Tablets
Submitted: Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 10:15
Gone Bush (WA)
Before anyone says this is OT, we all access EO through some sort of computing device and Xmas is coming....
I've been looking at tablets for a while now and, despite having an iPhone, I am disappointed with Apple's bullyboy tactics and have crossed the iPad off my list.
So what's left?
Samsung Galaxy 10.1?
Can only be bought OS and no Aussie warranty. But it looks good.
Sony?
Bringing out a
well specced unit. S1?
Toshiba?
the AT200 Excite is getting good pre-release reviews.
I must say that, despite being a bit of a tech-head, I'm getting very confused by all these food names: Ice Cream Sandwich, Honeycomb.... it's just making me hungry.
And where does Windows fit in all of this?
I am looking forward to Xmas. I reckon the battle will be on to get customers back into shops and away from the net. That means bonus offers.
If a new Samsung big screen tellie comes with a free Galaxy Tab (with specs that doesn't hurt Apple's swollen ego) I could be pursuaded to part with some cash.....
Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 11:23
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 11:23
G'day GB.
Appears to be available here:-
Site Link
Barry
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 11:33
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 11:33
Hullo Barry,
that's the 7" screen, not the 10".
After Apple's dummy spit, you won't find them behind any retail counters in Australia.
Samsung diehards have to buy from OS and put up with no domestic warranty.
Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 11:56
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 11:56
Hi GB
I think you are being too hard on the Apple products. I agree they are pretty aggressive in their marketing and protecting copyrights but I think that comes from their history of nearly being destroyed by windows when microsoft copied the graphical user interface that Apple had first. Apple sued really hard but microsoft got off on a technicality and then went on to make billions from a technology they copied. Apple is not going to make that mistake again.
We recently bought the iPad for my wife and she loves it. Actually even gave up her iphone to have only the iPad -
well she mostly sms to others anyway and has a work phone (nokia) for those voice calls which are mainly work related.
The really are easy to use and have so many options that beat the other tablets hands down. Just the battery life is a winner over the competition.
A main reason she has one is so we can go travelling. Reading books, watching movies, checking out the internet, road maps, geocaching, can all be done on the go from a decent sized screen. Add to that - photos, movies, and a host of self absorbing games - latest is 'words with friends' an online scrabble type game.
I think you would enjoy an iPad if you purchased one. Reliable and fun.
And don't be too hard on them protecting their own. Apple spent years on the edge with everyone saying 'aren't they broke yet'. One of the few companies that survived the microsoft dominance of the world through hard work, innovative ideas, and just producing a good product.
As you might pick up I like my apple products. Don't hate me. I have not had virus protection on my computer in 15 years and had no problems. Only once in that time did I have to put my mac in the
shop - failed CD drive years ago when only two weeks old.
Serendipity
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 14:25
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 14:25
Add another Apple fanboi amongst my friends, eh David?
Apple stole their logo from the Beatles.
Now they are threatening a small cafe in Bonn, in Germany, for using this logo:
It's unkind to speak ill of the dead, but if you read the new unauthorised biography of Steve Jobs, he comes across as a bit of a nutter. I treat these things with a grain of salt, but where there's smoke etc.
Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:39
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:39
Another friend for the iPad to Stephen. I love it and do remember another who encouraged me to buy a DRDos computer years ago to my cost. Grrr Just because Microsoft was a bit aggressive in marketing. Gem was the supposed Windows replacement and I think we can all recognise it succeeded.
I use it as a laptop replacement often when I go away for a few days though it doesn't do all I may want all the time. It is so easy to do most things.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:46
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:46
My very first computer was an Amiga 500 (with a memory upgrade to 1, that's ONE, gigabyte).
I seem to remember everyone being very impressed with its drop down menus.
Then a certain company that pinched its logo from 4 Liverpudlians brought out a computer with..... wait for it.... drop down menus.
Nothing is new in technology. Heck, I was watching an episode of Star Trek: the Next Generation, and there's Jean-Luc walking around with an iPad in his hand. So, either Apple went into the future and pinched one from Captain Picard, or they were on the set when it was being filmed.
Creepy, eh?
Follow Up By: wozzie (WA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 19:07
Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 19:07
Hi GoneBush,
Did they know what a Gigabyte was when you had that Amiga 500 ??
Methinks perhaps you meant 1Mb ?
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 20:28
Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 20:28
You're right. How soon we forget.
Still, it was 1987....
