nhulumbuy rd conditions
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 20:36
Kevin E
We are planning on travelling to Nhulumbuy in late May next year and were wondering how long we should allow to travel from
Katherine to Nhulumbuy and what the road conditions were like in May 2011.
Reply By: Bigfish - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 20:56
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 20:56
Mate lived in Gove for 16 years. Still here and often travel the road. Personally I never travel on the road before mid June. This way I am pretty
well assured that the graders have done the Gove-
Bulman side. The
Katherine-
Bulman side is normally done in May due to the rain having stopped. We still get heaps of rain in May. April is really wet. Depending on the wet the Goyder River is your major obstacle.
Reply By: Member - Duane A (WA) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2011 at 00:25
Thursday, Oct 27, 2011 at 00:25
G-day i drove out there from
Mataranka in 2006 sept towed a camper and did it comfortably in 8 hours The road had good and bad patches you have just got to watch the blind corners they were the worst thing .Great spot we loved the place we stayed with freinds though there was no caravan
park to stay at then .Good luck
Reply By: petesgq - Monday, Oct 31, 2011 at 08:37
Monday, Oct 31, 2011 at 08:37
Gday Kevin,
The road is not to bad that time of years, but unless you have a serious 4wd that is capable of deep (1.7m) fast flowing
water crossing, its a show stopper.
The road is regularly closed that time of the year due to the Goyder River being to deep. Had a guy this July rock up just after we crossed. We advised him how hairy it was and his vehicle was not set up to go that deep. He didn't listen, so we hanged around to watch the show, needless to say he didn't make it.
Follow Up By: petesgq - Monday, Oct 31, 2011 at 08:40
Monday, Oct 31, 2011 at 08:40
sorry just seen 2011 in your post.
May 2011 this year, No one was getting past the goyder and most of the other rivers were all running fast that time of the year. Eveything is still draining into the Arufura swamp at that time of the year.
Wait till late July would be a far safer bet.