usa imported van step down transformers

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 15:12
ThreadID: 89883 Views:7735 Replies:11 FollowUps:54
Gday every one, i'm currently importing a van (toy hauler) from the states, my reasons for this was due to the fact there was nothing in australia that fitted our needs.
jayco base station=had to climb over lounge and sleep under canvas
Caria = $98000 ugly and had to climb ladder to get into bed
other models= bikes couldn't be locked inside of a night due to position of bed

we decided on a Keystone outback, all the bells and whistles, although money wasnt our reason for importing we are still coming out in front (even after adr mods)
what i would like to know from any body that has imported a van or fith wheeler before, who supplies step down transformers to suit, and what are your experiences
for anybody thinking about importing dont be put off by negative people who are only assuming what it's all about, but make sure you do your research, can be very frustrating, but for us it has worked out, and i cant talk highly enough of Luke Holman at Holman rv's in Ohio

Reply By: oldtrack123 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 16:58

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 16:58
HAVE you realy done your research thoroughly???
First 'YOU mean a STEP UP transformer
2nd
That is no longer an approved method under Aust standards, I believe

You should check with your state electrical safety office ,

AnswerID: 469133

Follow Up By: Colcam42 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 19:50

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 19:50
I assume that he needs 240v to 110v transformers, depending on load, places such as Jaycar do sell them. However, I would also like to assume that whoever is doing the ADR conversions is also doing the whole LPGas changeover, replacing the electrical wiring and assuring Garth that the appliances are Australian approved. If these are, then he wouldn't need the 240-110v step-down transformers.
FollowupID: 743483

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:22

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:22
EDIT
Re "First 'YOU mean a STEP UP transformer "

My apologies ,A very senior moment
Of course it would be a step DOWN transformer so he can /hopes to, use existing equipment
However, I still believe such is no longer acceptable under the new rules.
The van will have to comply to:
AS /NZS 3001 :2008
ELecrical Installations Transportable structures

All aplliances, wiring, switching, gas piping, safety protection, etc will have to comply to AUS standards for both electrical & gas
Then there are the other ADRs to comply with

ps boats are not covered by the above standard

FollowupID: 743493

Reply By: willawa - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 18:57

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 18:57
Hi Garth.
hope you have also checked the draw bar regs and width of the van .

Ed
AnswerID: 469142

Reply By: Polaris - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 19:02

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 19:02
Looks like they put the doors on the wrong side!

Very much doubt any responsible sparky here will do an Aussie compliance RV/relocatable home electrical certificate.
AnswerID: 469144

Reply By: Gwray - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 20:14

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 20:14
Hi Garth

Don't know why has to be so negative (your question was about stepdown transformers not about the rights and wrongs of importing from the US!)

I'm assuming you've got 110v aircon, fridge, microwave, etc.. etc. We had same issue with an imported yacht. Simply putting a suitable size stepdown transformer between the 240V source and your 110v inlet is perfectly safe and acceptable - we used this one:

http://www.tortech.com.au/shop/product/3500-watt-step-down-transformer/

It's a big beast but will run anything you might have in your import.

AnswerID: 469151

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 20:31

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 20:31
My Boss bought a boat from the USA complete with 110v appliances & he just bought a transformer like yours.

OK in a boat but not sure I would want to lug around 32kg of transformer in a caravan though.
FollowupID: 743488

Follow Up By: gelatr- Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:26

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:26
Just this week I bought a 240 to 110 step down transformer from Jaycar to run a 110v Dewalt battery charger that is part of a tool kit I purchased when I last visited the States. As expected there have been no problems at all.

Bit different to running an RV full of appliances though.

Also I agree that the current range of toy haulers on offer in Australia is below par. I look with envy when in the States at what they have to choose from. I'm not sure whether our manufacturers haven't cottoned on to the potential of this segment or they've done their market research and found there isn't really any demand.

I've checked out the Jayco Toy Haulers a couple of times but I always wonder about there durability.

Good luck with your purchase. I completely get where you are coming from.