Type Home computer
Release date 1987
Discontinued 1991
Media 880 kB floppy disks
Operating system AmigaOS v1.2~1.3
CPU Motorola 68000 @ 7.16 MHz (NTSC)
7.09 MHz (PAL)
Memory 512 kB (9.5 MB maximum)
Graphics 640 × 256, 6 bpp
Sound 4× 8-bit channels at max 28 kHz with 6-bit volume in stereo.
Follow Up By: wozzie (WA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 22:06
Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 22:06
MY first Machine was an Commodore 128d, but I DID have the extra floppy drive as
well......
Thought it was pretty flash back then, and really fast and big capacity.
Still have it somewhere at home, son occasionally gets it out to have a bit of a play to bring back memories...
Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 08:06
Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 08:06
Back in 1983 we bought an Apple IIe with the green screen and of course the standard operating system wasn't enough. A Z80 card and CPM operating system and hacking copied disks. At that stage a whole half meg of RAM on a card. That must have been a few years ahead of your Amiga. Of course two 140kb floppy drives for storage.
Well before photos of 4-5 gig obviously.
Follow Up By: Cravenhaven - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 16:01
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 16:01
I just cant let this slip by. Microsoft did not steal Apples user interface, Apple actually "Stole" it from Xerox labs and Microsoft based their UI on the same "look and feel". There was a huge court case about this at the time and in the end the whole thing dropped off the radar because Xerox had lost the plot by then anyway.
Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 21:52
Reply By: Willykj - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 13:26
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 13:26
Another vote for iPad. Had one since they first came out. It just works..easy to use & great choice of apps.
Most other tablets operate on Android system - I have an anroid smartphone (HTC) & the apple system wins hands down..
Willy
Reply By: wicket - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 14:40
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 14:40
Gone Bush
you might want to wait a while as windows 8 is on the way, it's all touchy feely like the apple ipad os.
Reply By: timothy - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 14:41
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 14:41
You could have a look at an Acer Iconia tablet with Windows 7 installed. I got to test one for work, seemed pretty sleek but a bit under powered with only 2GB RAM and a 1GHz CPU. The good news is it came with a dock (keyboard etc.), supported 3G, WIFI, Bluetooth and had HDMI out which allowed an external monitor or TV to be plugged in.
Reply By: Livin On The Road - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 15:51
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 15:51
Have you seen the new kindle fire? I haven't used the kindle fire, but I love my kindle. It's $199 US, so it's no where near the price tag that Apple are asking for the ipad.
http://amzn.to/sEqvsz
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:34
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:34
g'day LOTR,
While in
Bowen, on our most recent trip, the Woolies brochure announced that they were now selling the Kindle. I went down to the local Woolies
supermarket and bought one for Mrs Bush.
This was after I got up from the floor. I was shocked and trying to work out who I was living with when Mrs Bush said she was tired of "paper" books and wanted a Kindle. Good golly miss molly. It's the end of the world as we know it. Dogs and cats sleeping together.
I agree the Kindle is seriously cool, but it's only an E Reader (and I'm OK with that). It is very cool to
shop on the Amazon website, read the book reviews, buy a couple and then watch them appear on the Kindle. Buy on a laptop from an American website and watch your purchase appear on a separate device. Very cool.
Follow Up By: Livin On The Road - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:45
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:45
Yeah, the KINDLE is "only" an e-reader. The KINDLE FIRE is a tablet. It is a new product that they've only just released.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:48
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:48
Yep, I'm aware of the Fire. Sorry I didn't address that in my answer. That will be interesting. I reckon its pricing will see all tablets drop.
It seems to me that it's crazy that a tablet can cost at least twice the price of a good 40 inch plasma tellie.
Reply By: Member - Krakka - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 17:19
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 17:19
Howdy Gone Bush,
Motorola also have a tablet, called xoom I think. Haven't used it myself but pretty impressed with their Defy and Atrix phones.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 15:30
Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 15:30
I would be impressed with my atrix if it didnt mix up all the assighned ring tones every time its conected to a computer
Reply By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:15
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:15
How to buy a Samsung Galaxy 10.1 in Australia with warranty.
Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:22
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:22
Oh and as to the Android names,
they are all deserts, and in alphabetical order.
A, B unknown
Cupcake (Android 1.5),
Donut (Android 1.6),
Eclair (Android 2.1),
Froy (Android 2.2), G
Gingerbread (Android 2.3),
Honeycomb (Android 3.0.),
Ice Cream Sandwich (Android 4.0)
What's the bet next release is Jelly ( jello)
My advice is get at least 3.1. 3.0 is dedicated to tablets, and 3.1 adds USB host support. ( ie it can work with a mouse or keyboard etc etc etc).
