I really had to laugh!!!.
Submitted: Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:19
Axle
Pulled into a local shopping centre and parked the old defender ute in the front car
park and toddled off to do a few things, On my return there was a change of vehicles beside me, a brand new VW Amarok Dual cab with all the bells and whistles, had been planted beside me, ....Geez!,Arn't they a
well finished solid looking vehicle, as much as the old Deefer is part of me, I almost felt intimidated by this thing..LOL.
Reply By: Fatso - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:31
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:31
Don't worry Axle.
He might never actually get to own that car.
My flash brother in law , who has a top of the range cruiser wagon, a Volvo 4x4 thing, a 42 foot game boat & a couple of holiday units asked me why I didn't get a V8 cruiser ute instead of my SR Hilux.
I thought, why would I want one of those when I don't even want mags on my hilux. It carries the
camping gear & tows the dinghy alright.
To each his own I reckon.
Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:47
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:47
True Mate, .. And besides a Amarok would look a tad untidy with a excavator bucket covered in crap sitting in the back..hahahaha!.
Reply By: TigerEden - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:43
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:43
I'd be more than happy to
park my 1998 110 beside the new veedub any day of the week.
Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 00:31
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 00:31
So would I with my '81 Series3 109 trayback.
It's great to drive something with character ain't it?
Disco
(which is her car, the 109's
mine)
Reply By: Boobook2 - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 06:40
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 06:40
After both vehicles drove off, was there an oil pool on both car parks or just one?
lol
Follow Up By: Begaboy - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 08:41
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 08:41
I have a slightly amusing story also - was parked up at
Goulburn a few months ago having lunch - had a couple on Indians walk up to me and ask me why i had my exhaust pipe out the front of my car facing forward ( they were laughing between themselves clearly thinking its a stupid design ) Untill i informed them its a
snorkel for air intake into motor NOT exhaust pipe oh they say , that makes sence.... lol
Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 20:08
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 20:08
Saw a sticker on one once Boobook. "Landrovers,putting oil back in the ground for over 60years. How green is that." Bob
Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 12:00
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 12:00
BooBook......Toyocrusa!!.......Hahahahahahaha!..I'll cop it.
But at least we don't block out the sun with black smoke
like old Tojos do.))))))))))).
Reply By: Ol' Bunky - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 09:07
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 09:07
Did you have to seperate them before the trouble started? (Don't mantion the war)
Follow Up By: Ol' Bunky - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 09:08
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 09:08
Oops - Don't MENTION the war!
Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 10:13
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 10:13
Hey Axle - Fred Flintstone pulled up besides my old 130 in a flash stone-age thing once. Jeez I was envious.
don't have it any more but we sure did some trips in it. When the two offspring got to over 6ft I finally relented and put them out of their cramped back-
seat agony. This Prado thing even has fully integrated air vents but I'm not sure I like not being able to move the flaps up & down with a lever. S'pose I'll get used to it.
Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 11:35
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 11:35
G/Day Steve, Mines a single cab 130 tray back, Know what you mean when it comes to room!!, They ride extremely
well actually being all coil spring, But
sometimes i get outl looking like a duck in full flight,...lol
cheers Axle.
Follow Up By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 15:31
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 15:31
those were the days of good fresh air condit
Terry
Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 08:43
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 08:43
Hi Axle,
The Amarok are amazing. I had an extended testdrive (for the weekend) and could fault it. Up against my Hilux it had it measure in power and on road handling.
My reason for not opting for one was there wasnt enough dealership about (in
Parkes) and i wasnt sure of the long term reliability of the smaller 2 twin turbo.
VW has a good name for reliability but for my money I opted to watch and see how they performed when they get long in the tooth.
Cheers Wilko
Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 11:52
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 11:52
Fair enough Wilko, I to wonder how long these smaller donks with all these kws,, and such high torque figues will last?.....but apart from the early 2.5 nissan timming gear area, the
well known ZD30 problems ,all makes seem to be
showing reliability at this stage,Time will tell i guess.
Cheers Axle