FollowupID: 743494

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:37

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:37
RE"Simply putting a suitable size stepdown transformer between the 240V source and your 110v inlet is perfectly safe and acceptable - we used this one:""

Sorry, it is not that simple, how does your RCD function ??
All changes SHALl be made by a licensed electrical contractor
The contractor needs to be fully familar with AS/NZS 3001:2008
Many are not .
An electrical certificate of compliance to the standards is required

FollowupID: 743496

Follow Up By: Garth Pregnell - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 08:00

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 08:00
I appreciate every body that answered my question,
and thank you everybody else for your negative.
I look forward to seeing you all on the road, I'll be the one in the over sized van with no electrics, gas and wrong side doors, and what ever other negative comments I've missed
thanks Garth
FollowupID: 743507

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 10:33

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 10:33
Hi Garth
Best of LUCK
You may need it!!!
A lot of shonks in the business as many have found out
Sometimes working in with shonk electricians & gas fitters etc, to get the necessary compliance papers.
But the end user IS THE BUNNY

FollowupID: 743519

Follow Up By: Garth Pregnell - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 15:13

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 15:13
gday every body, once again can anybody who talked about AS/NZS 3001:2008, tell me what paragraph refers to transformers not being acceptable,
l have just read the standard twice and have found no such mention
any correct information with out the negativity would be appreciated
thank you
FollowupID: 743540

Follow Up By: salt n peper nomad - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 16:02

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 16:02
Gday Gwray,
l appreciate your unbiased opinion, very hard to find, when the van arrives l will up date this with all the pros and cons l have experienced from importing a van, so people can get an honest account of my experience, both good and bad, so they don't have to listen to here say.
thanks again for your help and happy sailing
Garth
FollowupID: 743544

Follow Up By: aususer - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 16:50

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 16:50
Just to wade into this thread.. and not being a sparky - can't comment on the legalities...

but wouldn't it be safe to say >50% of those power issues (especially lighting) may be resolved by "pulling through" some low voltage 12V/24V cable and a installing a 110/240VAC -> 12/24VDC convertor - and eliminating a lot of this power debate complications?! Just like Jayco are doing nowadays.

make it even easier to deal with solar too!

DC doesn't need safety certificates/inspections (of course... safety i still paramount so fuse and fuse often!)

If you are going to the troubles importing this vehicle... its a pretty cool way to do it.

My $0.02 - worth exactly that! ;D
FollowupID: 743545

Follow Up By: salt n peper nomad - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 17:06

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 17:06
to Aususer,
thanks for your honest unbiased opinion
the fact you haven't commented on things out side your expertise, realy shows hope for this forum
thanks a lot Garth
FollowupID: 743546

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 17:26

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 17:26
Hi aususer

Yes, that would be one way ,if happy with only 12v devices.
But I think you will find that they[jayco] still have some 240v outlets.

FollowupID: 743549

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 17:40

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 17:40
HI Garth
Re:"gday every body, once again can anybody who talked about AS/NZS 3001:2008, tell me what paragraph refers to transformers not being acceptable,
thank you ""

You will not find it in AS /NZS 3000 or 3001
It is specific to imported vehicles
AS I said earlier
I BELIEVE it is NOW illegal to use step down transformers in that situation
I will stand being corrected, if my BELIEF is wrong.

I cannot find the actual link now.

As I suggested earlier it may pay to thoroughly check with both ADR imports & your state ESO ,ESPECIALLY if you live in a state that checks electrical & gas are to Aus standards & THAT INCLUDES EQUIPMENT at the time of applying for rego
Of course, if you do consider this just negativity, do not bother!!

FollowupID: 743550

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 17:47

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 17:47
Hi Garth
I cannot edit so would just like to add
The existing wiring, methods, protection & equipment etc STILL have to comply with the relevant AUS standards
110 v is still covered by the regulations.& that includes only licensed electricians doing the work.[ from changing plugs, outlets etc to actual wiring in the transformer, fuses & protection]
FollowupID: 743551

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 18:02

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 18:02
gelatr posted:
Just this week I bought a 240 to 110 step down transformer from Jaycar to run a 110v Dewalt battery charger that is part of a tool kit I purchased when I last visited the States. As expected there have been no problems at all."

