Cameron Corner to Innamincka

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 19:47
ThreadID: 90085 Views:2726 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
G'day everyone

We are going to Broken Hill at the end of this week and the better half would like to go to Innamincka for a weekend.

I knew that was a bit of an ask but I didn't realise how big until I looked at a trip planner.

Is the trail from CC to Innamincka rough enough to take ten and a half hours to do the 264 km.

She might have to be satisfied with a flying trip to CC to say she has been there.

A proper trip to that area will have to be done at a later date.

She has been out there before a few times but it was by plane not by road.

Reply By: blue one - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 20:18

Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 20:18
Mate go up the Bore Track. It is a very easy day, the Missus and I had a great time.

AnswerID: 469952

Reply By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 21:27

Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 21:27
We recently (September) drove from Cameron's to Innamincka via the Old Strezleckie track in about five hours. We had heaps of time to go in the day and visited the Dig Tree and Burke's monument at his old grave site

Note that the northern section of the Old Strezlekie Track from the Moomba Road to Innamincka is closed to the public.

I think the Bore Track is closed to the public.

AnswerID: 469959

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 21:30

Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 21:30
Boo Boo.

Check with Bolards Lagoon to ensure the track is open.
We did "The Dig Tree to CC" via Bore track and Epsilon early this season. The trip took the beter part of the day.
We did hear that the bore track had been closed not long after we went through.
If you do travel the Epsilon route ensure you have a GPS. Many new minning roads in the area.

safe travels.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 469960

Follow Up By: Member -Toonfish - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 22:49

Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 22:49
bore track is closed however people still come down from innamincka to the disgust of the station owner .
old strez was relatively good last month though.
good luck
2013/14 around oz adventure bound

FollowupID: 744406

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 06:53

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 06:53
Thnaks for the informatin Fellas.

I am going to do the trip from BH to Cameron Corner and that will be her outing while she works at Broken hill.

I,ve done it before and its a nice drive.

AnswerID: 469970

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 13:37

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 13:37
Boo Boo
The road from CC to Innamincka is generally pretty good, even when there is a lot of water about.
What is 10 1/2 hrs trip though, I think someone is yanking your chain there.
I am not sure about this year, but we have done 2 of the 3 ways to Innamincka.
Have yet to do Bollard's lagoon way, "Bore Track".
In 2010, and there was water everywhere, we plodded along about 20-40 km/hr, but only around Merty Merty Station, the wettest abd boggiest part.
The rest of the time we sat on about 70km/hr.

You can do a right turn at Metry and go up the Old Strzlecki Track past the oil pumps, now that was interesting, but that will depend on water.
If you go straight ahead, and turn right at the main Strezleckui Track, it will take you past a massive gas Plant, and also past a lake system, which we rather enjoyed.

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 469987

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 20:48

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 20:48

I got the time of 10 1/2 hrs from the trip planner in goseeaustralia.

Normally I run my eye over a map to check time and distance, but knowing it was not a black top road I had no idea of how long it would take.

I thought maybe 5 hrs, but as I say I had no idea.

We only have the weekend so BH to CC it is.

My wife has probably been to that plant When she worked as a locum for the RFDS. She just wanted to see the area from the road.

FollowupID: 744581

Reply By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 20:41

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 20:41
Hi BooBoo,
We have just been in that area 3 weeks ago. Track from Cameron's Corner to Merty a bit slow going over the dunes. The clay capping on the top of the dunes is slowly breaking away and the underlying sand is eroding away so the "blow-outs" are getting worse on both sides of the dunes. Just have to drive to the conditions. We went up the Old Strzelecki Track (the bottom section - the top section is closed off) and it is good. A bit sandy up the northern end before joining on to main track.
We camped at Policeman's Beach which was lovely. It was getting pretty warm too, but dipping into the creek was a welcome relief.
Have a good trip
Sally
AnswerID: 470035

Follow Up By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 20:48

Monday, Nov 14, 2011 at 20:48
Sorry, forgot to mention, we had a stop over at Theldarpa Stn so did the trip in 2 days. Am thinking it would be big day travel up in 1 day from Broken Hill to Innamincka given that parts are slow going.
FollowupID: 744479

Follow Up By: Member - have a go - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 11:42

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 11:42
The top section of the Strz is only closed due to the pipeline going across. We used it because we work in the area. Its a hell of a lot quicker than the regular road.
Bit hot ATM
FollowupID: 744530

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 22:47

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 22:47
My son was working out of Moomba until a few weeks ago. When we went through there a month ago he told me not to use the top part of the Old Strez as its not open to the public and if caught its something like $1000 per Kms maximum fine. True or not we took the other way via the Dillon Road.

The difference to go Dillon Road/Hwy or whatever they call it is not a lot. You will still have time to go and check out the Dig Tree if you wish and then set up camp. We did.

FollowupID: 744594