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:28
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 18:28
Very interesting site Boobook, thanks.
The thing about the SGT 10.1 (see, I'm cool with all the current TLAs) is that Apple have brought so much attention to it that people are now searching for it. If Apple want to stop its sales then it must be good, is the thinking.
The tablet market is really hotting up and connectivity and memory expansion seem to be hot issues, as
well as compatibility with other programs like Adobe, Flash, Google (Apple has issues with these, it seems).
Despite all the coolness of these tablets, I still can't see what they can do, that a good Netbook can't do. As a matter of fact, a good Netbook does heaps more except connect with the phone network, but my phone does that, so.....
I think I'll sit and watch for a while.
Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 20:17
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 20:17
I have a Iconia A500 tablet, and while it may ( or may not) do everything an I pad will do, and also probably NOT do some things a net book/laptop/computer will do, I find it so easy to use ( especially in front of the TV) that I rarely use the normal computer!!!!
I find it so easy, that if I ever went and bought a laptop, it would have to be a touch screen ....
One of the best things I've ever bought......gets used every day....and if you have finished browsing. ( and nothing on TV ) there always the games...
Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 20:34
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 20:34
Motion F5 tablet. Drop resistant, works in the rain & has the best anti glare screen I've seen making it way better than any Apple unit out in the bush.
Cheers Craig.......
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 21:05
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 21:05
This one looks interesting:
viliv x70
Even though the specs say Windows XP, I believe it is available, or will be, with W7. Definitely an internet purchase.
Reply By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 22:20
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 22:20
I bought a generic 10.2" Windows 7 tablet whilst in China a few months ago. I now have it in my car using it for GPS and track planning. Whilst I can not recomend a brand to buy in Australia. I will say that utilising a windows operating system makes sence. I am running MS Office 2010, Adobe, and Oziexplore. I am also now using it for my music jacked into my car radio. It has a touch screen and I also have a small 200mm keyboard. it has two powered USB2 ports so I can run my IPhone with Itunes if required. I can also up-load and download files using a USB thumbdrive. This can be very useful whilst on the track. For example last week I was on the Eyre Peninsular we had just driven from
Esperance to Eyre via
the beach and cliffs. We crossed paths with a group and swapped Oziexplore tracks.
Craig
Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 08:32
Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 08:32
Bushy this is what I brought a couple of months ago and am very very happy with it. Has a great resolution plus one of my friends drop it from about four feet on to a timber floor and it is still working. You can also buy the 12 volt adpator and wind screen holder from them. There is also a key board and case available from Hong Kong for it as
well.
Android Tablet
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 21:49
Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 21:49
Translate its name into English, and it is:
dropped......
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 19:25
Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 19:25
You asked for advise and I gave it, sorry do not appreciate answers like that.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 20:44
Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 20:44
Bruce,
you've misinterpreted what I said.
It was a play on words. The item in your link is called a "dropad", you mentioned it was dropped.
All I did was translate the name into: "dropped".
No ill intended.
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 21:39
Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 21:39
Sorry
Reply By: Chris & Sue (Briz Vegas) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 15:23
Saturday, Oct 29, 2011 at 15:23
Hi GB,
Just to throw another perspective at this thread, you could do worse than look at the 32GB 10.1" ASUS TF101 Transformer. I purchased one about 6 weeks ago and took it to Europe for 4 weeks in lieu of my older netbook.
It did (just about) everything I wanted including e-book reading on the plane, booking hotels in France and Spain on the net and planning the next day's trip on Google maps.
The one I got has a detachable keyboard and I would highly recommend this as it extends the already-reasonable 6+ hours of the tablet alone, to around 16 hrs. When the keyboard's attached, it's about the same size as my old netbook - without the keyboard, it's just a nice slim 10" tablet.
It runs Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) and looks like getting an update to 4.x (Ice Cream Sandwich) before Christmas. There is another version of this device about to be (already??) released called the ASUS Slider with a slide-out rather than a removable keyboard.
With a few free (or very cheap) apps, this has become my computing device of choice for browsing and reading. It also shows streamed video and audio from
my home server.
Like you, I don't like Apple's current business style, even though my first computer was an Apple ][, and I've owned a few Macs in the past.
PM me if you want any more details.
Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 12:43
Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 12:43
swallow your pride and get an ipad2 they are the bees knees..