Hi Geoff
Yes as YOU posted one devise is a big difference to a whole van
In fact no way comparable

I also note you just bought it this week, have you really fully tested that the charger is functioning correctly & as designed @ all stages of battery charging???
How would you know that it is not doing long term harm to the battery?
AS an electrician with many years of experience with overseas equipment, I can assure I would be a little cautious

FollowupID: 743554

Follow Up By: Mark C - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 21:21

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 21:21
Gee, didnt realise that Aus Standards had there own police force, comforting isnt it!
FollowupID: 743575

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 22:32

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 22:32
Mark C posted:
Gee, didnt realise that Aus Standards had there own police force, comforting isnt it"
Now THAT is a valuable contribution to the subject . I THINK ,IT IS NOT

The standards are there to protect innocent victims from stupidity of
ill informed, self proclaimed experts who often appear on forums & many other places
No qualifications, lacking in even basic knowledge, yet still try to convince others they are right.
FollowupID: 743588

Follow Up By: gelatr- Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 00:10

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 00:10
oldtrack123 posteted:
"I also note you just bought it this week, have you really fully tested that the charger is functioning correctly & as designed @ all stages of battery charging???
How would you know that it is not doing long term harm to the battery?
AS an electrician with many years of experience with overseas equipment, I can assure I would be a little cautious"

Hi Peter,
After cycling through the charging of two batteries all seems fine. However, you are correct in stating that I don't know the long terms effects on the batteries. Time will tell in this department.

Further in terms of making an informed opinion concerning the operational aspects of a 240 to 110 transformer I could only use my limited example to document my experience. Have I got out my oscilloscope and checked the purity of the sine wave and the voltage from my new transformer? - well to be honest no I haven't. Maybe it is a mistake to trust that a product purchased from an Australian specialist electronic supplier would be up to spec in this regard.

I think that I made it clear that there was a vast difference between my example and powering a whole RV. However, Australian Standards withstanding it is theoretically possible to install a transformer to achieve what Gareth is seeking. As already stated by others people do it all the time with boats. I not suggesting that this would be AS compliant or indeed a preferable solution for an RV.

I think the main point I was making was our van manufacturers haven't really addressed the toy hauler category satisfactorily. I know I've considered bringing in my own toy hauler in from the States, but due to issues with standards and other design problems I have decided against it. I think if we had more options in this market segment then this debate would be redundant.

Given you stated that you are an electrician with experience working on overseas equipment, I am keen to hear what it is that makes you cautious.

FollowupID: 743600

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 07:56

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 07:56
Guys,

Our company imports large capital equipment from the USA & we get a electrician to wire it into the mains at installation then away we go. Commissioned, job done.

Whats all this talk about Aus electrical compliance? Does that mean that anyone in the world who buys a van in a country other than Australia is driving around in a ticking time bomb? I think not.

Stu
FollowupID: 743605

Follow Up By: aususer - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 09:46

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 09:46
oldtrack123: Ouch! Gentle Mate... I'm only trying to help with an idea.. I can confirm that there IS some 240Volts in my Jayco Swan... and yes - I do (sometimes) use it ie. My microwave is 240V as is the 3-way-fridge. Yes - I do use 240Volts... when I am at a campsite that has it.

I am not getting into a "whose more right" - I am simply pointing out that 12V *MIGHT* be a good solution to eliminate 50% of the wiring.. and set up nicely for the future too!

OP: I think you will find that the 110 wiring and the 240 wire is the same.. the connectors and specifications on HOW ITS WIRED is more the safety standard...

but as I said - I'm no expert!
:D
FollowupID: 743614

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 10:55

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 10:55
Hi aususer

I have no problem with your post & totally agree
No shots intended
It is one way to go, but as I pointed out & you agree, you do still have some 240v outlets

FollowupID: 743622

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 15:23

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 15:23
Bushranger1 posted:
Guys,

Our company imports large capital equipment from the USA & we get a electrician to wire it into the mains at installation then away we go. Commissioned, job done.

Whats all this talk about Aus electrical compliance? Does that mean that anyone in the world who buys a van in a country other than Australia is driving around in a ticking time bomb? I think not.
Cheers Stu

Hi Stu
First, hard wiring into an installation is not covered by the same standards& as such is totally irrelevant
& I would suggest that if you checked the name plate on THAT large capital equipment you will find it has been made to suit AUS standards & supply systems
Or are you suggesting again USA 3phase system voltages are the same as Aus??

