a mistake on the first
tank of fuel.
I used 102 ltr and got 1056km. I've been told that the fuel consumption will be a bit on the high side for about 5K.
Even this figure is pretty good compared with the Troopy.
With the 129ltr
tank I am hoping for about 850Km range when towing.
I will post the results after the next three tanks as they will be on the road towing.
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 07:15
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 07:15
Boo Boo, you will have no problems towing in 5th gear especially only towing 1000 kg and I am sure you will get a lot more than 850 Ks out of your 129 lts of fuel to. More around 1200 Ks, My old MU gets around 13 LP100 towing 1300 kg and I use 5th where possible and the old girl had now done 300 K and no problems, plus it is probably the same box as yours.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 17:49
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 17:49
Bruce
If I can get 1000km a
tank I will be over the moon.
Reply By: usguys07 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 13:15
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 13:15
hi BooBoo, sounds like your doing some good work. How about some pics of the project? it would be good to see.
Tim
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 18:17
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 18:17
Tim
Give me a few weeks.
I am up to my armpits trying to get some things done at home before we go. Infact I should be in Tassie at the moment.
Reply By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 16:32
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 16:32
Boo Boo
Earlier reponses to the overdrive towing question suggested that while many may get away with it, quite a few end up with expensive gearbox problems at 100K kms or less. From what I've read on different websites the mechanics who respond to these questions almost always suggest that you use 5th sparingly if at all when towing due to the physical size of the gear and its position in the gearbox. Apparently it is a relatively fragile gear (only passing on what I have read here). Might be different for very modern vehicles.
The workshop manual diagrams might tell you something in regard to the size, position and robustness of your overdrive gear. Found this cheap online version - don't know anything about the site though.
http://www.tradebit.com/filedetail.php/133053410-isuzu-d-max-dmax-workshop-manual
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 18:22
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 18:22
Thanks Bazooka
I have added that site to my 'favourites'
Follow Up By: Warren B - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 19:50
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 19:50
Hi Boo Boo. have d-max bought new feb 2011 our van weights about 2800kgs + and max loaded, I tow in 5th BUT, BUT, BUT, I am in the transport industry and drive / manage for a living and have been driving long distances for years. so i guess i listen to the motor and let it tell me when it needs revs. fuel for the 6 weeks towing was 16 /100. happy with that as we had head winds most of the time. cant see any real probs with your van should do it easy.
Cheers warren