Member - Bob
I am a bit tired of providing expensive
wheels for the son in his mid 20's (as
well as free lodgings) and thought I'd buy an
old car for him to use. I thought about 3 to 4 grand. I imagined an old ute (perhaps even 4WD) but these seem highly sought after and most are
well above this price. Then I thought old holden/falcon/magna/camry wagon. Even these seem to be above $5000.
Does anyone have any
bright ideas?Bob
Reply By: Beer4bob - Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 20:34
Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 20:34
yeah tell him to buy his own ... ha ha
Reply By: johnsy - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 08:17
Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 08:17
work.lol
Reply By: joc45 - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 12:56
Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 12:56
A girlfriend with a Mercedes sports would be a good start.....
Her own house would be a bonus.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 07:51
Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 07:51
and if her father owned a pub.....a bigger bonus!!
Wow! am I cute
If yer ain't fishing, Yer ain't livin
Reply By: bruce - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 14:17
Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 14:17
We told our 2 sons to find thier own digs and
wheels....1 is a sparky and lives nearby and makes heaps more money than we get....the other is in Kunnarra and is rarely out of work....cheers
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 20:36
Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 20:36
How about a '67 Valian VC Regal auto slant 6. Immaculate condition and low mileage. If interested you can contact me through my website www.kempen.id.au
Willem
Always going somewhere
Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 20:45
Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 20:45
G'day Willem, I recon an old model red rooster would be a good option and we know that Bob thinks highly of you so he would pay a bit extra and then you could afford a newer truck.ne cede malis
Reply By: Member - Melissa - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 00:20
Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 00:20
Bob,
Sounds like you need to get tough with him...time he stood on his own two feet???? Sure you can buy him car cheap car to save your own but maybe having outlaid the $ for the car, you'll end up with all the running and maintenance costs anyway.
Got freinds in a similar situation who failed to put the brakes on when they should have a few years ago...they ended up buying a unit for eldest one to live in because she wanted to leave home and have her "independance", furnished the digs for her and pay the mortgage and utilities. To top it off, our mate lined up a job for this daughter over uni summer hols, she finally took it after much resistance, then about 6 weeks later bought a brand new car with 5 years HP payments. A month later she decided to switch uni courses effectively throwing 2 years of study down the drain so they've agreed to support her for at least 3 more years so she can start again and have also taken over the car payments. They think they're doing her a favour but in truth they're just being taken advantage of by a selfish kid who doesn't know when enough is enough. First thing they should do is sell the bloody car (you know...this is reality kid, no work, no money for HP payments, no new car!). Who ever heard of a fulltime uni student getting around in a brand new car (unless M&D are rich). Real problem is this daughter is the oldest of 3 and you know how it goes...what you do for one you do for the others!
:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
http://members.westnet.com.au/flatdog
Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 08:01
Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 08:01
I think you're right Melissa. I guess I've allowed my love of cars to become an excuse for getting more cars than I really need, and having him use one has justified my habit.Bob
Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 08:36
Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 08:36
I agree with Melissa,mid 20s means he should be operating under his own steam .If he dont learn soon he never will and your not helping him by supporting his indolant lifestyle.Time for him to leave the nest. By him some thongs but not a car
Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 12:35
Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 12:35
Bob,
Sorry if I came off as a know-it-all! Not my place to tell you what to do with your own son. Just saw some parellels with our friends situation which frustrates the hell out of me. They think they're doing the kids a favour but in reality all that's happening is the kids are getting older but they're not growing up. We all want to give our kids the best possible start and help them as much as possible but IMHO teaching them to stand on their own two feet is a major part of this. Good luck!
:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
http://members.westnet.com.au/flatdog
Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 07:53
Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 07:53
free lodging??/
give him a hint....buy him some pots and pansWow! am I cute
If yer ain't fishing, Yer ain't livin
Reply By: Alex H - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 21:04
Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 21:04
I have a Series 3 landrover shortie for sale... $2500, fully rebuilt... see trader LOL
Alex