Like It or not ,compliance to Aust standards is compulsory

& yes some equipment imported from overseas can be ticking time bombs
As anyone with basic electrical knowledge would know
A simple question are you aware of a very basic difference in the 240v system of New Zealand vans compared to AUS vans, yet both have to comply
with AS/NZS 3001
Are you aware that steel piping is allowed in many countries for the gas lines, BUT IN AUS the standards insist on COPPER
& that just for starters

FollowupID: 743654

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 15:41

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 15:41
Hi Geoff
Re :'Further in terms of making an informed opinion concerning the operational aspects of a 240 to 110 transformer I could only use my limited example to document my experience. Have I got out my oscilloscope and checked the purity of the sine wave and the voltage from my new transformer? - well to be honest no I haven't. Maybe it is a mistake to trust that a product purchased from an Australian specialist electronic supplier would be up to spec in this regard""

The transformer if that is what you have would naturally have a true sine wave output @ the stepped down voltage but still @ 50hertz

A transformer cannot change frequency

My concern would be more with the electronics of the charger [if it has such ] being affected by the 17% lower frequency
That MAY upset actual operating points of the charger
However you mention an electronic specialist, perhaps your unit is not a simple transformer but a switch mode supply with the correct output frequency
[60hertz]

Electronic devises can be frequency sensitive, since frequency has a major effect on inductance & capacitance values

Any devise with a ferrous core is affected by frequency, motors,transformers.etc

FollowupID: 743659

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:01

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:01
Hi Peter,
I am sure that there are many countries that don't comply with our electrical standards but I cannot see the USA which has so much litigation having unsafe electrical wiring standards.

If your advising Garth to be weary of buying a USA built van because it could be unsafe then why does it become unsafe when it arrives here but its fit for purpose in the USA?

I have no knowledge of the electrical standards of each respective country but if what your saying is that no-one in the world has standards as good as ours then basically if I hire a van in the USA for a holiday then I am risking my life with their poor standards.

It just seems an over reaction to me based on the county of origin.

Hey Garth are you sorry you asked!

Stu
FollowupID: 743693

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 21:10

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 21:10
HI Stu
Different countries have different standards
The country has to comply with those standardsfor use in THAT country
They are designed FOR THAT COUNTRY & it,'s systems to ensure safety in that country using those systems

But in many ways the standards from one countriy to another may be sufficiently different to be hazardous in another country

I mentioned New Zealand earlier
They use the same general standards AS/NZS 3000 & AS/NZS 3001
Yet they have special clauses,in those standards, , relevent to them which will make their vans potentially dangerous in Aus.
Whereas Our vans apart from one small, but not dangerous point ,would be OK in NEw Zealand
Same standards just a few paragraphs different!!
They require ANNUAL electrical inspections partly due to those slightly different arrangements

If that occurs using the same standards what do you think could occur with totally different standards designed for countries with possibly totally different systems, rules ,& wiring methods

It is not a question of not being safe in the country of origin, their standards should cover that

It is a question of that countriy's standards not being applicable to another country.
Is Our System better than New Zealand' s ?, no it is simply a different system that suits our overall supply system

Is NewZealand's system better than ours? well they require ANNUAL inspections
To me that makes it a better system on the surface,BUT the annual inspections are required because amatuer electrician could very easily make it [van]very dangerous

FollowupID: 743695

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 21:38

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 21:38
Hi Stu
Just a bit more on frequency

The higher the frequency the less "iron" used for the transformer , motor stator &rotor etc
The higher the frequency the lower the capacitor value needs to be
When unit designed for higher frequencies are used on lower frequencies the following can occur:

Induction motor WILL run slower ,that may not be a problem unless heavily loaded,, when they will draw more current & possibly overheat
While that overheating may not do any damage in the short term it can have an effect on long term life

Transformers will not be capable of the same loads without overheating

Micro wave ovens can be very frequency critical, as all the inductance & capacitance values are thrown out of wack & in opposite directions

Ballasted fluoro lamps can suffer long term damage again because ballast values being thrown out of wack[excess current & overheating ballasts]

Resistive loads & universal type motors as used on many tools, hair dryerskitchen tools ,etc do not have problems

Universal switch mode power supplies,usually have no problems

Some TVs can be frequency critical

Much depend on the components of the devise as to the final effect

FollowupID: 743696

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 07:46

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 07:46
Hi Peter

Thanks for the detailed explanation.

I reckon it all seems overcomplicated!

Maybe we will bump into each other in the bush one day & we can have a beer together & discuss something simple like say, the weather.

Stu
FollowupID: 743711

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:16

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:16
Hi Stu
THAT was far from a detailed explanation
It was just a quick outline of the potential problems
The problems are due to the many different methods that have evolved over time in each country
Different methods of supply , approaches to/method of earthing ,
[four different approaches to earthing are in use] general methods of wiring, supply voltages, even the purity of the supply voltage[New Zealand as an example which requires a different type of RCD to Aus], approaches to safety
That's to just name the main ones

The standards do not list All the thing one cannot do, just because some one thinks they can do something just because it does not say NO in standards shows how little they understand!!

