Struth how lucky are we!
Submitted: Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 03:46
Mick O
Well I'm sitting here in sunny Calgary and it's a mighty -11C (apparently this is a balmy day!). How do people live in this?! Even more, how do they travel in it. It brings it home just how lucky and accessible the majority of our outback areas are. Canadians love their pick-ups and just about every 2nd vehicle is a mighty Dodge, Ford or Chev with a bonnet area like a kenworth truck. Even the smallest Toyota offering is like a Hilux on steroids! They don't do diesel here much either. They're just about all Petrol with gas conversions. They also need two sets of tyres a year. Come the cold spells like this, everyone breaks out their softer compound tyres. It's still chaotic when the first ice of the season covers the roads. Oh and you can't have an uncovered ute tub either. It's hilarious to see all the vehicles bum down on the highway, the tubs chockers with snow lol.
I shall never whinge about a down pour of rain or how cold I reckon it is during a July desert night in the Simpson.
Looking forward to getting back to the warmth.
Reply By: Bill BD - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 08:02
Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 08:02
I could live in the cold no problems... I love it. When it gets cold enough to draw the moisture out of the air and far to cold to rain..... lovely. Put on your best gear and enjoy!
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 09:04
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 09:04
Not for me mate, not for me! Too cold by far!
Reply By: Member - Davidrrs - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 08:15
Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 08:15
Hi Mick, couldn't agree more, we are currently in Boston and will be heading to Montreal then Quebec, it is freezing at present. It's always great to visit with the knowledge we are going back to the
Gold Coast. Then into the motorhome for a few weeks travel up to Hervey Bay.
Travel safe.
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:47
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:47
Cheers Dave. Currently in Ontario so a bit warmer. Have a safe trip.
Mick
Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 08:37
Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 08:37
Hey Mick, just back from Waikiki and then a short trip to the Coorrong with the boys and the weather has been great! Now on
the beach at Broadbeach watching the waves roll in and the surfers doing their thing.....doesn't get better than this in a 30 degree environment. I have a sniff of what retirement will be like....bring it on! Enjoy your holiday mate and keep them thermals on BUT outa sight!!! LOL Cheers Leigh
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 09:01
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 09:01
Jeez you lead a good life mate. Lets not wish our life away but yeah....bring it on lol. Enjoy the break sport. Cheers Mick
Reply By: mikehzz - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 10:41
Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 10:41
Even alpine diesel wouldn't be much good to them in those conditions, would it?
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:49
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:49
They have an additive they use to stop the diesel gelling. Much easier to al move to oz I reckon ;-)
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:39
Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:39
Good to see you made it over there mate.
I take it the flight escaped the industrial issues?
Have fun and say Hi to the PR for me :))
Be careful on those snow skis hey!!
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:54
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:54
Mate the PR is still slaving away at home. Back next week. At scott and Gaby's at present so a bit wrmer. Heading p to their cottage for a bit of quad fun.
Catch you when I get back.
Mick
Reply By: Member - Alan K (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:58
Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:58
Ah Michael, now you know why those Canadians always come out here....for the really good weather...AND THAT IS JUST
MELBOURNE..
Gold Coast weather report. 28 degrees and fine. LOL!
Hi to Scotty and Gaby.
AK
Reply By: peterll - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 12:29
Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 12:29
G'Day Mick,
If I known you were coming I would have taken you for a ride in my Toyota !! I live in Calgary. ANd today was..warmmate..although with the first flurries of the season you would wonder where locals got their licences.
Peterll
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:52
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:52
Damn sorry I missed that opportunity Pete. Will be back next year. Nice place that Calgary. Got out to Banff and Lake Louise which was just magnificent. We will be heading up north to Inuvik above the arctic circle.
Cheers Mate. Mick
Reply By: member - mazcan - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:30
Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:30
hi mick-o
while i'm having a bbq today i will be thinking of you having a snow-b-q
frozen snags on a frozen paper plate
will be interesting to see your vimeo's but the camera is probably frozen shut as
well
sorry but i have no desire to share that experience
i'm afraid i just cant except that been in those freezing conditions is enjoyable for anyone except polar bears etc
cold is my pet hate
hows the port is that frozen too???
have a great hol-ice- a-day
barry
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:57
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:57
Enjoy the BBQ Baz. Cheers Mick
Reply By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:34
Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:34
G'day Mick,
32 degrees here in
Darwin mate, same as yesterday and the day before that and will be for some time, but oh the humidity.....!
Snow in the back of the ute? Naar, can't comprehend that. Got the dog in the back though.
Noel K.
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 09:03
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 09:03
Got to be honest Noel, I'd take the cold over the humidity any day lol! Good on you mate. Enjoy. Mick
Reply By: Member - Vivien C (VIC) - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 06:55
Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 06:55
Hello Mick,
If you are heading towards Banff at any stage of this journey you might be able to say "hello" to my son, Nathan. He is a chef at The Maple Leaf restaurant in Banff!
Enjoy your trip. Calgary was covered in
grey mist and rain when we went there in September 2010!! We also visited a place called Drumheller to see the Royal Tyrell Museum..great spot if you like dinosaurs!!
Best wishes
Viv
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:56
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 08:56
Hi Viv,
did Banff early unfortunately or definitly would have called in to say g'day. There seems to be a fair Aussie contingent about the place. What a place it s. No doubt he's a keen skier as
well.
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 10:50
Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 10:50
Ummm -11c.........I am sure that nobody even mentioned a minus temp in Canada when we were discussing next years trip.
Part of GDEC brief is that the conditions are always reasonably warm during the
day and a tad cooler at night;))
Just double up on the 'jocks n socks' -all will be
well Mick O.
Just for info...mid 30's here atm, almost time to break out the shorts..lol
-and a big HI to Scott and Gaby. (you did stock up on Baileys didn't you??)
MJ
Follow Up By: Member - Scott & Gaby (Canada) - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 15:00
Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 15:00
ha HA. I'm there sport. Arrived today. Prepare for GDEC 2012 my friend.
MICK
Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 11:33
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 11:33
isnt that why you travel - to see different stuff?
Id be very intrested to see how they go about it in conditions totally foreighn to what i was used too
nothing worse than visitors here compaling about what makes australia different to where their from
id hate to go OS and do the same
Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 13:14
Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 13:14
No one's complaining, just pointing out how very different the extremes in climate, terrain and landscape are and how fortunate we are to enjoy a temperate climate. We often take our vast outback for granted but we have ready access to it. Canadians don't enjoy that same ease of access across the vast majority of their wild north due to both terrain and the simple thickness of their forests (oh and their bears are a bit different to ours as
well). Not to mention that at minus 30C and 5 metres of snow on the ground in December, it's hardly a time to be pitching a tent for a school holiday outing. We are very blessed in that department.
Having just spent a few days up around the Lakes areas north of Toronto, it is an amazing area and so far removed from what we have here. They do enjoy their ATV's and snowmobiles though.