Spotlights

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 15:48
ThreadID: 9000 Views:2490 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
I went down to the local 4WD shop to look at spotlights. I know that more expensive is better etc etc, but what is the difference in quality and performance between say the cheaper $150 a pair lights (CIBIE) and the much dearer Hella 4000s . Is the extra cost worthwhile.

Reply By: Member - Bear - Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 16:11

Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 16:11
I recently installed a set of IPF 800's and due the pressed studs attaching the body to the mounting letting go the lights were shacking all over. ARB replaced with new body but advised that the mounting stays should be used - I agreed and at my cost paid the $60.00 (i think). Now the stays are pulling through the body and I have to go back to ARB again..

On the way home ARB Townsville stated that they tell their customers "that if you have good lights you should take them of and leave them at home"!!!!

If you are putting them on a alloy bar you increase your problems!

BEAR
AnswerID: 39561

Reply By: simon - Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 19:28

Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 19:28
the old storey applys here you get what you pay for
currently i have a set of cibie turinos on my GU which are great very simular too the 4000 in output i also have a set of the hellas 4000 and a set of IPF 900's
The 4000 are a great light and built very well the cibie turinos are very simular quality but have a plastic body ( a friend has cibie oskars but they are at the lower end of the spectrem with the ipf 900s)
If you by chance can get ipf headlight replacement i would do the first as its makes a huge difference

Would stay clear of lesser known brands
AnswerID: 39576

Reply By: greendog - Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 20:59

Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 20:59
hi paul i.ve got a pair of light force 240 blitze on my paj and there great mate they came a little loose on the curragated tracks up north but they are a great light you find that the better light you go with makes an easier drive at night i say light force cheers peter
AnswerID: 39584

Reply By: Foss - Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 21:30

Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 21:30
G'Day Paul

I have a set of Super Oscars on my GU. This is the third vehicle they have been on.
I drilled out the standard rivets that hold the body of the light onto the mounting gimble and replaced them with 3/16" blind stainless rivets, no more shaking loose. Mate has 4000's. I like the ease of adjustablility that the 4000's have & I think the 4000's through a better beam.

As someone said above. You get what you pay for.

cheers.
Foss
AnswerID: 39586

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 00:27

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 00:27
I see it this way. Generally most 4WD travellers, when touring, are set up and camped before dark. and that's where you stay. 99.9% of all travelling is done in daylight hours. The need for big spotties is a very rare occassion. So why have them ??
OK they look good and that makes you feel better, you look like a seasoned traveller.
If you were travelling at night a lot, say driving trucks, I would have the very best.
If you think you would like to have a pair for reasons of safety then that will determin how much you should spend. If the issue is just for looks and very little real time use I wouldn't spend a lot. But in the end it has to be value for money. They should be tough and bright. Make sure you can get covers for them also and use them, my covers have big stone marks in them which saved the lens.
Aust 4WD Monthly did a test on all the different brands a little while back. I'll see if I can find the article & let you know.
They also need to be easy to adjust. When you load up the wagon you will find the light beams pointing towards the possums which is not much good, so either you have to level the wagon or adjust the angle of the beams. I adjust mine by covering up all the other beams and exposing one at a time. My off side spotty points to the left side and the near side points to the right side of the road ie. they cross beams for a better angle into edges of the road where the roos hide, of course this is well ahead of the normal high beam.Carpe Diem
AnswerID: 39596

Follow Up By: pauls - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 16:33

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 16:33
Yes I agree fully with what you say. My reason for wanting additonal lighting is for those occasions when you get caught with still an hour or so of driving to do at nightfall or for the early starts in the morning which for me means generally means out of town driving with the consequent roo problem. Although it doesn't happen a lot you dont want to find that the last off road drive you did stuffed up your spot lights and they are not working when you want them. I suppose the gist of what people are saying is that the cheaper ones will fall to pieces whilst the dearer ones wont.

I guess I need deeper pockets.
FollowupID: 257278

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 23:53

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 23:53
I can't find that article on comparing the spotties. I saw a bloke heading up to Mitchell Plat in the Kimberley on a really tough road & his light was hanging by the wires. Lucky for him I was able to pull him up and he saved it. I have a set of Hella Metals which are pretty tough, bright & expensive, on that same trip I cracked one of the securing mounts, so there are no guarantees, but within reason I reacon your always better off with quality. You'll know it when you see it, then you will be happy.
If I find the comparo article I'll make contact.Carpe Diem
FollowupID: 257308

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 11:23

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 11:23
Hi guys, i purchased a set of narva 170s just as they were released on the market for our hilux, they are great lights and have never missed a beat, these are the ones that came up trumps in the test, they are a shallow round light with a small 'glare shield 'on top. I have since grabbed a few more for the jackaroo, and will be getting some for the work ute as the rectangle hellas it came with are absolute shiza.
You can get them on spec for about $120 a set and if someone flogs them you won't cry too much.

Make sure you use good quality cable to hook them up - narva make a great 2 core sheathed cable available in 10 and 15 amp which looks very neat as well. And always earth lights direct back to the battery to avoid high resistance through the body etc.Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
FollowupID: 257325

Follow Up By: ruckus - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 11:23

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 11:23
It says in the current issue of 4wd Monthly (62) they are doing another driving light comparison next issue. Maybe worth waiting for.
FollowupID: 257326

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 11:25

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 11:25
Forgot to say i do about 40 % of my driving in the dark in open and hilly treed roads and these lights are great all round.Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
FollowupID: 257327

Reply By:- Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 13:38

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 13:38
Ease of adjustment is one of the things that i like most about my 4000s
AnswerID: 39605

Reply By: flappan - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 09:22

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 09:22
As mentioned previously . . . . you get what you pay for.

I've used cheapies before . . . and thought they were OK . . . UNTIL . . . you put a decent set on.

Ihave a set of LF 170 on my Pajero, and a set of IPF900 on my Patrol. The LF's are easily a better light then the IPF's and the bigger 240's are better still.

I haven't used a set of the big Hellas for comparison.

If you are after a budget light, the Narva Ultimate 175's are pretty good (and are the light recommended in that Mag article). They recon these were better then the LF's, but sorry, still struggling with that one.
AnswerID: 39645