Also the Standards lag behind developments

New rulings are made from time to time which obviously cannot be in a Standard until it is revised

Back on OT
It is not as easy as simply fitting a step down transformer to the incoming supply
even tho one supplier suggests it is.,& high lights that their transformers are fully isolated
That brings in the same problems of any fully isolated supply [inverters , generators] being used with multiple class 1 devises !!
A whole new hotly debated subject!!

I will repeat I "BELIEVE" the use of step down transformer are NOW not approved
As I said I may be wrong & I did not bookmark the reference so cannot confirm
I did not state it as "FACT"

Yes ,it is VERY complicated. & not as simple as just reading the Standards
One also needs to KNOW just what has been done in accordance with the other country's STANDARDSi

FollowupID: 743726

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:28

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:28
Hi Stu
An edit to
"The standards do not list All the thing one cannot do, just because some one thinks they can do something just because it does not say NO in standards shows how little they understand
In fact I do not recall any Standard that tells you what you cannot do, the list would be endless.
What the Standards tell you is what you SHALL do'
FollowupID: 743727

Reply By: Member - Rob D (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:07

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:07
It is not just the voltage; Australia has 50Hz power whereas the US has 60Hz power. This means that electric motors will run at 5/6 the speed they were designed to run. Other devices may overheat as well.
If you relax at a faster pace you can get more relaxation in for a given time.
Regards Rob

AnswerID: 469155

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:31

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 21:31
Hi Rob

Yes & motors will draw more current, if operating near full load may burn out

Timing devices will also have errors
Changes in freqyency can lead to many problems with some equipment.
FollowupID: 743495

Reply By: Andrew - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 15:17

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 15:17
hello Garth

The importer should be certifying the unit to VSB 1

Link here

which says in the wiring section

"Electrical installations on a trailer that are intended for connection to a power system other than that of the drawing vehicle must comply with Australian Standard 3001-1981 'Electrical Installations in Caravans and Caravan Parks' or Australian Standard AS 3001-2001 Electrical Installations 'Relocatable premises (including caravans and tents) and their site installations'."

What you want to do might work, however it does not appear to be legal.

You may not have any issues until the unit is inspected or has a problem at some stage. If someone gets hurt as a result then it could become a major issue if you hadn't attempted to make it comply.

I know in Vic that if there is any doubt they need the electrical compliance to be verified.

hope this helps

AnswerID: 469207

Follow Up By: salt n peper nomad - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 15:30

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 15:30
gday every body, once again can anybody who talked about AS/NZS 3001:2008, tell me what paragraph refers to transformers not being acceptable,
thank you
FollowupID: 743543

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 20:05

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 20:05
You must have a problem reading, the reply to that was posted!!!
FollowupID: 743562

Follow Up By: salt n peper nomad - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 08:36

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 08:36
Peter I have no problem reading the reply, what I have asked for and still yet to receive Is where In the regulations mentioned does It state that step down transformers are Illegal.
I have purchased and read all the numerous standards and regulations mentioned on this forum and have not seen any mention to step down transformer legalities.
If you are the subject matter expert like you think, It shouldn't be a problem for you to tell me what page and paragraph I am missing
If you need to check your facts you can get a copy of the regulations from
www.saiglobal.com
www.allstatesafety.com.au
thanks Garth

p.s I have no problem being proven wrong, or looking like a dill, but I like every body else that asks questions, I require correct, relevant, honest Information
FollowupID: 743607

Follow Up By: Lex M - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 12:34

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 12:34
"I require correct, relevant, honest Information"

I don't think any forum is the right place to look for this. ;-)
FollowupID: 743635

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 15:56

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 15:56
Hi Garth
R:'If you are the subject matter expert like you think, It shouldn't be a problem for you to tell me what page and paragraph I am missing
www.saiglobal.com
thanks Garth"

AS I said it,s not in the standards nor are a thousand other things that ONE SHOULD NOT DO
The standards tell you what you should do.
I do have CURRENT editions of AS/NZS 3000 & AS/NZS 3001 !!

I will repeat what I said earleir
I "BELIEVE" it is no longer an option to use a step down transformer under new regs for imported vehicles
Read it some time ago but cannot recall just where, SO I CANNOT POINT IT OUT TO YOU
WHICh IS WHY I SUGGESTED YOU CHECK Thoroughly with the relevant authorities.
There are big changes in the wind due to all the shonks that have been importing overseas vans & with tame tradesman giving certificates of compliance for vehicles that simply did not comply.
Be careful you may get caught up .

