Dirty Fuel
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 21:26
Trac71
My ute ended up in emergency today at Holden, diagnosis dirty fuel, solution extensive/expensive repairs. I was searching dirty fuel for some information on the matter this evening and came across this
forum. The previous threads I came across are archived but I'd like to take this opportunity to say thank you for the opportunity to read up on other people's opinions, knowledge and experience. I suppose I have to keep thinking right now that what doesn't kill me will only make me stronger - it might cost me, but it won't defeat me.
Reply By: aboutfivebucks (Pilbara) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 21:42
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 21:42
I know of fuel companies covering the cost of the repair work. A friend has been reimbursed recently.
Good Luck
Follow Up By: Trac71 - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 22:01
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 22:01
Thank you. Thought it might be a bit of a David and Goliath battle though.
Follow Up By: rags - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 10:42
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 10:42
A work mate just recently had a bad fuel experience with a L/R Discovery in the NT and the large repair bill was footed by his insurer,GIO.
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 11:46
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 11:46
I've personally experienced two cases of badly contaminated (with
water) fuel in the past 6 months. One fuel company were excellent to deal with and did pay for the clean up.....but I had to
sign a confidentiality agreement in relation to that. The other Mr BP was not so good......and despite the grandiose warranty they have on their website....denied all responsibility. Fortunately for me I have installed
Water Watch and this has saved me from any serious engine problems. Still had to remove the fuel
tank and flush everything from the pump back....@ cost of around $800 each time.
Reply By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 21:52
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 21:52
What type of engine / Vehicle is it. Petrol or Diesel
Is the vehicle under Warranty or not. How many KM traveled and what is the service history.
Can you establish where the dirty fuel came from. If it was from one service station you have a chance of a claim against that supplier. If it was from several different stations you have buckles.
If you can supply the above info I may be able to offer advise as to your best course of action to take.
Wayne B
Follow Up By: Trac71 - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 22:04
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 22:04
Holden Crewman petrol. Warranty out, of course. 60000 klms, always serviced (if that is what you mean by service history). We have been using one service station for quite a while now but won't be from this point on. Thank you for your reply.
Reply By: skulldug - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 21:52
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 21:52
Trac,
I have always had honest service from Holden dealers but Toyota tried the dirty fuel answer on me and backed off when I told them I would have the fuel tested.
Is there another possible cause?
Skull
Follow Up By: Trac71 - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 22:07
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 22:07
Actually I had been thinking of having the fuel tested anyway because it has really floored and intrigued me all at the same time. As to another possible cause, I'm not sure.
Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 22:21
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 22:21
G'day, what engine and what damage has been caused? Cheers, John
Follow Up By: Trac71 - Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 22:29
Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 22:29
Hi John, she's a V6 engine and needs new injectors and fuel pump.
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 07:31
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 07:31
v6 injectors ar a few huundred a set change over.
another few hundred for a pump
a cpl of hours work cleaning the whole system etc
should be less than $1000
did one just a few months back
Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:53
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:53
Thank your lucky stars you do not own a commojn rail Diesel with this problem.
Cheers pete
Reply By: Ross M - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 23:53
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 23:53
Hello Trac71
Dirty fuel can be had anywhere, BP is the only company I know of who warrants fuel. Car dealerships (herein after called stealerships) are renown for not completing
services properly and possibly the filter has not been changed for quite a while. If you can get the filter in your possession and have it looked at by a filter expert, you might have a claim for service related not fuel related.
Donaldson might be able to supply an analytical opinion on filter service.
Definately do not trust your Holden dealer, stealer, to service opinions. If it was serviced properly the contamination should not have got through.
You may have a case for them to answer re service.
I am fitting an additional pre filter, yes a Donaldson product, to ensure the original doesn't get a hard life in these situations and you can drain and or change the filter with ease.
Mine is a diesel.
It doesn't matter if its petrol or diesel , same appliesl
Nearly all of all makes and models of cars under warranty are not being serviced properly at the stealership. If it happens it is fraud. Service fraud.
I own a Dmax and I have found many of them not having had the proper service. Holden is notorious for lack of geniune service. Get them to prove the
services have been done properly. Just because the book is stamped does not mean a thing it was serviced. I have just had this experience and caught the dealer out, almost everything was not done.
Best regards
Ross
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 11:49
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 11:49
I also put this above......and it might be of interest re BP
I've personally experienced two cases of badly contaminated (with
water) fuel in the past 6 months. One fuel company were excellent to deal with and did pay for the clean up.....but I had to
sign a confidentiality agreement in relation to that. The other Mr BP was not so good......and despite the grandiose warranty they have on their website....denied all responsibility. Fortunately for me I have installed
Water Watch and this has saved me from any serious engine problems. Still had to remove the fuel
tank and flush everything from the pump back....@ cost of around $800 each time.
Reply By: Ross M - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 16:31
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 16:31
Re dirty fuel.
If you get an inline fuel pump, diaphram or electric like modern vehicle use and use a end weighted small line hose, it is possible to extract the fuel from your
tank and pass it through a dewatering and degunking filter as on most diesels and return the fuel to your
tank.
This in the diesel trade is called fuel polishing. If you think you have to remove tanks and lines, this system can be plumbed in anywhere on the vehicle when required and cleans the system. If just recirculated back to
tank it should remove all particulate matter and
water, both as droplets and
water suspended in the fuel.
No more removing tanks, and this system can be used to transfer fuel from other sources and jerry cans and cleans the fuel in the process. All win I think. Cost should only be around $150 and can be used over and over again.
If your normal fuel pump packs it in you can use this system in emergencies or for fellow travellers with fuel problems.
Best Regards
Ross
Reply By: Ross M - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 16:48
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 16:48
The fuel kit I have is a Donaldson, sounds like I'm working for Donaldson but no, I purchased the kits for this same reasons, to combat dirty fuel.
The Donaldson kit P902976 is a low flow fuel kit put together specifically for this reason. Price around $100 supplied is one filter head and two filters with quick drain system. Rips out the water and dirt. A must on a modern CRD engine. It also keeps the OME filter as clean as possible. The OME filter must still be replaced every 18-24 months before it just simply rots away.
PS If the dealer isn't changing the filter as they should they are causing the failure of their own product.
Really good for the stealership repair workshop when dirt and water gets in a CRD engine.
I am just suspicious this could never happen could it?
Trac71 leave no stone unturned in your investigation of your problem. The problem is probably caused by humans, we have filters to handle the dirt and water, unfortunately we can't filter out the humans involved as easily.
I hope all is
well soon.
Ross M