toohey
g'day all
i've just got a 100 series 4.2td,filled both tanks to the top,got down to 1/2
tank on the main
tank,has'nt moved in 200k,checked aux
tank this droped to 3/4,have pressed the aux button once at fill up to make sure it was full.is this normal for the tanks to transfer from one to the other.
thanks in advance
cheers toohey
(it's a 2001 gxl)
Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 18:46
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 18:46
Hi Toohey,
Once you push the aux button and the light goes on you will be using fuel from that
tank.
Push it again to go back to the main
tank.
Follow Up By: toohey - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:06
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:06
thanks rob
i only had the aux button pressed for a few seconds,the aux
tank has droped a1/4 of a
tank.has me thinking maybe there is a transfer sensor between tanks.
cheers toohey
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:44
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:44
Was the word "SUB" showing near the fuel gauge at any time?
The "non" main
tank in the 100 is referred to as the SUB
tank.
Follow Up By: toohey - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 20:24
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 20:24
g'day phil
i stand admonished and corrected,"NAUGHTY" corner for me.
cheers toohey.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 21:47
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 21:47
I wasn't trying to "admonish" you. Because the sub had gone down and the main seemed to stay as it was I thought you may have been operating on the sub when you thought you were drawing from the main.
No worries
Follow Up By: toohey - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 04:31
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 04:31
cheers phil
toohey
Reply By: baz&pud (Tassie) - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:18
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:18
Toohey,
We have a 2002 100 series V8 petrol, in a nut shell, the aux
tank does seep petrol into the main
tank.
With ours it seems to vary though, the main gets low so switch to the aux and it will be as good as full, other times it could have seeped a quarter.
Its a pain in the but, but the Tojo people here told me it's normal.
Baz
Follow Up By: toohey - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:33
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:33
thanks baz
toohey
Reply By: sjc - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:40
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 19:40
Hi Toohey
I was told that each time you start the car the sub
tank pump runs and pumps about a litre through into the main
tank to keep itself working. So if you do long stints the sub
tank will show full when you switch over, if you do a lot of small runs around town the sub
tank pump will have transferred more fuel over into the main
tank and will show lower levels in the sub
tank.
Not sure if this is fact but it seems to be what happens to
mine.
Regards Scott
Follow Up By: toohey - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 20:28
Wednesday, Nov 09, 2011 at 20:28
good onya scott
and to the other constuctive replys.
toohey.
Follow Up By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 05:19
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 05:19
Toohey,
My understanding as
well and this is also what happens in practice in my 2005 model.
Follow Up By: toohey - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 13:38
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 13:38
thanks richard
i spoke to a tojo guru at work this morning, he says normal,he told me there's a refrence to it in the owners manual,i'll check it out.
cheers & thanks to all.
toohey.