Again, simple advise, you do not have to take it

FollowupID: 743663

Reply By: Honky - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 17:05

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 17:05
Discussing with an electrical wholesaler about what wire I need to do a total 12 volt supply to a shed as it was going to be solar and batteries.
As the wire is rated in amps the voltage was irrelevant. 12 volts need higher ampage rated wire to stop voltage drop which is critical in a 12 volt system.
I commented on the USA wiriing would be heavier as the voltage is lower which I would assume means higher ampage.
He said that 240 volts at 50 hz is about the same as 110 at 60 hertz. that is why all the travel adapters are only to take the plugs, they do not step up or down the voltage.
No liability for this comment accepted.

Honky
AnswerID: 469211

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 18:15

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 18:15
OMG... 240V @ 50hz is the same as 110V @ 60Hz. That is just so wrong I don't know where to start. PLEASE do not think this is even slightly true - you could be in for a big shock!!!

FollowupID: 743558

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 20:23

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 20:23
Hi Honkey

Yes the wring may be heavier . but that depends on the load being supplied
A 10amp outlet would still only need 10amp cable
Remember for the same wattage devise the current is 20 times higher for 12v as for 240v
Also remember voltage drop of 2volts is insignificant on 240v [0.83%] but 2v on 12v is 16.6%
Voltage drop is usually the major consideration on extra low voltage systems such as 12v
FollowupID: 743564

Follow Up By: Gwray - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 21:13

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 21:13
Totally agree - world of difference between the two voltages BUT - have a look at the little "black box" on your phone charger, laptop charger, printer, iphone, ipad, etc etc and you will find it is quite happy accepting anything from 100vac to 250vac.

Also most modern elec motors are 50/60 Hz so are happy running with step down transformer.

You are not going to kill yourself plugging a 240v hair-dryer into a 110v supply - just not going to get your hair dry real quick!
FollowupID: 743574

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 21:29

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 21:29
Those "black boxes" contain a switchmode transformer, thats why you can plug into 110/240v - it adjusts the voltage to whats required by the device.

And yes, plugging a 240V hairdryer into 110V will give low heat. But put a 110V hairdryer into 240V and watch the smoke come out. Unless a device is labled 110/240v, best to keep it away from any plug adaptor.

FollowupID: 743577

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 22:21

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 22:21
RE :"Totally agree - world of difference between the two voltages BUT - have a look at the little "black box" on your phone charger, laptop charger, printer, iphone, ipad, etc etc and you will find it is quite happy accepting anything from 100vac to 250vac. ""

Sorry ,but your electical knowledge is SADLY LACKING
AND A LITTLE KNOWLEDGE CAN BE DANGEROUS just like the "EXPERT "electrical wholesaler in a previous post

They are electronic "UNIVERSAL" switch mode power supplies
& THEY DO REDUCE whatever voltage is applied to them down to the battery CHARGE voltage[as low as just a few volts dc]

In fact some can accept any voltage AC or DC up to their maximum rated voltage

FollowupID: 743586

Reply By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 19:59

Friday, Nov 04, 2011 at 19:59
Re :"He said that 240 volts at 50 hz is about the same as 110 at 60 hertz. that is why all the travel adapters are only to take the plugs, they do not step up or down the voltage. ""

Good help us from would be experts!!!!
The IDIOT is talking about universal switch mode power supplies
Which are totally different thing & ALL convert the voltage to suit the actual operating voltage of the devise [ often quite low voltage]!!!

AnswerID: 469222

Follow Up By: salt n peper nomad - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 11:38

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 11:38
as per previous post
Peter I have no problem reading the reply, what I have asked for and still yet to receive Is where In the regulations mentioned does It state that step down transformers are Illegal.
I have purchased and read all the numerous standards and regulations mentioned on this forum and have not seen any mention to step down transformer legalities.
If you are the subject matter expert like you think, It shouldn't be a problem for you to tell me what page and paragraph I am missing
www.saiglobal.com
thanks Garth

p.s I have no problem being proven wrong, or looking like a dill, but I like every body else that asks questions, I require correct, relevant, honest Information
FollowupID: 743628

Follow Up By: salt n peper nomad - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 15:45

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 15:45
gday peter you havent replied to my post,
do you not know the page and paragraphs that back up your statements
FollowupID: 743660

