Still Need Cash

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:05
ThreadID: 89742 Views:3615 Replies:9 FollowUps:24
Last Thursday we drove from Broome south on arriving at Sandfire Road house we were short of fuel, certainly we could not have made the next roadhouse, they would only take cash no plastic. Their EFPOS was out and they refused fuel without cash.Fortunately we did have cash but this is not always the case.

Reply By: equinox - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:07

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:07
Always take a few rolls with you Pete, never know when you are going to need them :)))

AnswerID: 468540

Reply By: Bigfish - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:10

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:10
Sounds a little backward to me. Most places I have been to normally keep a manual impression type machine.
AnswerID: 468541

Follow Up By: Member - Peter B1 (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:18

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:18
I did ask the lady and she said she would only take cash as I too would expect an old machine although I think most banks now insist on a phone authorization for small establishments
FollowupID: 742830

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:20

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:20
Backward or not. EFTPOS is not perfect & can go down throughout a whole state without warning.
The more remote you get the less reliable the communications.
Not all businesses accept credit card transactions done manually & no business will imprint your ordinary EFTPOS card.
Cash is still king, everywhere.
FollowupID: 742832

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:37

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:37
Sorry Fatso but local garage did imprint my bankcard several months ago. Power blackout. Then I had to sign the transaction slip. I use to install eftpos machines up until about a year ago and many places had the impression type machine kept under the counter
FollowupID: 742837

Follow Up By: garrycol - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:05

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:05
They will imprint credit cards (does BankCard still exist?) but not Debit Cards.

Garry
FollowupID: 742842

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:18

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:18
That's right Bigfish.
Many traders have manual facilities, but not all.
Then there are those that do have manual facilities but do not accept all cards.
Taxis are just one example. The ones that are on the Cabcharge Fareway System (nearly every cab in Australia that has EFTPOS) only accept Cabcharge & TSS cards manually when the system is down.
So when the entire Eastern states EFTPOS system for NAB goes down, which happens a lot more than you would imagine, you need cash to ride in a taxi.
Plenty of other traders do not have manual transaction agreements in place with their providers as well.
There have been plenty of times when one of the banks will be down or even just a particular branch will often be down. But occasionally every bank will go down at the same time.
Then there is the threat of identity theft.
I had a lady in my taxi that was out from England & had all of her accounts back homer frozen. What had happened was that somewhere in Europe police had busted a card skimming racket & one of her cards came up as one that had been skimmed. The outcome was that all of her accounts at that bank were then frozen.
So she is here in Cairns & goes to the ATM to get some cash & it keeps the card & does not give her any money. Many hours on the phone later she is unable to get any money because all of her accounts are with the same bank & they have no branch in Australia. Her only saving grace was that her mother lived in Cairns & was able to draw several thousand dollars of cash out of the bank to give her so she could continue surviving until her return to England.
That is why some people choose to carry cards from 2 or more different banks when they travel OS or carry good old travellers cheques.
FollowupID: 742847

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 23:43

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 23:43
Our local winery has no eftpos but will imprint a bank card... so it is possible. But, yeah, sometimes you need cash (you never know where you might drive past a garage sale).
FollowupID: 742857

Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 09:35

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 09:35
Having often had my debit card swiped manually at Woolworths when their machines go down. Don't own a credit card of any description.
Only problem with this is that it can take a week or more to come out of your account. It depends on when the shop takes the slips to the bank.
FollowupID: 742877

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 11:26

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 11:26
Actually SDG your debit card is a credit card of some description. Debit cards have the visa (or other provider) symbol on them and work within the credit card system (hence they are less secure than the old bank cards).
FollowupID: 742879

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 12:35

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 12:35
We have just recently sold our business and are looking forward to retirement.
We obviously had an EFTPOS facility and the bank also provided a manual imprint machine which lived under the counter. What we were told was that there were risks for the business using the imprint machine in as much as this machine was not on line and if a stolen (even if reported) card or a card over it's limit were presented there was no immediate notification that an invalid transaction was taking place. Now in a major town this may be little more than a temporary inconvenience but imagine the problems for an isolated roadhouse where the possible loss may take some time to come to light and the card presenter long gone.

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 742884

Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 15:10

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 15:10
Nope. Mine is a straight card with No form of credit system on it at all. No visa, bankcard etc. Cannot even use it in my own bank as a debit/credit card to pay for travel insurance last week. (used cash and then the teller had to ring up and find out how to do cash payment).
I keep getting offered these cards and I keep refusing.
FollowupID: 742893

Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:23

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:23
For one; the bakery at Braidwood does not have eftpos. And I have struck plenty of "out-of-the-way" places also needing cash. Had to pay cash for fuel at Bramwell Junction because the line was down. No problem.

Cashless Society - What a bonanza for the banks. Just imagine all the fees that will pop up. But don't forget the "service" that the banks are providing us with. YEAH - RIGHT!!!

