water filters

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 00:24
ThreadID: 89878 Views:2119 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
hi guys
I am thinking about fitting are water filter , the van has the tank and mains water taps , i was thinking about 1 filter fore both , has anybody any inforo
peter

Reply By: Mad Habits - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 07:40

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 07:40
G'day
Plenty to choose from here and not expensive, I bought one, they are very strong and good quality.
The one I bought can have a hose attached "in" and another hose "out" so I can make sure the water going into the holding tank is filtered or I can attach it to the mains supply ensuring the water going through the pipes is of a good filtered drinking quality.
I got the 1 micron silver filter (40 microns = thickness of a a human hair & silver kills stuff)
Water filters

At the sink I also have a bench filter 0.2 micron filter (nothing nasty gets though that one) just to be sure. It probaly is not needed, but things can grow in the holding tank so we wash salad stuffs and drink water from this filter and we haven't spent the day on a dunny yet!

I thought it would be a pain being bench top but we just throw it in the sink when we are moving so it is easier than I thought it would be.

Everone including the dog should have their tank water filtered, Good luck!
Nigel
AnswerID: 469105

Follow Up By: Mad Habits - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 07:43

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 07:43
That link does not seem to work it seems to be a problem with this site so paste it in

www.clarencewaterfilters.com.au
FollowupID: 743453

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 09:16

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 09:16
Hi Peter

Yes I have a silver activated carbon water filter that I attach to the hose everytime I fill up the water tanks. I also have a proper drinking water hose as your average garden hose leaves a taste.

I posted a forum entry on this a while back and it seems a lot of people do the same thing. See post 78602

I have also in the past prior to the filter had some bad water from a water tank in a country town. Ended up with lots of black floaty things in the water. I used bi-carb soda mix in the tank and then flushed it about 3 times. Leaving it in there for a day or so. There are others who have used milton baby bottle cleaner, or that stuff used for cleaning beer bottles when home brewing. All seem to work well.

About the silver activated carbon filter - they are good but not perfect. Depends on what sort of water you will be using. Have a read of this forum where a guy called Captain had some really good information. Read post 89547

Serendipity

AnswerID: 469112

Follow Up By: Mad Habits - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 17:42

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 17:42
Ditto on the drinking water hose Serendipity,
I forgot to mention that!
For those that don't know - it's the blue one in Bunnings - the one that's about 3 or 4 x the price of the others:-)
Yep $$$$$ that's the one you need!
Cheers Nigel
FollowupID: 743474

Follow Up By: peter m26 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:48

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:48
Hi guys
thanks for all the tips and posts , got are bit of reading to do , will get back to you after I have read them
cheers peter
( PS thanks for local WA reply to napalm_999 )
FollowupID: 743498

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 09:44

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 09:44
Hi Peter,

Have a look at BEST water filters website.
I have one and it seems to do the job.
Rob M

AnswerID: 469113