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 16:03

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 16:03
HI Garth
I hope you can read & UNDERSTAND the Standards & ADRs

Because it certainly seems you have problems on this thread!!
Go back & READ IT ALL VERY SLOWLY

I think IT IS ALL SPELT OUT VERY CLEAR

FollowupID: 743664

Follow Up By: salt n peper nomad - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 16:49

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 16:49
peter may be you should put your glasses on and read the regulations and standards closely
unlike you l have carefully and slowly read all the regulations and import standards, including the following

AS/NZS 3001:2008 Electrical installations - Transportable structures and vehicles including their site supplies

AS/NZS 3000:2007 Electrical installations

Importing Vehicles to Australia Brochure (VSB10)

Australian Design Rules and the entire Department of Infrastructure and Transport web site

my original question had nothing to do with regulations, gas certificate, installations of RCD's or any other stuff that has come up through this discussion, all of which l have already researched and know the pro's and cons for
my question was were can l buy a step down transformer!
you must have too much time on your hands between lunch at the RSL and wheel of fortune, so you have to stick your nose in to be heard
again l would like to thank Gwray for answer my question
thanks Garth
FollowupID: 743667

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 17:32

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 17:32
Hi Garth
With ALL that knowledge
It should be easy for you to simply find a supplier,as I am sure YOU know exactly what you want
But YOUR OP went further thanTHAT
Quote:", who supplies step down transformers to suit, and what are your experiences "
AND
"for anybody thinking about importing dont be put off by negative people who are only assuming what it's all about, but make sure you do your research, "

I see, like many, you do have to become abnoxious

Quote "you must have too much time on your hands between lunch at the RSL and wheel of fortune, so you have to stick your nose in to be heard "

While the thread may have drifted OT, it has shown the misunderstandings of many posters & the illinformed info/advise given by some "experts ???"

As I said much earlier
Good luck with your import, But you had better do it quick , the shonks have been found out.
The rules & inspections are going to be a lot tighter
FollowupID: 743674

Follow Up By: salt n peper nomad - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 18:24

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 18:24
Sorry Peter you are right
My question did go on to ask about experiences, how ever since you have not imported a van you really have no experiences in importing vans
As for the following
Re: “I hope you can read & UNDERSTAND the Standards & ADRs
Because it certainly seems you have problems on this thread!!
Go back & READ IT ALL VERY SLOWLY
I think IT IS ALL SPELT OUT VERY CLEAR “

It really looks like your tick the obnoxious box your self
As for the following
Re: “While the thread may have drifted OT, it has shown the misunderstandings of many posters & the illinformed info/advise given by some "experts ???"

You seem to tick that box as well since you are quoting something, you think you remember
and of course
Re: “My apologies ,A very senior moment
Of course it would be a step DOWN transformer”

May be you are having a another very senior moment
Garth
FollowupID: 743684

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 18:56

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 18:56
This reply from a state ESO will "throw a cat among the pigeons"

Quote"Clause 3.8 of AS/NZS 3001: 2001 and 2008 states in part ELV transformers “the requirements of AS/NZS 3000 shall apply”
ELV is not exceeding 50V AC.
The use of the 240V /110V transformer is outside the scope of clause 3.8.
Socket outlets must be supplied by either LV at a nominal 230V supply or ELV
There in no allowance for 110V
The only allowance for an “isolation transformer” (clause 3.5.1.2 (d) is where the socket outlet is supplied with a separate transformer i.e. shaver outlet like used in hotels for various voltage shavers.

So at this point in time unless other wise demonstrated the use of a 240v/110 V transformer is not allowed. Regards"" [End quote]

I clearly spelt out the intentions & the facts .

Does that clear it up or do some still "think" they are right
FollowupID: 743988

Reply By: 46 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 14:58

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 14:58
I too have a USA manufactured RV- Forest River Flagstaff Mac 205a. A 10' camper van purchased September from Puma RV Tuggerah. Mine had changes made to it in production as Warrick from Puma RV is the importer. Have a talk to Marie and Warrick from Puma RV as they have a handle of the power ang gas requirements for Australian market.
AnswerID: 469270

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 16:14

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 16:14
Many follow that path
So it SHOULD comply with AUS standards in ALL respects
It should be wired for 240v, in accordance with AS 3000 & AS3001
With the Australian required type of safety switch ,RCD. [THEY are not all the same]
FollowupID: 743665

Reply By: garrycol - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:37

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:37
What has all this discussion about whether the vehicle will be compliant or not and all the other garbage being discussed to do with this thread. The Op simply asked "who supplies step down transformers to suit, and what are your experiences" nothing else.