AnswerID: 468546

Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 09:39

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 09:39
During the last lot of school holidays I found many places on the South Coast not having eftpos. Including the cinemas at Narooma. Cost me $60.00 to get in, but I had to go looking for teller machine to get the money out. Which also charged me for not being a member of the machines bank.
FollowupID: 742878

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 16:20

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 16:20
don;t talk to me about Narooma cinemas - queued up for ages only to be told by Fred Flintstone "we don't have credit or eftpos facilities". It might've been an idea to put a clear notice outside to save us queueing in the rain. We went off to the bank and finally got back to the cinema only to be told they were full. Not impresed. Even my humble little business has plastic facilities.
FollowupID: 742899

Reply By: JimDi - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:34

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:34
Go to any foodcourt in a major city shopping centre and I bet most do not have eftpos etc. Its cash only and I guess that is getting back to the people in the financial system who spend their day looking for ways to add a buck to the billions they already make. I guess it will serve them right if we all go back to cash. What then?
Jim
AnswerID: 468561

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 16:24

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 16:24
well it's a bit rich expecting credit facilities for a $3 pie - but I'd love to be able to abandon the banks but try getting wages paid in cash or a customer having a few hundred in their pocket at any given time. Not practical any more.
FollowupID: 742900

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 17:32

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 17:32
It is a bit rich Steve.
Pie carts in Cairns have mobile EFTPOS terminals.
They also run accounts for regulars because so many people don't carry cash.
I often do EFTPOS transactions for taxi fares of under $5. Not only are they too lazy to walk 500 yards they are also too lazy to carry cash.
Our average fare is about $12 & over half of our turnover is EFTPOS.
I am not condoning EFTPOS in any way. I preffer to pay for most of my non business transactions in cash, including pies.
FollowupID: 742903

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 17:39

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 17:39
I'll have to get onto it because I wouldn't have much left out of $3 after I'd paid my bank their bit, never mind the pie supplier.
FollowupID: 742905

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 17:41

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 17:41
I suppose there are different set-ups for small amounts but I deal in larger amounts where they charge more for the facility.
FollowupID: 742906

Follow Up By: JimDi - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 19:37

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 19:37
I was thinking of those recent tap and go ads where the bloke rolled up to the counter and offered to pay cash instead of using the machine. The implication was that he was holding up the system by using old fashioned cash and so on.

The point of my post was that banks will do whatever it takes to add a fee into a perfectly well oiled system such as eftpos. I could be wrong but why charge to withdraw money from a machine, or why add costs to a credit card transaction if not to make money.

This is only a guess but I would imagine that a lot of small business owners who now dont have eftpos is because of bank charges.
As Steve suggested its a bit rich to expect electronic facilities for a $3 pie,but why not it should be as easy as "tap and go." as the banks say.
Jim
FollowupID: 742917

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M - Thursday, Oct 27, 2011 at 14:12

Thursday, Oct 27, 2011 at 14:12
If its the Braidwood Bakery you are worried about Steve, I wouldn't be too concerned. Only place I know that charges you a surcharge for the privilege of having them open on a public holiday. That is a bit rich in my opinion.

FollowupID: 742939

Follow Up By: Fatso - Thursday, Oct 27, 2011 at 20:32

Thursday, Oct 27, 2011 at 20:32
G'day Mat
Opening surcharges are not that common in retail.
Wholesale is another ball game.
I have heard of a refrigeration parts wholesaler charging over $1000 to open on Good Friday to supply essential parts to keep commercial fridges going.
I have also heard of $400 opening fees being charged as well.
FollowupID: 742983

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:58

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:58
Hi Peter, as you say there EFTPOS was down and if they did not have the "imprint" machine then there is no possible way that they could have taken any form of "plastic" as what would have they done with it ?????
We run a remote roadhouse and we do not have the "imprint" machine as we have no idea if the card that we "imprint" is going to pay up, yes we can make phone calls and do all the checks but all aside we also need to be certain it will pay so we have a choice, we let all the customers use the "imprint" machine, spend time making phone calls and getting each transaction approved or we simply make a BLANKET ban on card transactions and keep the doors open ....
Keep in mind if the phone line that does the EFTPOS is out the "voice" phone line may well also be out ....... so how will they get approvial over the phone....
Really sorry if i sound negitive but it is hard as it also comes down to a fuel transaction and that is the least margin product we have so there is no way we will take any risk, if we have one only, just one transaction that bounces back we will lose all fuel profits probally for the day, as the margin is so low it needs a lot of sales to keep it afloat and it is not worth the risk....... i know it really pees off some people but at the end of the day we survive and we will be still around next time ......

Ok i will share a "method" we used to get around exactly the same problem you had, we left a "place" thinking that each other had withdrawn cash to use at the next stop incase we needed it, we left in the arvo and hit heavy rain, 300klms later on dirt roads we finally made it and asked each other who got out the cash......... nup .......and to make it worse they could not take any "plastics" so we estimated the cost for a room for the night, food and fuel and asked if we could use there internet to transfer the money to there bank account giving us a form of "credit" to the same value of what we transferred, they had sattelite internet so it works always, we then in essence paid in advance and got what we needed and continued on our travels ... we since have sent a few bottles of wine for there efforts .......