Lets back to that topic.

Garry
AnswerID: 469291

Follow Up By: aususer - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 08:32

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 08:32
Thank you for that feedback, however re-reading the post - whilst it did go "off track" to the core OP's post... the OP was interested in expanding the questioning with various posts requesting details.

Granted - the "threadpolice" would rather see a seperate post for each seperate question... in "real life" that never works (I submit to about 30 different forums - and that is my experaince speaking).
Its usually the "out of the box" suggestions that conclude the answer.. the masses here expand the post from a single thought to a collection (like "the borg" for you treky's ;))

I think this forum has done exactly what it was designed for - to help someone answer - what appears to be - a very complex question.
FollowupID: 743786

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 13:53

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 13:53
Hi Aususer

Summed up nicely
That is the way most forums work, especially on tech matters
No one is compelled to read them if they are not interested or it is too tech.
For the others, it's a case of trying to" sort the wheat from the chaff"
Re the OT
I am curently in discussion with a major supplier on the matter
Who originally came back quoting a clause from the superceded standards which is not in the NEW standards.

One point that MAY be the issue is the type of transformer.
Certainly non compliant isolated & auto transformers are definately not allowed
Then there is the question of recommended practise with compliant fully isolated power sources
The major one is
ONLY ONE CLASS1 devise should be connected@ ANYTIME

A typical van .motor home will have MORE THAN ONE class 1 devise permanently connected
& the RCD will not be operational
That means major rewiring
A change such as that requires that the whole installation be bought up to current standards

I will keep all informed of the results of my discussions with the supplier tech people.

FollowupID: 743800

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:01

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 22:01
Just an update on the above on Monday 7th Nov afternoon[after the above post]
The co's "engineer" contacted me & gave a great sales speil
Yes he claimed,the transformers fully complied with the requirements of AS 3001
When I pointed out ways in whichTHEY DID NOT he became quite heated & he cut the conservation short & hung up
Later he emailed me that he would have the PROOF in writing on WED 9th& would send it to me

I am still waiting
So much for sales people & some"engineers"

HE may be too busy now answering questions from some ESO
Yes, they now know the co

FollowupID: 744667

Reply By: Colcam42 - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 11:32

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 11:32
Hi all, just re-reading this long thread, when we were researching our new 5th wheeler, there were many details that were not so obvious. We visited one importers factory. There, they were showing a partially converted model, doing the folllowing:

:Completely replacing the mains wiring as the original wiring did not meet Aust. Standards. Seeing them trying to "pull" the new wires through the van was scary.
:Fitting compliant 240v double pole power points and RCD.
They retained 110v appliances so were obviously putting in a transformer to reduce the 240v to 110 for these.
:They had to completely change all LPGas fittings, pipework did not comply.
They had to change the suspension, original was too light for Australian Conditions.
:Rear LH window was converted to a "complying" door. Steps for this door were optional.
:The Awning was repositioned to be on the roof so as to comply with Width.
:There was to our mind, discrepancies with weights, plated US weights in pounds, did not convert to the lower Kg weights that they put on the Australian compliance plate.

We finished up paying extra to get our new home built in Australia and are very happy with our custom design and follow up service.

AnswerID: 470154

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:23

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 18:23
You were lucky you took that step!
Even if everything else was up to standards
THIS certainly would not have been:_"They retained 110v appliances so were obviously putting in a transformer to reduce the 240v to 110 for these"
Mind you it is possible to make it safer even though it will not comply to the standards
But from what I have heard & believe even those steps are not taken

PS 'I wonder where the OP is??
FollowupID: 744653

Follow Up By: Upbeat - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 23:11

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 23:11
Gee 52 folowups and 27 by Oldtrack123, must live on the computer.
FollowupID: 744676

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 23:58

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 23:58
Re:"Upbeat posted:
Gee 52 folowups and 27 by Oldtrack123, must live on the computer""

Now THAT is a VALUABLE contribution
IS THAT ALL YOU HAVE TO OFFER?

I was asked questions, some obviously found the answers interesting & asked further questions to which I replied

.Does that bother you???

It happens to be very important that people do understand what the standards really mean ,not just some may think they mean!!i

If it is of no interest or beyond your comprehension ,you are not compelled to read it
FollowupID: 744679