Joe
AnswerID: 468565

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 06:33

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 06:33
Hi Joe. I have often wondered with you "remote" guys. How do you do your banking. With cash,cheques and manual imprints they all have to be phisically taken to a bank in larger towns/cities. I find that a big time consuming pain in the a. as my bank is 20 mins away. How do you guys do it? Cheers,Bob (don't answer if it compromises you)
FollowupID: 742869

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 14:58

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 14:58
no it is a good question ..... we do it a varity of ways, we take all "cash" to the local store as they have an ATM so need $20 and $50 notes and the deal is we will give them all we have as long as they accept the othwe notes also, they then use a locked cash box system and either fly or truck it out, that also involves getting an insurance cover for the "cash in transit" ... (yet another remote hidden cost)
We have a form where by they count the cash when it gets to them and we co sign it, they then transfer that amount to our account from theres and use the cash for there ATM...
So as you can see it is actually in our best interest to have the EFTPOS working as it takes away the need to carry large amounts of cash but there is another draw back, the fees for us to have the mongrel thing, we paid out last month alone $790 for it in fees, they cost us heaps.... hence you have some charge a fee or have a minium spend amount .. i kinda dont blame them it they are small as ther are expensive to have along with a seperate phone line rental also .... all adds up
Our checks, wait until one of the "board" comes out and they take them back to the bank or if it has been a few months we "cash box" them to the bank either via plane or truck ...
So as you can see, we simply wont ever take a manual card transaction as it may be a month befor it gets in the bank and that card may well not be valid by then and we have that "swipe" with all it's details hanging aroud also for a month, not very secure at all for the owner of that card .......
Joe
FollowupID: 742892

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 17:37

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 17:37
Thanks for your comments Joe.
It is good to hear it from the horses mouth, especially when it is so well explained.
That sort of information helps us understand what is going on.
FollowupID: 742904

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Thursday, Oct 27, 2011 at 14:53

Thursday, Oct 27, 2011 at 14:53
G'day Toyocruiser .. just to add to Joes comments..
We here are 650km's from our nearest Bank. What we do is send all our banking away in a cash tin, which goes by truck, and then by plane to alice springs.
We have no way of getting small change if we run out (yet funnily enough, people still get narky if you ask for something smaller than their $100 note for an ice cream .. LOL ) ..
As for the Eftpos discussion, well as someone who has always spent alot of time in remote areas, i never go anywhere without cash, as eft can and does go offline regulalry. Ours here is by Sattelite, and it recently went down for an extended period. The repair bloke for the Sat equipment had to come from Perth, 1250km's away, to fix it. As it was. we had a few imprint slips here, so we did some manual credit cards.. but no, if you didn't have a credit card, you weren't going to get any fuel unfortunately.

Al
FollowupID: 742943

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 23:53

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 23:53
We always carry enough cash hidden away for at least two full fuel fills. When travelling off the beaten track, sometimes there are no alternatives. Otherwise all but the smallest of purchases when on holidays go onto the credit card.

In 2006 we had a tow bar breakage between Pimba and Glendambo. We were on our way home from Tasmania and did not have a cash reserve as fuel by card was not a problem on the homeward run. When i finally found someone (difficult as it was a weekend and Roxby Race Day so hard to find anyone to do the job) to fix it to get us back on the move, i thought i might have to leave my husband or something as security until i got home to pay them. As it was, they had just (like the day before) gone onto a by-phone credit card system and for this i was their first customer. You can be lucky :)

AnswerID: 468570

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 01:06

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 01:06
There is less GST and carbon tax on cash. Could become more common soon.

Neil
AnswerID: 468574

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 07:07

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 07:07
Hi Peter,
Maybe things have changed, but years ago while working in Hardware, I had a few customers that I had their C/Card details kept aside so we could charge materials and deliveries to them, they didn't want to run an Account.
We manually keyed the numbers in. Came in handy when our EFPOS was down.
I've also been at POS were there EFPOS system has been down, they had a system in place were you swipe your card, they give you a slip to sign, it is to authorize a charge or debt to you card when the system is back on line.
Now, having said that, I can understand a servo wanting cash for fuel, they would get scammed, ripped off often.
We don't normally carry cash with us, might have think about it now, .

AnswerID: 468577

Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 16:33

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 16:33
I have a facility where customers give me their credit card details and I send them in online through Cardlink/Bpay. It's in my account the next day.
AnswerID: 468595

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 19:49

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 19:49
As I have said before I am too old and decrepit for bush camping and now have to stay in hotels/motels. They love to see some 'folding money' and usually give discounts - sometimes even a free meal. I very rarely use my credit card for anything and have kept my limit down to $1,000.00 despite offers of more from the bank.
FollowupID: 742920